User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 86
  2. Negative: 6 out of 86

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    This album is great, it is a true rock album filled with vulnerability, raw power and amazing lyrics! Gwen also admits her faults in the lyrics. Such as "Artificial Sweetener" and a feeling of envy in "Staring Problem" and heavy emotion in "Magic's in the Makeup." This is just an amazing album.
  2. PrestonJ
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Critics aren't always right and i find this to be the album to illustrate this point. This album was about Gwen Stefani finally finding her voice in the band and actually taking her role as lead vocalist and utilizing it. There were glimmers of her rise as a lyricist in Tragic Kingdom, but was overshadowed by a number of silly songs, not saying that is wasn't a great album, Critics aren't always right and i find this to be the album to illustrate this point. This album was about Gwen Stefani finally finding her voice in the band and actually taking her role as lead vocalist and utilizing it. There were glimmers of her rise as a lyricist in Tragic Kingdom, but was overshadowed by a number of silly songs, not saying that is wasn't a great album, because it was. But in Return of Saturn Gwen finally speaks to us directly about her wants, needs, and aspirations as a women. As a band this marks the start of a movement toward their on going mission to incorperate all forms of music making into their songs and becoming truely versatile. Perfect ten and may their winning streak continue! Expand
  3. NatS.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    awesome my favorite no doubt cd, the music is deep and full of emotion.
  4. Brodie
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    This is a completely amazing album. I was hesitant upon listening to it, because I'm really not into No Doubt, but I did like all the singles from this album. At the moment, I can't stop listening to the album. It offers so much more than most albums do. "Artificial Sweetener", in my opinion, should've been a single. It's stunning. Other tracks that are particularily This is a completely amazing album. I was hesitant upon listening to it, because I'm really not into No Doubt, but I did like all the singles from this album. At the moment, I can't stop listening to the album. It offers so much more than most albums do. "Artificial Sweetener", in my opinion, should've been a single. It's stunning. Other tracks that are particularily outstanding for me are "Marry Me" "Dark Blue" and "Comforting Lie". Expand
  5. Jul 28, 2012
    8
    Gwen's Vocals Are Amazing! This Is A Very Good Album But In My Opinion Its Not A 9 Or 10!
  6. KadirA
    Sep 30, 2003
    10
    Californian Excellence!
  7. MikeM.
    Jun 29, 2003
    9
    After an exhaustive two and half year effort to make the best album they could No Doubt released Return of Saturn feeling very fullfilled. They were not out to top it's predacessor but prove themselves as artists. Once again provoked by heartbreak, Gwen wrote lyrics that focused on her relationship with her husand Gavin Rossdale who broke up with her for a few weeks during the time After an exhaustive two and half year effort to make the best album they could No Doubt released Return of Saturn feeling very fullfilled. They were not out to top it's predacessor but prove themselves as artists. Once again provoked by heartbreak, Gwen wrote lyrics that focused on her relationship with her husand Gavin Rossdale who broke up with her for a few weeks during the time No Doubt worked on this album. look for standout songs "Comforting Lie" and "Too Late" which were not released as singles but certainly deserve attention. Also, check out the new wave inspired B-sides thast were included in singles released in Europe. Songs such as "Full Cirlcle", "Cellophane Boy", "Big Distraction", "Leftovers", "Under Construction" and "Beauty Contest" show a different side of the band that didn't make the final cut onto the album but are a truly great collection on their own. Expand
  8. ErikG.
    Oct 17, 2001
    10
    It ROCKS!!! Everything by no doubt does too so you're psycotic if you think otherwise!!!!
  9. AlexJ.
    Aug 18, 2002
    10
    No Doubt is one of the greatest bands ever!!!! Even though they are sell outs (or as ppl say) They ROCK and i will always like them -ROCK ON
  10. Camille
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    this is one of my all time favorite cds ever. every song is amazing and Gwen has such a beautiful voice
  11. AprilM
    Jan 8, 2005
    10
    I think Return of Saturn may be better than Tragic Kingdom and Rock Steady, but it's really, really hard to say because nearly everything they do is really awesome. I love Gwen's lyrics, she's so insightful, and obviously she's been burned and dumped, just like all of us, right???
  12. Noor-HalC
    Sep 17, 2005
    10
    This album is AWESOME!!! It's my favorite album ever, I'm s huge No Doubt fan, I love all their cds, but this is my favorite one... It shows a darker shadow, deeper feelings than Tragic Kingdom, less ska-ish than Beacon Street and No Doubt, and louder than Rock Steady... It would be a perfect soundtrack for Bridget Jones Diary, because it shows all the feelings a single woman on This album is AWESOME!!! It's my favorite album ever, I'm s huge No Doubt fan, I love all their cds, but this is my favorite one... It shows a darker shadow, deeper feelings than Tragic Kingdom, less ska-ish than Beacon Street and No Doubt, and louder than Rock Steady... It would be a perfect soundtrack for Bridget Jones Diary, because it shows all the feelings a single woman on this days can have.... EXCELLENT!! Expand
  13. nicholed
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    This album is my fave by no doubt. Gwen's voice is excellent. Tragic Kingdom was way to liked, Gwen got really personal on this record, which I love!! The music kicks ass! My fave song by No Doubt is on here, "Marry Me."
  14. JosefS.
    Aug 18, 2002
    10
    I thoguht it was so good! The first time i heard it, i was like: ok, i like a few songs, but then when i REALLY lsitened to it it touched me so much! THis album is abosulteyl amazing. RETURN OF SATURN is so much better than TRAGIC KINGDOM! Only because the world is ignorant and couldn't contemplate this record is the same reason these foolish critics can't either. They only toss I thoguht it was so good! The first time i heard it, i was like: ok, i like a few songs, but then when i REALLY lsitened to it it touched me so much! THis album is abosulteyl amazing. RETURN OF SATURN is so much better than TRAGIC KINGDOM! Only because the world is ignorant and couldn't contemplate this record is the same reason these foolish critics can't either. They only toss it aside because the public did as well. TRAGIC KINGDOM was magnificent, but it has nothing on SATURN'S rings. Expand
  15. Feb 6, 2017
    9
    “Return of Saturn” é sem sombra de dúvidas o melhor trabalho da banda No Doubt e de Gwen Stefani. Mesmo que não tenha a mesma força e seja tão clássico quanto o “Tragic Kingdom”, é aqui onde eles aperfeiçoam o som deles, fazendo algo bem mais refinado que no disco anterior. O disco é mais focado que o anterior: tem os respingos de grunge unidos ao ska punk e new wave já característico da“Return of Saturn” é sem sombra de dúvidas o melhor trabalho da banda No Doubt e de Gwen Stefani. Mesmo que não tenha a mesma força e seja tão clássico quanto o “Tragic Kingdom”, é aqui onde eles aperfeiçoam o som deles, fazendo algo bem mais refinado que no disco anterior. O disco é mais focado que o anterior: tem os respingos de grunge unidos ao ska punk e new wave já característico da banda. Pra muitos é considerado como um álbum que tenha ficado em dívida por não ter repetido/mantido o sucesso que a banda tinha conquistado anos antes com o disco de diamante “Tragic Kingdom”, assim como pra alguns é verdadeiramente o primeiro trabalho “solo” de Gwen Stefani, em vista de como as canções eram íntimas (retratando seu relacionamento com o vocalista da banda Bush) e de como ela estava crescendo como mulher e artista e aqui compondo faixas sozinha pela primeira vez.
    Mesmo que o cabelo rosa da vocalista tenha sido mais marcante pra alguns que este próprio trabalho, no final das contas a qualidade sempre prevalece e é neste momento onde a banda encontra o seu ápice de criatividade e de sinceridade.
    Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. 30
    No Doubt does play its own instruments, placing the group a cut above the current glut of acts that concentrate more on choreography than musicianship. But try as it might to mask itself in pink hair and fast-paced arrangements, No Doubt is as close to being alternative as the members of 'NSync are to being musicians.
  2. Occasionally her pushing-30 doubts about the single life are touching, like when she imagines Gavin Rossdale would make a good dad. But after five years, two producers, one Spin cover, and one lead review in Rolling Stone, the single Interscope sent her back to the salt mines for is the best thing on her automatic-platinum follow-up.
  3. 80
    One of the better pop albums of 2000, a multi-faceted offering that resists easy labeling while extending the band's mighty grip on the popular imagination.