User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2318 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2017
    4
    It lacks of a complete magic, on their songs. Most of them got a same rythm and comparing to 1989´s diverse kinds of rythms, these one has failed to impressionate many of us.
    Btw I GIVE HER SOME CREDI CUZ THERE ARE STILL SOME BANGERZ TO ENJOY
  2. Dec 4, 2017
    4
    Absolutely appalling. There are a couple 'almost-good' songs here, but they are few and far between. The album gets really tiring fast. The songs start to start really similar, and Taylor seems to 'sing' in the same way in all of them- that talk-singy nasal voice with a hint of rap braggadocio. Overall, a terrible album that has been insanely over-hyped for, really, no reason at allAbsolutely appalling. There are a couple 'almost-good' songs here, but they are few and far between. The album gets really tiring fast. The songs start to start really similar, and Taylor seems to 'sing' in the same way in all of them- that talk-singy nasal voice with a hint of rap braggadocio. Overall, a terrible album that has been insanely over-hyped for, really, no reason at all except some people seem to believe Taylor Swift is an incarnation of musical excellence. Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2017
    5
    Lots of collaboration here without much originality. Swift gets writing credits for every song but in actuality Martin and Shellback wrote 2/3 of the album. You have to laugh when she said she would never autotune her voice given how much it is done here. And all the 10s on Mcritics, seriously people. Have you never heard great music before? Typical Swift simple singing lines withLots of collaboration here without much originality. Swift gets writing credits for every song but in actuality Martin and Shellback wrote 2/3 of the album. You have to laugh when she said she would never autotune her voice given how much it is done here. And all the 10s on Mcritics, seriously people. Have you never heard great music before? Typical Swift simple singing lines with emphasized parts. Catchy hooks for a few songs and good production-which she paid to the nose for. Future seems out of it. The lyrics are narcicistic and jeuvenile. Gorgeous is about her falling for a hot guy. Getaway car sounds like 1989's "Out of the Woods", no Martin/Shellback so we're getting full Swift and it isn't that good. Glad I'm not wasting money on this one. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2017
    4
    Swift's new album does not prove lyrical genius on the likes of other artists, and is far from what we could've expected, but the style she has taken isn't for everybody either, though as an album which was expected highly of as we approach the last remaining weeks of the year. Still well produced and her vocals are well maintained, pop-style Taylor Swift album. Not much interesting aboutSwift's new album does not prove lyrical genius on the likes of other artists, and is far from what we could've expected, but the style she has taken isn't for everybody either, though as an album which was expected highly of as we approach the last remaining weeks of the year. Still well produced and her vocals are well maintained, pop-style Taylor Swift album. Not much interesting about this album apart from the slight development in Swift's lyrics, but the way it has been produced is obviously mainstream but suprisingly sturdy.

    Favourites: N/A

    Eh: ...Ready For It, Call it What You Want

    Not in my "reputation" books... sorry... : Delicate (doesn't fit to me), I Did Something Bad.

    Dread to hear: Look What You Made Me Do
    Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2017
    5
    150 character minimum. This maybe the hardest task for this album. It's mainstream. It's generic. Nothing sticks out, nothing fell short. And: don't take the reviewers word for it, who praises or condemns it. Listen to samples.
  6. Nov 10, 2017
    5
    150 character minimum. This maybe the hardest task for this album. It's mainstream. It's generic. Nothing sticks out, nothing fell short. And: don't take the reviewers word for it, who praises or condemns it. Listen to samples
  7. Nov 10, 2017
    4
    After 3 years without music I was expecting something different to this, reputation is not a bad album but its far away from being Swift's best piece. Her lyrical content used to be her biggest weapon, she was natural, raw and wasn't afraid to show her emotions (whether she was happy or heartbroken) but now every song has the same tone, every lyric feels over calculated, and the productionAfter 3 years without music I was expecting something different to this, reputation is not a bad album but its far away from being Swift's best piece. Her lyrical content used to be her biggest weapon, she was natural, raw and wasn't afraid to show her emotions (whether she was happy or heartbroken) but now every song has the same tone, every lyric feels over calculated, and the production is too much. My favorites are: I did something bad, don't blame me and new years day. Expand
  8. Nov 10, 2017
    4
    Taylor Swift has proven once again why she's a worldwide superstar, a class A songwriter and critically-acclaimed singer. Her vocals, both main and background are powerful and full of emotions that certain songs require and I could not have asked a better album by her.
  9. Nov 11, 2017
    5
    O incrível no mundo da música, é que quando artistas chegam aos mais altor patamares da fama, com a mesma força que cresceram em relevância, eles despencam em qualidade. E reputation é a prova clara de como isso é verídico.
    Em reputation vemos claramente como Swift deixou se levar pelo rancor e pela mágoa encrustados em seu interior, para produzir não mais uma de suas obras-primas como o
    O incrível no mundo da música, é que quando artistas chegam aos mais altor patamares da fama, com a mesma força que cresceram em relevância, eles despencam em qualidade. E reputation é a prova clara de como isso é verídico.
    Em reputation vemos claramente como Swift deixou se levar pelo rancor e pela mágoa encrustados em seu interior, para produzir não mais uma de suas obras-primas como o Speak Now ou o 1989, mas para provar ao mundo quão malvada ela poderia ser (e quão infantil também).
    O álbum em si ronda toda a polêmica criada a partir do episódio West-Kardashian, que poderia ter sido superado de forma mais eloquente e menos trágica para a discografia de Swift, como assim ela fez em Innocent no Speak Now, dedicada a Kanye.
    Em reputation vemos a tentativa fracassada de Swift convencer a si mesma e ao mundo de que tem seus inimigos em suas mãos, não importando-se com as reviravoltas que a vida dá, onde um dia é o dia da caça e outro é o do caçador. A Taylor caçadora tenta convencer também que após reputation ela não mais se debruçará sobre sua caça como outrora. Engano próprio e daqueles que assim acreditam.
    A máquina de produção lírica de Swift sempre foi baseada no seu processo de vitimizar-se, ao invés de bater de frente com seus problemas e superá-los de uma forma adulta e como uma mulher - não uma criança - superaria.
    Ao contrário de seus colegas da música pop, como Adele por exemplo, Taylor continua com a mania de passar-se pela menina coitadinha oprimida pelo ex que a abandonou. Ao contrário de Adkins, que nunca se fez de vítima, mas sempre mostrou que há 2 lados numa única história, Swift quer transparecer que seu lado, sua versão e sua história são as únicas autênticas e verdadeiras em tudo.
    Por fim, há algumas músicas que valem a pena nos atentarmos à ouvir, como So It Goes e Don't Blame Me, verdadeiros magnum-opus em meio a tantas faixas genéricas e sem profundidade alguma. Músicas tão profundas, que nos inquietam a saber se não teriam algum "toque" mágico de sua grande amiga Ella (Lorde) no meio. Retirando isso, o disco mostra-se coeso em apenas duas coisas: transparecer uma Taylor forte e madura que não existe e cantar sobre como Taylor é vítima em toda a polêmica que envolve sua carreira desde o lançamento de seu magnum-opus, o 1989. Nos dois sentidos, Swift fracassa, restando-lhe apenas que as pessoas compreendam seu conto de fadas e vejam ali uma realidade inexistente.
    Expand
  10. Nov 10, 2017
    4
    As a long time Taylor Swift fan I wasn't expecting much from this album. The "reputation" concept felt weak and having "Look What You Made Me Do" as the lead single didn't help much. "Look" is probably the worst first single of her career and one of the worst songs on the album, and there's plenty to choose. One of the many things that draw me closer to Taylor's music was her ability toAs a long time Taylor Swift fan I wasn't expecting much from this album. The "reputation" concept felt weak and having "Look What You Made Me Do" as the lead single didn't help much. "Look" is probably the worst first single of her career and one of the worst songs on the album, and there's plenty to choose. One of the many things that draw me closer to Taylor's music was her ability to create narratives with her songs, even when she made the transition to pop with 1989. With reputation, you can only see that on the great "Getaway Car", one of the few songs that production and lyrics got it right. The other one is "I Did Something Bad", which is everything that "Look What You Made Me Do" aspired to be. It has the right jabs in the right way (instead of going for the cringe way with "I don't like your tilted stage/No I don't like you"). For the rest of it, there's always something lacking, or too much of something. The lyrics are usually lacking, with a overuse of cringe-worthy lyrics that came straight out of the internet in what felt like an artificial try to sound "hype". I can't connect to her songs nor to the lover who she claims to be so great because he doesn't read gossip tabloids. For the first time in her career, the downsides of a record overshadowed the highs of it. Expand
  11. Nov 10, 2017
    5
    1989 is better, but the music so good! But not good enough.
    The song that I like is New Year’s Day and King of My Heart
    I don’t like delicate, don’t blame me and Dress
  12. Nov 12, 2017
    4
    Nothing new in the Pop Mainstream Music Industry. Taylor Swift brought us an obnoxious album that is so boring to listen until the end; it is painful stop to listen all the 15 tracks (at least 12 tracks of it). "Reputation" was a worst attempt to show "angry", overcoming and criticism about stuffs that have been injuring Mrs. Taylor through these times, in addition to the lack of smartnessNothing new in the Pop Mainstream Music Industry. Taylor Swift brought us an obnoxious album that is so boring to listen until the end; it is painful stop to listen all the 15 tracks (at least 12 tracks of it). "Reputation" was a worst attempt to show "angry", overcoming and criticism about stuffs that have been injuring Mrs. Taylor through these times, in addition to the lack of smartness in many parts of the lyrics through the record. And many of the tracks it's disposable, unfortunately, Taylor let her heartbreak take many of the lyrics that turned her appointments into an amount of ****

    A not good track is "…Ready for It?" a noisy BAD ballad, super nasty and the repetition of "Let the games begin" uncountable times cause a feeling of irritability. "End Game", Taylor tried to gather Wine and Water (Ed Sheeran & Future). This environment between RAP and POP MUSIC, aesthetic, do not convince anybody that some music can be good/excellent just with this "searching for something new", or cool (OMG look at me mixing oil and water), it is tasteless. I think if Taylor had made a track with Ed and another one with Future, it will be less unpleasant to listen. However, Ed Sheeran's vocals are the only good thing in this track.

    Even though this album can be a little bit god-awful, I should highlight "Look What You Made Me Do" with Taylor Swift singing (with a sexy voice [trying to be sexy or not, but causing this reaction]) softly and angrily at the same time. This music has one of the best instrumentals of the whole record, besides of the iconic part when she sings: "I'm sorry; the old Taylor can't come to the phone right now" "Why? "Oh, cause she's dead". In addition to "Don't Blame Me" that "OMG HIT ME HARDER WITH YOUR POTENTIAL GURL", and then for me, is the only track that I loved so far in "Reputation" that I could recommend for you guys to listen. This track exudes a sort of passion that is so strong than her persona to bear with it (comparing this relationship with a drugs' addiction), and it is beautiful, intense and lovely..

    BEST TRACK: “Don’t Blame Me”.
    HIGHLIGHT: “Look What You Made Me Do”.
    WORST TRACKS: “…Ready for It”, “End Game”
    Expand
  13. Nov 10, 2017
    5
    La verdad tiene canciones muy buenas pero lo siento con algo de relleno, hay canciones que perfectamente se podrian haber omitido, me gusto mucho la elección del ritmo y que no halla demasiada variedad la verdad no supone un problema pero no es lo que estabamos esperando, creo demasiado hype para esto y la verdad decepcionó un poco
    Aún asi es un trabajo muy bueno, bastante por encima de
    La verdad tiene canciones muy buenas pero lo siento con algo de relleno, hay canciones que perfectamente se podrian haber omitido, me gusto mucho la elección del ritmo y que no halla demasiada variedad la verdad no supone un problema pero no es lo que estabamos esperando, creo demasiado hype para esto y la verdad decepcionó un poco
    Aún asi es un trabajo muy bueno, bastante por encima de la competencia este año, pero no más que eso
    Expand
  14. Nov 10, 2017
    5
    I'm really trying to hear what everyone hears on this album. It really does sound very mediocre. The autotune and "urban" beats stick out like a sore thumb.

    The songs that are actually enjoyable, have cringeworthy lyrics at best. I just really don't understand. I'm trying really hard to like this album and I almost like songs that remind me of 1989. But this just seems like a very
    I'm really trying to hear what everyone hears on this album. It really does sound very mediocre. The autotune and "urban" beats stick out like a sore thumb.

    The songs that are actually enjoyable, have cringeworthy lyrics at best. I just really don't understand. I'm trying really hard to like this album and I almost like songs that remind me of 1989. But this just seems like a very try-hard and self-involved piece.
    Expand
  15. Nov 10, 2017
    6
    Reputation is catchy, but it doesn't have a meaning: It sounds like Taylor just wanted to show people that she can make hits. It is a generic overproduced pop record that has catchy beats, but poor lyrics.
  16. Nov 10, 2017
    5
    After the sixth song the album is lost, unfortunately this is what happens when you create a lot of expectation in an album, treat it as something sacred but nothing special. But tracks 1,2,3,4 and 6 saved the album
  17. Nov 10, 2017
    5
    This album has catchy songs...but it doesn't feel like a Taylor album anymore. It sounds like any popstar could've came out with this. I still think RED was her best and most personable album.
  18. Nov 18, 2017
    6
    So, TS has decided to completely ditch her association with country music. She has only one thing to say on Reputation - she is taking over the pop world with half the tracks written and produced with pop maestros, Max Martin and Shellback while Jack Antonoff does the honour for the other half.

    While 1989 was a delicious piece of 80s-inspired pop, on Reputation, we have our first full
    So, TS has decided to completely ditch her association with country music. She has only one thing to say on Reputation - she is taking over the pop world with half the tracks written and produced with pop maestros, Max Martin and Shellback while Jack Antonoff does the honour for the other half.

    While 1989 was a delicious piece of 80s-inspired pop, on Reputation, we have our first full taste of a rap-feature courtesy of Future on End Game (not a bad song and it works better than the special remix of Bad Blood which featured a forced collab with Kendrick Lamar and sounded like an afterthought) and more electro-pop. Nothing here goes terribly wrong but quickly gets stale by the third or fourth listen.

    But this is what will score her the stupendous sales and isn't it what's it all about for TS and gang now?
    Expand
  19. Dec 22, 2017
    4
    For a pop album it's ok. Nothing special about this album though, wasn't a fan of the trap beats either. Same old Taylor, even though she's trying to act like this album is some sort of evolution for her.
  20. Dec 18, 2017
    4
    She should've stuck to country music. While the album isn't bad per se, quality took a hit from her previous work. 1989 was a brilliant pop record and "reputation" comes across as a childish album. From a girl who's experiencing her 20s, we shouldn't be hearing songs like Ready for It.
  21. Nov 12, 2017
    5
    A lot weaker than both Red and 1989; unfortunately, there's a lot of filler here - which is a shame, because the 'good' songs on here are GREAT - "...Ready for It?", "Getaway Car" and "Gorgeous" are some of her best of any albums. It's a shame so much of it just feels like filler. "Don't Blame Me" and "Call It What You Want" stand out as particularly boring, and the second track (whichA lot weaker than both Red and 1989; unfortunately, there's a lot of filler here - which is a shame, because the 'good' songs on here are GREAT - "...Ready for It?", "Getaway Car" and "Gorgeous" are some of her best of any albums. It's a shame so much of it just feels like filler. "Don't Blame Me" and "Call It What You Want" stand out as particularly boring, and the second track (which features both Ed Sheeran and Future?) is cringe-worthy and shouldn't have made the album at all Expand
  22. Dec 10, 2017
    5
    tanto merchan p nada. dá pra salvar algumas faixas que ainda assim nem ficaram tão boas. outras dá até p excluir de tão ruins. o conceito ainda chega a ser fofo, mas o álbum...
  23. Dec 1, 2017
    5
    This wasn't as bad as I was expecting. As someone that was never into Taylor Swift, not when she became big making country pop tunes, and not when she reinvented herself and critics started calling her music "good" during the 1989-era (1989 was an okay album at best, but it did not deserve AotY at the Grammys), I had little to really gain from reputation. It's an album that is about howThis wasn't as bad as I was expecting. As someone that was never into Taylor Swift, not when she became big making country pop tunes, and not when she reinvented herself and critics started calling her music "good" during the 1989-era (1989 was an okay album at best, but it did not deserve AotY at the Grammys), I had little to really gain from reputation. It's an album that is about how the media views her and, at least to her, villifies her. Now while I will give Taylor this and find a lot of the gossip and criticism to be overblown, I do not really care about her life nor her epically messing up her image when Kim Kardasian shared that one video of Tay approving of Kanye's Famous line about her. Listening to this album without any context, it just raises question as to who is the machine and why is she raging against it. And even with context of the media and how it painted her, it doesn't really make a lot of sense, considering she's the one that lost the good girl narrative and her attempts at being the bad guy is just laughable. Look at What You Made Me Do is a prime example of this where I don't buy that she's taking the role of the villain, and her deflecting blame just does not work. It's much the same with other songs like I Did Something Bad and This Is Why We Can't Have Nice Things, but the big issue with this album is that this theme of media representation is unbalanced, as 40% of it is about the media and 60% of it is romance songs about some guy and how she's head over heels for him and it's just so uninteresting. And it's even worse when you add context to these love songs because knowing her history of dating men and writing breakup songs afterwords, I don't buy songs like King of My Heart, Gorgeous, and So It Goes... that are about "true love." I'll buy it when I see it, but right now I just don't! Then there is the production, which isn't bad honestly. Much like 1989, reputation is another pop album from Tay that has her going in more electronic sounds, but unlike the 80s synthpop on her last album, this album moves towards electropop. And it's...a mixed bag. With songs like Look What You Made Me Do, Ready for It?, and End Game (which has Ed Sheeran and Future of all people dropping lines here), Tay has anthemic electropop tunes, I'll give her that, but she feels super out of place behind these trap and aggressive sounds, or they sound extremely dated when they turn into leftover dubstep wubs and drops that Skrillex wouldn't even use (the worse offender of that being I Did Something Bad). And speaking of trap, there are gentle songs that are more atmospheric and minimal, somehting Lorde would use during the Pure Heroine-era of her career, but with those harsh trap elements thrown on, it ruins songs like Call It What You Want and Gorgeous. There are a few songs I do kind of like. Delicate is a relaxing tropical house type song that's very bubbly (although it reminds me of a leftover beat from Troye Sivan's Blue Neighbourhood album), Getaway Car would fit very well on 1989, both in terms of the sound and lyrical theme, but that's a compliment, Dancing With Our Hands Tied is a solid EDM and dance-pop tune with an energetic kick-drum rhythm, and New Year's Day is a solid piano ballad and a solid closer at that. But honestly this doesn't win me over as a Swiftie. At least with 1989 it had her going in a mature direction and sees her growing up (and I don't mean mature like the song Dress I did NOT want a sex song from Tay), but with reputation I just see this as a regression than progression. If I at least bought what she was singing about or have me understand where she is coming from, I would be more forgiving than I already am. Expand
  24. Apr 11, 2018
    6
    In this record Taylor sounds like she's in a teenage crisis, even tho her intention was to look more mature. But even tho she's lost, and her concept came out sparse, there is a critic, that could have been made in a bolder way. Between her "look what you made me do"'s and "you're gorgeous"'s, she lets her songs fade into each other, and not even the production couldn't distract from it,In this record Taylor sounds like she's in a teenage crisis, even tho her intention was to look more mature. But even tho she's lost, and her concept came out sparse, there is a critic, that could have been made in a bolder way. Between her "look what you made me do"'s and "you're gorgeous"'s, she lets her songs fade into each other, and not even the production couldn't distract from it, like Katy Perry's Witness. But there's a thin difference: Katy's record was quite more intense while the polished production of Reputation couldn't hide her poor vocal performance, and sounds dated and forgettable right after the first listening.
    Okay, Taylor, you're a bold girl. But your work is not one, by far.
    Expand
  25. Jan 29, 2018
    6
    dar pra ouvir enquanto espera a fila do ticket no Shopping, mas nada lá muito em consideração.
  26. Feb 25, 2018
    5
    This is a Pop Album undeserving of the Pop force that is Taylor Swift. I expected more to be honest. Her writing ability has never disappointed before. Also she has become a little too comfortable. Allowing other writers o do what she is capable of
  27. Dec 16, 2017
    5
    Reputation is really a change in Taylor's music style. While she does leave the "bubblegum" pop field, she tries to expand her sound in more urban, RnB and Trap sounds. The thing is that half the album feels dull. Even though there are some great moments (call them "I Did Something Bad" and "...Ready For It"), a great number of the rest tracks falls flat. The collaboration with Ed andReputation is really a change in Taylor's music style. While she does leave the "bubblegum" pop field, she tries to expand her sound in more urban, RnB and Trap sounds. The thing is that half the album feels dull. Even though there are some great moments (call them "I Did Something Bad" and "...Ready For It"), a great number of the rest tracks falls flat. The collaboration with Ed and Future is unnecessary. The comeback single "Look What You Made Me Do" is just bad and the Europeen second single "Gorgeous" is clumsy as hell. If someone else released this album, it would have been good. But in Taylor's standards, it's just mediocre.

    Best tracks: "I Did Something Bad", "...Ready For It", "Call It What You Want" and "Delicate"
    Worst tracks: "So It Goes", "Gorgeous" and "Look What You Made Me Do"
    Expand
  28. Jan 26, 2018
    6
    Good effort. She needs to go back to country though. Speak Now pt. 2 please!!!

    Best Song(s): I Did Something Bad, King of My Heart, Look What You Made Me Do, Delicate, End Game (without Ed).
    Worst Song(s): Ed Sheeran's feature on End Game, Getaway Car, This is Why We Can't Have Nice Things
  29. Dec 1, 2017
    4
    If you think this is a great album, please take the time to consider if you have enough self-respect; see my entire review on my website or YouTube channel for my thoughts, since I won’t attempt to summarize my entire in-depth analysis as to why this album is so bad. My Score: 72/180 (Bad) = 4/10
  30. Jan 14, 2018
    5
    Its a good album but so repetitive, Taylor lyrics still great but the album is so boring sometimes
  31. Apr 7, 2018
    6
    su peor album, no es tan malo pero si bajo en calidad respecto a sus predecesores
  32. Nov 17, 2017
    5
    The record knocks on mind of different pop artists; and that is the problem with Reputation—it doesn’t speak to Swift herself. Reputation is actually nothing but a Page Six a person can read today and forget tomorrow.
  33. Nov 18, 2017
    5
    A sonoridade das músicas da mulher continua a mesma. Sempre mediana, não faz algo inovador. Poucas são as faixas que se salvam. "Ready For It?" é uma delas.
  34. Nov 10, 2017
    6
    Sus letras son buenas, talvez lo que falto, pudo ser la falta de produccion en ellas. Muy repetitivo todo, tiene su parte buena y mala, es una gran artista, pero siento que le falta algo a Reputation.
  35. Nov 11, 2017
    6
    This is my first review on this website I find very interesting, as I'm a very eclectic person.
    My first review will be very mixed, this is a sad day for me. This is the day that I did not like entirely a Taylor's album, for the first time. Taylor Swift was a big country inspiration from her beginning for me. I was already a bit upset when she slowly made her way to pop music this past
    This is my first review on this website I find very interesting, as I'm a very eclectic person.
    My first review will be very mixed, this is a sad day for me. This is the day that I did not like entirely a Taylor's album, for the first time. Taylor Swift was a big country inspiration from her beginning for me. I was already a bit upset when she slowly made her way to pop music this past few years. Although I admit she nailed it, with very catchy songs, she managed to surprise me everytime... Until now! Well, Look what you made me do was already the tip of the iceberg, a very well produced music video was made to hide the fact that the song was void of any depth and melody. I did not understand that sudden need for her to show some skin, like a lot of women in the music industry. She doesn't need to get undressed to be taken seriously. She is already a powerful singer/songwriter. This is a giant step backward for her credibility in my taste. Same goes for this new music genre, pop/r&b/electropop. Don't get me wrong, I like those music genres, I just don't like what she has done with it. This feels like a desperate need for attention and recognition, or a way of changing her image from the naïve and sweet country singer to a sassy diva, maybe it's just a phase, like Miley Cyrus did. I'm trying to stay objective here, I know a lot is being said about her personality, but whether it's true or false, I don't care about that, I do not judge the work of an artist by his or her private life, those are two separate things. Anyway, to answer Taylor's question in one of her song: I was not ready for it at all ^^.
    Let's stay positive, I liked 8 songs out of 15 which is still quite a lot, a bit more than the half, so I score this album 6/10. Honourable mention for "End Game" and "Call it what you want" :)
    Expand
  36. Jan 2, 2018
    6
    Despite many great moments, Reputation fails to hold up to Swift's high standards. For every good moment, a bad seems to come. The album is definitely too long, clocking in at 55 minutes, which could be cut down by removing the poor songs. However, compared to a lot of current pop music, Swift remains strong and is a front runner in the game. Unfortunately, this album was extremelyDespite many great moments, Reputation fails to hold up to Swift's high standards. For every good moment, a bad seems to come. The album is definitely too long, clocking in at 55 minutes, which could be cut down by removing the poor songs. However, compared to a lot of current pop music, Swift remains strong and is a front runner in the game. Unfortunately, this album was extremely over-hyped and in the end wasn't very good. Expand
  37. May 6, 2018
    4
    Reputation is lesser than the sum of its parts, unfortunately. It's weird to give it a 4 since over half the songs on here are very well-done (props for making Ed Sheeran actually tolerable), but the album doesn't do what it's trying to do: show Taylor in a positive light. It flips between petty bitterness and wistful melancholy so fast that it feels ingenuine. If this album had beenReputation is lesser than the sum of its parts, unfortunately. It's weird to give it a 4 since over half the songs on here are very well-done (props for making Ed Sheeran actually tolerable), but the album doesn't do what it's trying to do: show Taylor in a positive light. It flips between petty bitterness and wistful melancholy so fast that it feels ingenuine. If this album had been released a la "I Am Sasha Fierce" with the two aspects of the album split up? It would have been great. But instead, we get Taylor Swift trying to show herself as a real person, and managing to completely and utterly fail at that aspect. Expand
  38. Jan 20, 2018
    5
    Very boring, very monotone. I don't know why Taylor Swift didn't grow from her 1989 album. Honestly, it's a step backward.
  39. Feb 18, 2018
    4
    *sigh*

    Pop Music 2017 is horror, almost all of the songs are about love or are about Kanye

    This is cancerous content

    This is something worse than Witness and Witness is atrocious
  40. Jul 26, 2018
    6
    Although 'reputation' is glamorous and dark, it contains somewhat undeveloped production and lyrics. Songs like "Delicate" and "King Of My Heart" are generally useless in my opinion. Songs such as "...Ready For It?" and "So It Goes..." deliver unique messages and are, at the same time, very well-produced; and songs like "End Game", "Look What You Made Me Do", and "Dancing With Out HandsAlthough 'reputation' is glamorous and dark, it contains somewhat undeveloped production and lyrics. Songs like "Delicate" and "King Of My Heart" are generally useless in my opinion. Songs such as "...Ready For It?" and "So It Goes..." deliver unique messages and are, at the same time, very well-produced; and songs like "End Game", "Look What You Made Me Do", and "Dancing With Out Hands Tied" provide listeners an extremely powerful vibe and atmosphere.
    Strongest Tracks: "...Ready For It?", "End Game", "Don't Blame Me", "Dancing With Our Hands Tied"
    Weakest Tracks: "Delicate", "Dress", "This Is Why We Can't Have Nice Things"
    Expand
  41. Mar 6, 2018
    6
    Sin duda los singles no ayudaron en nada para la promoción del album. LWYMMD es sin duda una de las peores canciones del 2017, ready for it no ayudó mucho tampoco. Pero igual el disco se mantiene decentemente con temazos que algún que otro debería de haber sido utilizado para promocionar el disco.

    Lo mejor: Dont blame me, I did something bad, Delicate, Get away car.
  42. Jul 2, 2018
    6
    Taylor's worst album but that doesn't make this album bad. This album is kinda cool but some songs like "Look What You Made Me Do" or "This Is Why We Can't Have Nice Thing" is kinda boring to me, and "End Game" was totally a bad song, featuring Ed Sheeran ruins the whole song. But still this is a good album and u should try "Delicate", "Gorgeous" or "Getaway Car". It's a shame that TaylorTaylor's worst album but that doesn't make this album bad. This album is kinda cool but some songs like "Look What You Made Me Do" or "This Is Why We Can't Have Nice Thing" is kinda boring to me, and "End Game" was totally a bad song, featuring Ed Sheeran ruins the whole song. But still this is a good album and u should try "Delicate", "Gorgeous" or "Getaway Car". It's a shame that Taylor didn't choose "Call It What You Want" and "Gorgeous" to make a MV out of them Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Q Magazine
    Nov 22, 2017
    60
    Sometimes overly busy album. ... Swift soars when she is most herself. [Jan 2018, p.112]
  2. Nov 22, 2017
    60
    Part rumination on engaging with the pop icon and part deep end even after eating the meal, Reputation keeps the ball in the air, argues for moving forward, even if it’s herky jerky.
  3. Nov 21, 2017
    60
    Swift’s unencumbered analysis of the tectonic shifts within her personal and public life are equal parts razor sharp and self-indulgent. But as a pop album, Reputation is never revolutionary, the adrenalin rush heady but ultimately short-lived.