Riot!

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 162

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 8, 2012
    8
    I love the music of Paramore, is a great band, but the music CD is some strange, and in some songs I don't feel a great sound, but is not bad, is my opinion. Riot! is a fantastic CD.
  2. BenL
    Jul 27, 2007
    7
    By no mean groundbreaking, Paramore's second album does have its redeeming qualities, from Hayley's (yes, it is all about Hayley here folks) surprisingly accomplished vocal range to some truly great pop melodies on tracks such as "That's What You Get" and "Born For This". Unfortunately though, many won't give Paramore the chance they deserve due to the way in which By no mean groundbreaking, Paramore's second album does have its redeeming qualities, from Hayley's (yes, it is all about Hayley here folks) surprisingly accomplished vocal range to some truly great pop melodies on tracks such as "That's What You Get" and "Born For This". Unfortunately though, many won't give Paramore the chance they deserve due to the way in which they are marketed. If approached purely as a pop-rock act, much like Kelly Clarkson, one will be pleasantly surprised by what "Riot!" has to offer. Expand
  3. KristaH.
    Mar 6, 2008
    10
    I love this album! Paramore is my favorite band and they don't deserve the one that "camille" gave them. I'm actually getting my hair don't like Hayleys hair. not the color the cut. I'm seeing them in concert with Jimmy Eat World. Yay!
  4. KaylaP.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    I totally loved her music. She's totally cute to. Im jealous. lol
  5. MollyF.
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    I love this album it is purky and upbeat and Hailey Williams is a spunky enthusaistic performer with a lot of heart as well as her band.
  6. JonathanR.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Amazing album. Anyone who can give this lower than an 8, seriously has no taste in music.
  7. MattD.
    Jul 10, 2007
    8
    Improves on their debut by not sounding as samey. New wave and 80s influences comfortably co-exist with their pop/punk. It would be very interesting if the band went more all out and broke free from any genre constraints.
  8. LoonyN.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    i love this album!! best one from paramore so far. misery business, crushcrushcrush, n miracle are my favorites
  9. EricB
    Aug 11, 2007
    9
    The music on this album was catchy, and fun to listen to. I don't get into the politics of music, all that matters is if the music is enjoyable, and on this CD, I love every song. It seems wrong to pass this CD off as just another Avril or Kelly, because even if Paramore does have some similarities with Avril and Kelly, the point is, this CD is great. Hayley's voice has improved The music on this album was catchy, and fun to listen to. I don't get into the politics of music, all that matters is if the music is enjoyable, and on this CD, I love every song. It seems wrong to pass this CD off as just another Avril or Kelly, because even if Paramore does have some similarities with Avril and Kelly, the point is, this CD is great. Hayley's voice has improved tenfold since their last album, the lyrics are fun, and the beats are catchy. It is so far my favorite CD of 2007, and my number one summer album. Expand
  10. BrittanyZ.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    I really enjoyed Riot!.. With its very catchy toons and lyrics that are relatable I believe the album was put together very well! Everyone should go buy it. HAYLEY WILLIAMS voice is incredible and it really shows through this album.
  11. saras.
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    Awesome album.
  12. paramore'sgreat
    Apr 19, 2008
    10
    I think paramores the best and you all need to get your ears tuned out of the rubbish that
  13. AkashR.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Riot! And Paramore, both, completely give a vivid taste to emo-punk with Hayden, a gal, as their front vocalist! Be it "Crushcruchcrush" or "That's What You Get", every track in the album is worth a listen! Plus, the album art does give a foundation for a great graphiti!
  14. DaylandM.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Riot! Is total rock at it's finest. Almost as good as the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. Let's see some high powered duets for Hayley in the future, please!
  15. Donna
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    This IS real music. Saying it isn't is usually a good sign to ignore the message. The lyrics on this CD are very observant and intelligent, and the music is more rocking than before.
  16. JackieO
    Aug 23, 2007
    9
    It's so funny how people take "personal opinion" to a whole different level... at the end of the day a "review" is an equivalent of only that... one's opinion. Can Paramore be compared to other bands, probably... but who can we really say is entirely "original," in some way or another all music , and therofore, artist' is influenced by past musical history. In my opinion It's so funny how people take "personal opinion" to a whole different level... at the end of the day a "review" is an equivalent of only that... one's opinion. Can Paramore be compared to other bands, probably... but who can we really say is entirely "original," in some way or another all music , and therofore, artist' is influenced by past musical history. In my opinion Paramore is a solid band, with a solid sound. Now, to like this band and their latest album falls on a basis of taste and opinion like everything else aorund us. To say that Hayley sounds like Avril, Gwen or Kelly is quite silly... they all have different singing styles and different showmanship (womanship)... ok so she's a chick just like them... and? so? anyways... Riot is a solid follow-up to All we know... I like the band... I like their music... it's not the most profound music out there... but it's FUN and intended to be... all bands have different identities and Paramore's is just evident, they like to have fun and it shows in their sound. Collapse
  17. GarrettC.
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    Great album! Trying to get in the last word won't convince anyone.
  18. MaruM
    Dec 21, 2008
    10
    This album is AMAZING. It shows, as Paramore intended, how the members of the band have matured since their first album, All We Know Is Falling, and matured not only emotionally, which can be seen in the content of their lyrics, but also musically; their musical production has evolved positively, creating as a result songs that have a catchy beat to adjust the profound lyrics. This album is AMAZING. It shows, as Paramore intended, how the members of the band have matured since their first album, All We Know Is Falling, and matured not only emotionally, which can be seen in the content of their lyrics, but also musically; their musical production has evolved positively, creating as a result songs that have a catchy beat to adjust the profound lyrics. What´s best of it all, is that, taking into consideration their live performances, one can easily realize that the band´s talent is for real and not everything was processed like many bands in the actual music industry are. Expand
  19. kazzlalaaaaa
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    67? wtf the album's insane..needs to be rated higher.
  20. Oct 12, 2010
    8
    Good clean sexy fun, very unique in that the singer is a female however isn't out to use her powers for evil. Paramore accomplishes a rare feet by producing truly positive music that edifies and inspires. Consistent fresh feel throughout the entirety of the album!
  21. Aug 27, 2011
    7
    Riot! is the musical equivalent of fast food. Good while it lasts but instantly forgettable with the exception of That's What You Get. Despite this it's one of those cases where catchy is good a.l.a Misery Business and crushcrushcrush. Hayley Williams has a sensational voice and the talents of her fellow band mates help them stand out on their own with an album which is highly unoriginal.
  22. Nov 8, 2012
    7
    *UPDATED REVIEW* Riot is a Riot to listen to! It's by far the best Paramore album; with it's badass songs, it's great fun to listen to.
  23. Apr 30, 2012
    7
    This is a good album but this is paramores worst album by far there are only like 5 or 6 good songs on this whole album luckily for them its some of there most memorable songs they on here and thats what makes the album other then that brand new eyes and all we know is falling are better albums
  24. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    My favorite Paramore album! Every single song on this cd is a good one. Hayley Williams has a very strong voice. Every song shows off her vocal range in a different way. That is very impressive. Paramore will be here to stay.
  25. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    It's genius! So simple, so catchy! The album shows one more side of Paramore, from the energy and angst of "All we know is falling" to this catchy, pop "Riot!". But their is still that original angst and energy left in songs like "For an Optimist...", "Misery Business", "Let the flames begin" and "Born for this". And the live shows are amongst the best. Everybody sings along to every song,It's genius! So simple, so catchy! The album shows one more side of Paramore, from the energy and angst of "All we know is falling" to this catchy, pop "Riot!". But their is still that original angst and energy left in songs like "For an Optimist...", "Misery Business", "Let the flames begin" and "Born for this". And the live shows are amongst the best. Everybody sings along to every song, and their is so much energy on stage. This is one of the new super-groups of the modern creative 21st century amongst other new super-groups like "Muse" and "Coldplay". Paramore will continue rocking the century! And this album is a breakthrough in their coming life-career! Riot! is genius, simple and a perfect 10! Expand
  26. MatthewH.
    Feb 5, 2009
    10
    I loooooooooove this album. Its my favourtie album of all time. It's the first album i have bought that i actually like all of the songs!!!!!
  27. FredG
    Sep 19, 2007
    9
    The music is not original, but in the area they are in, they are exceptional. It's a very fun album and they're very young. They'll be even better next time. A lot of talent.
  28. patrick
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    It's very catchy and gets your attention.
  29. paulb.
    Jan 29, 2009
    10
    The Greatest!
  30. GaryM.
    Jul 11, 2007
    8
    Paramore is band that has potential to grow if it wants to and, wow, Hayley Williams has such a great voice, it is truly mesmerizing. True, the album is not ground breaking in any way, but it is so much fun to listen to and there is some profundity embedded in the lyrics that some listeners (which include myself) can relate to.
  31. KimG.
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    This is the best album by Paramore,and it beats 'All We Know is Falling' :D
  32. Feb 3, 2011
    10
    The best band in the world well to me, paramore wrote great tracks in this album to it was my favorite track so far and i hope you listen to it and realize its a great album and an awesome band
  33. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    este album es todo lo que un adolescente rockero necesita para pasar una tarde entretenida con las mejores canciones que a sacado paramore hasta la fecha pero si tu eres como yo también pensaras que la canción que dirige este maravilloso album es la increíble misery business
  34. WindyW.
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    I love there Albums and recommand others to buy there Cds.
  35. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    Paramore's second best album. I still think All We Know is their best work, but Their first two albums are really what Ill remember of them. The band fell apart after the Ferro brothers left. Sad to see they arnt a punk band anymore.
  36. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    This album was one of the first I ever listened to, and while it's relatively 'safe' it's still excellent, and lyrically amazing. It's a very good album, and worth your attention, if you like pop-punk, this is one of the best albums out there.
  37. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    This is such a great album! There is literally no bad song on this album! Hayley Williams has a great voice! Great vocals and great music! Best tracks in my opinion: Misery Business, Hallelujah, Crushcrushcrush, Born For This
  38. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    Riot! is the musical equivalent of fast food. Good while it lasts but instantly forgettable with the exception of That's What You Get. Despite this it's one of those cases where catchy is good a.l.a Misery Business and crushcrushcrush. Hayley Williams has a sensational voice and the talents of her fellow band mates help them stand out on their own with an album which is highly unoriginal.
  39. Aug 30, 2014
    10
    Absolutely epic, Paramore gives us an album that deserves to be named one of the best alternative rock albums! My favorite album from them, it's perfectly wonderful! good job, paramore!
  40. Jan 16, 2015
    10
    I absolutely love this album, every song is amazing and never gets old, I first heard of Paramore last year, and at first I loved their newest album, but when I listened to this album I realized how much better this was than all their other albums, and this album will remaine one of my favorite albums for a long time.
  41. May 4, 2015
    10
    Katy Perry bursts back onto the scene with her amazing second album that is full to the grim of the tongue-in-cheek atmosphere that got herkhkkjhjghjbnnnnn
  42. Jun 15, 2015
    10
    Foxes é maravilhosa. Eu amo tudo o que ela faz, tudo bem feito, impecável. Coisa de artista de verdade, é uma pena ver que não tem o reconhecimento merecido.
  43. Jun 15, 2015
    10
    eard. They're nothing more than 5 Justin Bieber's and they will never get to the level of previous boys bands they're obviously copying like Backstrehjjjjj
  44. Sep 9, 2015
    7
    Riot! is decidedly one of Paramore's best albums. While it does lack the fresh sound of All We Know is Falling, the album generally is catchy and is a great example of a mainstream pop-rock band. Although you could call it formulaic and not ground breaking, it is impossible to deny that the album is solidly produced, with next to nonexistent filler songs and a great balance between HayleyRiot! is decidedly one of Paramore's best albums. While it does lack the fresh sound of All We Know is Falling, the album generally is catchy and is a great example of a mainstream pop-rock band. Although you could call it formulaic and not ground breaking, it is impossible to deny that the album is solidly produced, with next to nonexistent filler songs and a great balance between Hayley Williams' voice and the rest of the band. It is a bit generic sounding, but the lyrics are relatively well written, so the flaws in this album are partly overshadowed by its strengths. Definitely give this album a listen if you prefer generic, yet brilliantly produced pop-rock music . Expand
  45. Jan 8, 2016
    9
    Mais um excelente álbum que a banda fez! Ele é inferior aos dois álbuns que o sucedem, mas é ótimo do mesmo jeito. A voz impecável da Hayley e a instrumental maravilhosa, unida as letras bem escritas, fazem o álbum ótimo.

    Pontos Altos: CrushCrushCrush, Misery Business, Fences
    Pontos Baixos: Let The Flames Begin, Hallelujah e For a Pessimist, I'm Pretty Optimist
  46. Feb 9, 2016
    9
    Excellent album. Pretty different and has a lot of different elements on it, and Hayley as usual kills it with her A-list vocals. Main reason I gave it a 9 is that I find their debut and 3rd album superior to this. A lot of the songs also sound better in live versions. My favorite tracks are Hallelujah, When It Rains, Miracle, Let The Flames Begin and We Are Broken.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. The sound quality is ultra-clean, it makes the listening experience relatively risk-free and also brings attention to the fact that there's not a lot of ground being broken here.
  2. Blender
    60
    [Hayley Williams'] Tennessee crew's second album isn't as charmingly precocious as the first. [Jul 2007, p.116]
  3. Riot sounds like a crunching, flashlight-white amalgamation of Avril Lavigne and Kelly Clarkson, save for token ballad "We Are Broken" that echoes the enchanting eighties sounds of Belinda Carlisle.