Right Place Right Time Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third studio release for the runner-up of the 2009 season of The X Factor (UK) includes a guest appearance from Flo Rida.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    70
    This time around Murs delves into even more of a funk sound, and tracks like "Troublemaker" and "Hey You Beautiful" bring to mind the sound of such similarly inclined contemporaries as Maroon 5 and the Wanted.
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    70
    For all its battalions of writers and producers, Right Place Right Time is a surprisingly coherent affair.
  3. 67
    The reconceived album is stuffed with overproduced midtempo tracks that don't complement his naturally cheeky showmanship. [19/26 Apr 2013, p.112]
  4. 60
    There's less of the pop-ska pabulum and more Will Young-style balladeering, mixed in with up-tempo, perky numbers.
  5. 40
    Too much of the album is drably formulaic, a series of gambits shuffled into passable shapes rather than memorable songs.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. May 26, 2013
    10
    I love this album, all the tracks are amazing, this artist has a lot of talent, and this albumis the proof, buy it, listen it!!, this album worth it so much! Expand
  2. Apr 24, 2014
    9
    This album is pretty good and Olly, though he sounds a lot like Maroon 5, has a very nice voice. He actually sounds better on the quieter and slower tracks which I don't see too often.

    Highlights: Troublemaker
    Dance with me tonight
    Right place right time
    Cry your heart out (bonus track)
    Expand
  3. May 12, 2013
    9
    Olly Murs is one of the best singers out there these days. This album is really amazing, and Troublemaker has to be one of his best songs ever. It is my favorite song of 2013, and has been stuck in my head since January. That proves an amazing album. 9/10. Expand
  4. Apr 25, 2013
    7
    Enjoyable, danceable, fun and happy pop music that is good to listen to. Troublemaker is the best song and Army of two is quite good, generally the album is good and he is talented Collapse
  5. Apr 8, 2013
    4
    A track-list of radio friendly songs. It's his style, I get it, but as he does not challenge anything or attempt to bring a new flavour to British music, it will lack the substance that the audiences are striving for. And he wonders why he never wins anything... Expand