rEvolver

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Dec 6, 2011
User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 14 out of 25
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    Revolver is not the best work we have seen from T-Pain, but it is not horrible. T-Pain has once again restated that Auto Tune is not dead using it to perfect songs such as Its Not You and Sho Time(Pleasure Thang). Along with that he keeps the listeners going with club bangers like Bottlez and Nothin(Deluxe Edition only). Then he preaches the robot blues in songs like Rock Bottom. The AutoRevolver is not the best work we have seen from T-Pain, but it is not horrible. T-Pain has once again restated that Auto Tune is not dead using it to perfect songs such as Its Not You and Sho Time(Pleasure Thang). Along with that he keeps the listeners going with club bangers like Bottlez and Nothin(Deluxe Edition only). Then he preaches the robot blues in songs like Rock Bottom. The Auto Tune effect was little overdone and T-Pain was sometime shown up by his guests. Other than that, the album was another T-Pain original trying to push music to great lengths and heights Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    7
    A little too much of Ballads, same lyrical content and theme for greater part of the album make it a little less attractive. Appearances from Detail, Chris Brown, Wiz Khalifa, Lily Allen, Pitbull, E-40, Bei Major, R. Kelly & Lil Wayne do gain the spotlight and you instantly recognize the impact of these guests. But the solo Songs are the one's you can feel like skipping at any moment.A little too much of Ballads, same lyrical content and theme for greater part of the album make it a little less attractive. Appearances from Detail, Chris Brown, Wiz Khalifa, Lily Allen, Pitbull, E-40, Bei Major, R. Kelly & Lil Wayne do gain the spotlight and you instantly recognize the impact of these guests. But the solo Songs are the one's you can feel like skipping at any moment. T-pain's Club Theme on this album fully passes while the bedroom anthems excpet 5 o'Clock fail to make any impact. Expand
  3. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    It's nice to see T-Pain back. He created good songs but some were not released like, Take Your Shirt Off, Rap Song, Booty Work, and Reverse Cowgirl. The extensive use of auto-tune is another thing. I think, the voice of the old T-Pain (Rappa Ternt Sanga days) is much better than today.
  4. Dec 29, 2011
    0
    Awful, auto-tune and all. Its not something you should be proud of. The society needs good music, this is not something we can call "good". Try singing without altering your voice, and maybe people will learn to love your music.
  5. Dec 10, 2011
    7
    I agree with BeastxMode, it has too many Ballads. Solid project nonetheless. The stand out tracks are "Boom Boom Pow", "Rock Bottom", "Best Love Song" and "Default Picture".
  6. Feb 8, 2012
    0
    T-Pain Is Terrible only good song was Bang Bang Pow. T-pain Needs to stop rapping and produce more tracks. I give this a 1 for production. T-pain should make instrumental albums then ill give this a 10
  7. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    This is a great album, i highly reccomend it although not as many club anthems as song like Buy u a Drank, Booty Wurk, Rap song, Im sprung, etc etc this is a great album that anyone should buy. As I said, not his best work, but definatly an AMAZING album I like every single track
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. 60
    As toe-tapping or even eyebrow-raising as some of rEVOLVEr's 17 songs are (overlong at 66 minutes of no skits, just music), there's little to nothing here to put it over the top.
  2. Dec 14, 2011
    60
    By the end of these 17 tracks the head is heavy with images of the Smash robots battle-rapping against a crew from whatever planet The Clangers call home.
  3. Dec 13, 2011
    70
    If you want the T-Pain you know and love rEVOLVEr delivers that in spades--but he doesn't really EVOLVE at all.