Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length studio release for the Scottish indie rock band was self-produced.
Buy On

Top Track

Evil Eye
What's the color of the next car?, (Red you bastard) Yeah red you bastard Don't believe in god don't believe in that shit Not me! I'd like to bring... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    83
    By expanding its worldview, Franz Ferdinand has very nicely settled onto a path toward career longevity.
  2. Aug 23, 2013
    80
    Franz Ferdinand's Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action is an unapologetically swaggering disco-rock album that refuses to overstay its welcome.
  3. 80
    It’s an album that tries not to shout ‘old school Franz are back’, even though it unmistakably signals that old school Franz are back.
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    70
    Kapranos and co have delivered what is simultaneously ‘just another Franz Ferdinand’ album and one of the indie records of the summer.
  5. Sep 4, 2013
    70
    It’s an album surprisingly even in its delivery, if a little underwhelming in content, somewhat reserved and unquestionably safe.
  6. Last year’s stellar Battle Born, felt considerably more vibrant than Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action ever does.
  7. Oct 4, 2013
    40
    Not a song sticks. It's sheer style that carries this disc, albeit one that sounds great.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    This is hands-down one of the best albums I have ever heard in my entire life. Pretty much every track was just downright amazing. A fantasticThis is hands-down one of the best albums I have ever heard in my entire life. Pretty much every track was just downright amazing. A fantastic album by a fantastic band, no doubt. Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    It's been waaay too long since FF put out new music! I have to say this is a smashing success! Enjoy the rollicking tunes and catchy lyrics.It's been waaay too long since FF put out new music! I have to say this is a smashing success! Enjoy the rollicking tunes and catchy lyrics. Heavy play in the rotation!!! Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    This album is so good that I still haven't decided with song is my favorite one. The first four tracks (from Right Action to Stand on theThis album is so good that I still haven't decided with song is my favorite one. The first four tracks (from Right Action to Stand on the Horizon) are very danceable, and all of them should be singles. There are also more introspective ones, like Fresh Strawberries and The Universe Expanded, and the lyrics of both of them, which talk about mortality and transience, are very good.
    Maybe Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action is their best album since the first one.
    Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    I will admit, I was a little disappointed with the last Franz Ferdinand album. But this brings me right back to the excitement I felt when II will admit, I was a little disappointed with the last Franz Ferdinand album. But this brings me right back to the excitement I felt when I heard their debut. My only gripe is that the first three tracks on the album have been released in some form as singles. This might not give some the incentive to listen through the entire album, which they should. It is worth it. Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2014
    8
    Franz Ferdinand have always had a talent for writing quirk and catchy pop songs and this talent is as evident as ever on this, their 4thFranz Ferdinand have always had a talent for writing quirk and catchy pop songs and this talent is as evident as ever on this, their 4th studio album. "Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action" has the trademark Franz sound and is especially close in style to their excellent debut. While some might lament the perceived lack of stylistic progression, the main point is that this is highly enjoyable pop music and should be appreciated on its own merits. The highlights for me include "Love Illumination", "Stand on the Horizon" and "Bullet". This album is as strong and consistent as the best work to be found in their back catalog so if you like what they've done before you are sure to appreciate this album. Collapse
  6. Sep 18, 2013
    7
    Come on ppl, why such a low score. It's not their best but it's still amazing album after few listens you will just love it. Must say thatCome on ppl, why such a low score. It's not their best but it's still amazing album after few listens you will just love it. Must say that Evil Eye reminds of No You Girls very much and few more songs sound repetitive but still, album is great. Brief Encounters probably my favorite track from this LP. Expand
  7. Nov 28, 2017
    4
    This album was mediocre at best. Felt like a half hearted effort IMO. Previous stuff was pretty good but I see the downward slope of theirThis album was mediocre at best. Felt like a half hearted effort IMO. Previous stuff was pretty good but I see the downward slope of their creativity. Hopefully the next one is better Expand

See all 14 User Reviews