Revival

  • Record Label: Fantasy
  • Release Date: Oct 2, 2007
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BarryR.
    Oct 27, 2007
    8
    A very good disc -- not quite as polished as Blue Moon Swamp, and lacking the pop classics of Centerfield. Regardless, a very solid disc that will please fans and newcomers alike.
  2. KevinR
    Oct 22, 2007
    8
    It's like listening to an older, more gruff and rugged CCR. And that's definitely a good thing.
  3. ToddW.
    Oct 25, 2007
    7
    Having bought Creedence's "Green River" as the first audio recording in my life as a 10-year-old, I've always been a huge Fogerty fan. That being said, it's good to hear Fogerty trying to re-embrace his roots, which owe more to the Louisiana bayou than the San Francisco Bay area of his birth. However, I expect more than merely good from an institution like Fogerty, and on Having bought Creedence's "Green River" as the first audio recording in my life as a 10-year-old, I've always been a huge Fogerty fan. That being said, it's good to hear Fogerty trying to re-embrace his roots, which owe more to the Louisiana bayou than the San Francisco Bay area of his birth. However, I expect more than merely good from an institution like Fogerty, and on 'Revival' he doesn't quite succeed to greatness. Maybe it's age. Maybe it's fame and fortune. Maybe the times they are a changin', but it's painful to hear Fogerty complain about the state of affairs in the United States from the throne of his golden castle. If you leave out the political bent, his newest is a revival of sorts. Expand
  4. MichelleT.
    Oct 23, 2007
    9
    I thought it was great!
  5. ColeT
    Jan 7, 2009
    10
    I thought it was amazing to see John Fogerty make such a strong album. He's over 60, and he sings like he's 30.
  6. ChrisK
    Nov 25, 2007
    8
    If I had to make a play on Best Americana/Folk records of 2007, this would land easily in the TOP FIVE. By far, it is one of John's best ... and a standard that anything he does now will be measured against. Thanks John for finding peace with your youth.
  7. GregB.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    It's exceedingly unusual these days to purchase an album where all of the songs are good. Revival is one of those rare albums. All of the songs are good, but some are truly exceptional. This album is a "must have"!
  8. Rev.Rikard
    Oct 25, 2007
    8
    Fogerty's voice makes it all but impossible to identify his music. No other artist has his intonation and inflection. His voice has always thrived in songs with a dark, critical edge. Here he has written and recorded a "Fogerty album." As one listens to each track it becomes obvious that no other voice could record them; not without diminishing their power. Gunslinger will become a Fogerty's voice makes it all but impossible to identify his music. No other artist has his intonation and inflection. His voice has always thrived in songs with a dark, critical edge. Here he has written and recorded a "Fogerty album." As one listens to each track it becomes obvious that no other voice could record them; not without diminishing their power. Gunslinger will become a classic for his fans, and the album a must. This is the kind of album that will make serious rock lovers "Hie de Hie de Hie" for "the old man" is no longer down the road; he is here as fresh and relevant as ever. Expand
  9. tomh
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    It's great to see john fogerty with a new album. i loved it.
  10. JohnS.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    Deserves the 10 as is a real toe tapper and a hell of a rocker.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. There's a real fire to his writing here, turning Revival into a missive as immediate, effective, and telling as Neil Young's "Living with War."
  2. Fogerty's voice sounds great throughout; passionate, more committed and comfortable with these songs than he has seemed in years.
  3. From the broad, hopeful tone of opener 'Don't You Wish It Was True' to the brisk closer 'Longshot,' John Fogerty at 62 has made his toughest, best-written album since Creedence Clearwater Revival disbanded in 1972.