User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 232 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 232

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesB.
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    Great music isn't always easy to digest. This is an 11-course meal of gristle on which I happily dine.
  2. FredDIsStupidMcGee
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    Year's best CD. Hands down.
  3. RiccardoS
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    GREATEST ALBUM OF 2006
  4. KurtD
    Oct 27, 2006
    9
    Great album; good energy and amazing soundscapes. The production here is what really makes the album great, but the songs are pretty damn good, too. Second in 2006 only to Tropicalia (and maybe Toure...)
  5. lucatoni
    Jul 11, 2006
    8
    good record!
  6. AlexP
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    This is a stupendous fantasy for the ears. It's gorgeous rough and soaring. One of the best albums of the decade
  7. Sean
    Nov 17, 2006
    10
    wow. it had to grow on me, but it grew very large.
  8. AdamT
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    Easily the best of 2006, outdoing Arctic Monkeys and Mr.Dylan himself(this year at least).
  9. RicardoG
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    just an awesome work. altough,they cant give us the real energy on their live perfomance's, that are astonishing,the music in the album is experimental,very well produced,and the lyrics are f****** unbelivable. 10/10
  10. matt
    Oct 25, 2006
    9
    with only two months left in 2006, this album is the clear front-runner for best of the year...not quite a masterpiece like last year's Illinois, but an incredible work nevertheless.
  11. PerspicaciousCritic
    Oct 4, 2006
    9
    What I like -- no, love -- about "Return to Cookie Mountain" Is that with each and every listen there's a track, that you previously thought as being so-so, that's, in fact, stellar. It gets better with each and every listen, and not in a Clockwork Orange, forcibly-keep-your-eyelids-open-and-watch-repeatedly-till-you're-converted kind of way. (You have to see the film to What I like -- no, love -- about "Return to Cookie Mountain" Is that with each and every listen there's a track, that you previously thought as being so-so, that's, in fact, stellar. It gets better with each and every listen, and not in a Clockwork Orange, forcibly-keep-your-eyelids-open-and-watch-repeatedly-till-you're-converted kind of way. (You have to see the film to get what I mean.) The best example of this, for me, is "A Method," a song that starts off with a whistle, and ends with a whistle (down an empty, drizzly, London street, circa 1950 ... sorry, the whistling paints a picture for me.) Granted, there are one or two tracks that have yet to grow on me, and may never do. But even the mediocre tracks contain impressive soundscapes. Plus the album is short, and tight, enough where you don't have a need, or feeling, to skip the sub-par tracks (that is, if there are, in fact, any sub-par tracks on this remarkable album). Expand
  12. Brian
    Oct 8, 2006
    10
    Album of the year.
  13. Matt
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    Fantastic. Wasn't a big fan of the last album, thought it was incredibly over-rated, but this is just sublime. All those haters ono here, really not sure what album you've been listening to. Music doesn't come much more joyous and gorgeous than this.
  14. CurryF
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    Beatiful record. Give it a try at least.
  15. Jerry
    Jul 18, 2006
    10
    Stunning. Makes my world manageable and more colorful. Go see them live. Wow!
  16. Branislav
    Jul 20, 2006
    10
    excellent
  17. ryanf
    Jul 26, 2006
    9
    in a word, amazing.
  18. thetourist
    Jul 20, 2006
    9
    A brilliant, uncategorisable album. Best opening track this year, easily.
  19. JeffH
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    This album is absolutely stunning! I've never taken the time to rate any album on here or anywhere online before, but I just couldn't help myself with this one. If you're a fan of TVOTR, then you will love it. Even if you're not, this is a good place to start seeing as this is probably their most impressive album to date (next to the Young Liars EP).
  20. RogerW
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    Amazing stuff. Unlike anything else around. Your collection is poorer without it.
  21. Jared
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    Granted I've only heard the leaked version but I have to say: JESUS CHRIST. A masterpiece is right
  22. HectorH
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    Every once in awhile, an uncontested stone masterpiece is released on an unsuspecting public...this is one of those times...album of the year!
  23. GeorgeEverlasting
    Aug 4, 2006
    9
    Powerful and melodic, this album (and this band) has steam-rolled over me in a ocean of vibrating vocals and harmonies.
  24. DavidY
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    TVOTR are easily one of the most original bands in the world, and this record simply proves it even further. If you're looking for something incredibly different, incredibly bold and extremely well made then look no further than this truly brilliant band.
  25. BryanW
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    One of - if not THE most interesting, creative and exciting record to come out in any genre this year. This is a band that made the record they wanted to and are out to prove that can still be a successful strategy. I hope buyers prove them right although a 6 months + internet leak probably won't help them make that point.
  26. RyanL
    Sep 18, 2006
    9
    One of the user reviewers on here said that TV On the Radio failed to sound like U2. It's 2006 -- if that doesn't convince you to buy this album, I don't know what will.
  27. ChrisP
    Sep 21, 2006
    9
    Abstract and atomspheric, and for once those aren't excuses for poor songwriting. TotR continue working with tan assortment of loops, drones and noise while Adepimbe's cynicaly romantic lyrics continue to be crooned out in the emotionally detached voice o his. I dont feel it's their masterpeice, but a fantastic album nonetheless.
  28. ChrisA
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    A stunning, timeless, masterful classic.
  29. Kza
    Sep 29, 2006
    9
    Moved away from indie for a while but best I've heard since Lambchops, Is A Woman or the most recent by Sparklehorse. Densely layered and influences too many to list. One for the times.
  30. J
    Jan 10, 2007
    7
    Good album, but not quite great. This is a grower for TV on the Radio. The lyrics really need work. Some of the songs (Dirtywhirl, A Method) are not very good at all, while others (I Was a Lover, Tonight) are pure brilliance. It's hard to tell where this band will go from here. They could end up like Radiohead and be truly great, or they could be the next Blur.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 80
    On their lush major-label debut, the haunting Peter Gabriel-esque yawlps of singer Tunde Adebimpbe are punctuated by singer-guitarist Kyp Malone, whose raspy falsetto provides a sense of deadpan panic. [Jul 2006, p.103]
  2. A warmer, more linear record than their debut... Spellbinding, frustrating, wonderful.
  3. 80
    Sitek's layered sonics have grown more immense... and almost none of these songs charts a predictable course. [Jun 2006, p.81]