User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 231 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 231

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 25, 2012
    4
    I applaud the experiment, but like most such projects, the results are mixed at best. Download "Wolf Like Me", "A Method", and "Dirty Whirl" but don't buy the entire album.
  2. BenB.
    Mar 10, 2008
    2
    I don't get it. I don't think I want to understand it. Downloaded it listened to it deleted it. Another Jesus Jones or something of that nature.
  3. TonyG.
    Dec 27, 2007
    4
    I listened to this album and I thought was awful. It seemed as though it tried too hard to be non-commercial and not a single song stood out as interesting.
  4. DoctorHate!
    Feb 2, 2007
    4
    Wow. My friends listen to some really annoying crap.
  5. morgan
    Jan 27, 2007
    3
    What's your favourite TV On The Radio song? Mines the one where the guy sings annoyingly... my favourite part? Where he goes "Ooo, Ooo" over, and over, and over, and over, and over...
  6. codered
    Dec 6, 2006
    1
    amateurish and contrived. uncomplicated rock that fails at trying to sound complex. plus i don't think rock bands should have multiple lead singers singing in chorus. some of it sounds like 50's doo-wop. the scoring compilations on this site are usually right on, but i wanted to throw this cd out the car window after the 3rd try...awful.
  7. Dave
    Dec 1, 2006
    1
    I just don't get all the praise that this CD keeps getting!! I gave it a "1" because there are a few songs that are worth listening to. Sure, the sound is different, but good? I think not. The vocals are pretty much impossible to uderstand, and the musical arrangement are more grating than anything. I'll take Neko Case or Belle and Sebastian thank you very much.
  8. RichR
    Oct 29, 2006
    2
    I've been hearing nothing but good stuff about these guys and this album, but now that I've heard it... Snore. This record is like seven versions of the same song with a few others thrown in for filler. It's dull, overated, and sexless. Completely D.O.A.
  9. VinceF
    Oct 21, 2006
    4
    Have been listening to this album since it came out, in the car, in the shower, to sleep to, while eating, while exercising, while smoking the green demon.... and I keep waiting for it to gel and turn into something musical like most good albums do eventually. But it just hasn't, for me, turned into anything more than a dense mish-mash of semi-good ideas stretched out to ridiculous Have been listening to this album since it came out, in the car, in the shower, to sleep to, while eating, while exercising, while smoking the green demon.... and I keep waiting for it to gel and turn into something musical like most good albums do eventually. But it just hasn't, for me, turned into anything more than a dense mish-mash of semi-good ideas stretched out to ridiculous lengths. The first few songs peak my interest but then it turns boring and indistinguishable in the middle and never recovers. I really really wanted to like this album. I thought the Young Liars EP was incredible, and although I was incredibly disappointed with their debut LP I held out hope for this one. Well, I have listened to this album at least thirty times straight through and it just doesn't do it for me. It's hard to doubt the genuine honesty of these guys in trying to create something new in the pop landscape but they need to spend more time crafting songs than crafting their (awesome) production styles. Sorry TVotR! I'll never stop buying your albums but this one let me down. Expand
  10. FredD
    Oct 17, 2006
    2
    This sucks. I'll wait for the next Nickelback album. THEY ROCK!!
  11. specialmike
    Oct 12, 2006
    2
    didn't get it the first time around, didn't get it the second time around, went to see them play a free show in their native planet of Brooklyn and I decided that they weren't over my head, but rather, they were just not good, it was all the ridiculous hype that had confused me...even after realizing how mediocre these guys were, the third round of hype was too much to didn't get it the first time around, didn't get it the second time around, went to see them play a free show in their native planet of Brooklyn and I decided that they weren't over my head, but rather, they were just not good, it was all the ridiculous hype that had confused me...even after realizing how mediocre these guys were, the third round of hype was too much to handle, so I listened to some tracks and was not surprised in the least. Now I can finally rest assured that TVOTR is not one of those bands like modest mouse where one day I will be like, "whoa! that's the shit, i take back everything i said" ...personally, i attribute their success to the guitarist's huge beard, which incidentally does not help him out any when you're hearing them live and his falsetto harmonies sound even worse than they do on the album. Altogethernow, "OOOVER-RRRATED!" Expand
  12. Jimmyn
    Oct 6, 2006
    4
    the song about wolves is pretty good (songs about wolves generally are) but one great song, messy production, and a bowie cameo does not a better album than "loveless" make. tv on the radio is the living colour of the 'aughties, not just because they are black, but that doesn't help matters.
  13. CrabsodyInBlue
    Sep 30, 2006
    4
    "playhouses" is great but the rest is soooooo much overrated.
  14. ColinR
    Sep 30, 2006
    2
    While it has some interesting ideas and moments, the record generally fails to deliver songs, or melodies, or intelligent lyrics, or any of the things that make a great record (as opposed to a collection of interesting thoughts).
  15. mattyr
    Sep 28, 2006
    1
    Destined for the used cd bins of the future. Interesting in the worst way. Over and over I can hear them choosing to be different. It doesn't even make me want to sing; and it certainly can't get me to shake my ass. If you want to here some creative avante garde songwriting from Brooklyn, check out the new Grizzly Bear.
  16. shnarfiglae
    Sep 14, 2006
    1
    listening to this is like stew dribbling down your front under your tshirt when your sick in bed with a terrible fever. annoying that it could ever be allowed to happen and smiled upon by others. people - shutup. theyre knobheads making music they deep-down wish could sound like U2 but is immediately forgettable. go into your kitchen or bedroom, tear up loads of different fabrics or listening to this is like stew dribbling down your front under your tshirt when your sick in bed with a terrible fever. annoying that it could ever be allowed to happen and smiled upon by others. people - shutup. theyre knobheads making music they deep-down wish could sound like U2 but is immediately forgettable. go into your kitchen or bedroom, tear up loads of different fabrics or whatever and stick em together in a collage. probably a bit of fun with your friends, results could surprise you. you dont feel like selling it in an 'effin museum and taken seriously though do you?? this is music that shouldnt have left the studio, its just people messin about. and sounding crap. Expand
  17. stinkrock
    Sep 14, 2006
    3
    could everybody please stop lying to themselves - please! theres a few tracks on desperate youth that were great. whys bowie on this, it makes the track feel heavy with expectation that never delivers. this band, i swear sound as overproduced as coldplay half the time, everythings so flat and clean . everything is so perfectly in the wrong place its contrived beyond belief. ooh - heres could everybody please stop lying to themselves - please! theres a few tracks on desperate youth that were great. whys bowie on this, it makes the track feel heavy with expectation that never delivers. this band, i swear sound as overproduced as coldplay half the time, everythings so flat and clean . everything is so perfectly in the wrong place its contrived beyond belief. ooh - heres another off-kilter piano note...that must relate to the bush administration, it must. feck off. gimme 'young liars' over this but all in all im taking a seat with this band. its one of those albums you cant make out what theyre saying cause its like a child bellowing about - you dont care cause you know it couldnt be that important if it sounds so dumb. i wouldnt mind but people are really falling for the emperors new clothes on this one. its got some nice percussion and maybe two tracks to possibly remember. Expand
  18. WillyM
    Sep 11, 2006
    4
    This album is like taking medicine. Maybe it's good for you in some way, but it tastes yucky. Will join "Clap Your Hands....Yeah" in my "Why did I buy this?" pile. Damn critics.
  19. Kas
    Jul 26, 2006
    1
    Well, I read the reviews, thought hey WTF I'll try them out, well This band just didnt do it for me, I couldnt get into any of the songs, sounded to me like the instruments were tripping over each other. Take my advice, listen to their stuff before buying, they have a rather unique sound that will most likely put some people off if their not into this particular style.
  20. Chris
    Jul 14, 2006
    3
    Can't get it. The high points are just ok, the lows excruciating. the Bowie backups distracting. EVERY song has the harmonized vocals. Ok, we get it, but do you gotta do it for every song? Gets old!
  21. BenRad
    Jul 14, 2006
    2
    I guess I just don't understand the appeal of TV on the Radio. I need a tune, I need a beat that doesn't make me trip over my own feet. Awful.
  22. AaronS
    Jul 10, 2006
    1
    I tried, really I did, but this album is just AWFUL. Three for three. One of the most overrated bands of this decade. Dreadful.
  23. HolyReality
    Jul 8, 2006
    4
    the most overrated band out there today. the most overrated album of the year by a longshot.
  24. MaxI
    Jul 8, 2006
    0
    Completely UNFRESH. Black people making music that black people aren't famous for making... oh my that's so novel. Let's make it the cover story of every magazine in the country. OK but the music not there. Every musical idea in this band is completely stale. 10 years late. And the lyrics are cringe-inducing.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 80
    On their lush major-label debut, the haunting Peter Gabriel-esque yawlps of singer Tunde Adebimpbe are punctuated by singer-guitarist Kyp Malone, whose raspy falsetto provides a sense of deadpan panic. [Jul 2006, p.103]
  2. A warmer, more linear record than their debut... Spellbinding, frustrating, wonderful.
  3. 80
    Sitek's layered sonics have grown more immense... and almost none of these songs charts a predictable course. [Jun 2006, p.81]