Riot! Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hayley Williams leads her Franklin, Tennessee-based band in their second album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Riot! is immediately appealing because it focuses on sounds that have been neglected by the genre’s frontrunners. This is an uncomplicated album comprising of strikingly uncomplicated music, entirely lacking in 15 word song titles, Jay-Z guest appearances, and theatrical meta-concepts about performing in a rock band.
  2. The good news is that for a bunch of brats they're well in control of the complex, riddling, labyrinthine structures that go toward making the perfect pop punk songs.
  3. The sound quality is ultra-clean, it makes the listening experience relatively risk-free and also brings attention to the fact that there's not a lot of ground being broken here.
  4. 60
    Their biggest asset, though, is singer Hayley Williams, an 18-year-old siren with a killer fashion sense and an undeniable knack for writing contemplative love songs.
  5. 60
    [Hayley Williams'] Tennessee crew's second album isn't as charmingly precocious as the first. [Jul 2007, p.116]
  6. In the end, whether it's a cynical bid for the mainstream or an experiment gone wrong, Riot barely registers as a minor disturbance.
  7. Riot sounds like a crunching, flashlight-white amalgamation of Avril Lavigne and Kelly Clarkson, save for token ballad "We Are Broken" that echoes the enchanting eighties sounds of Belinda Carlisle.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. MatthewH.
    Feb 5, 2009
    10
    I loooooooooove this album. Its my favourtie album of all time. It's the first album i have bought that i actually like all of the songs!!!!!
  2. AkashR.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Riot! And Paramore, both, completely give a vivid taste to emo-punk with Hayden, a gal, as their front vocalist! Be it "Crushcruchcrush" or Riot! And Paramore, both, completely give a vivid taste to emo-punk with Hayden, a gal, as their front vocalist! Be it "Crushcruchcrush" or "That's What You Get", every track in the album is worth a listen! Plus, the album art does give a foundation for a great graphiti! Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2014
    10
    Absolutely epic, Paramore gives us an album that deserves to be named one of the best alternative rock albums! My favorite album from them,Absolutely epic, Paramore gives us an album that deserves to be named one of the best alternative rock albums! My favorite album from them, it's perfectly wonderful! good job, paramore! Expand
  4. MollyF.
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    I love this album it is purky and upbeat and Hailey Williams is a spunky enthusaistic performer with a lot of heart as well as her band.
  5. JackieO
    Aug 23, 2007
    9
    It's so funny how people take "personal opinion" to a whole different level... at the end of the day a "review" is an equivalent of only It's so funny how people take "personal opinion" to a whole different level... at the end of the day a "review" is an equivalent of only that... one's opinion. Can Paramore be compared to other bands, probably... but who can we really say is entirely "original," in some way or another all music , and therofore, artist' is influenced by past musical history. In my opinion Paramore is a solid band, with a solid sound. Now, to like this band and their latest album falls on a basis of taste and opinion like everything else aorund us. To say that Hayley sounds like Avril, Gwen or Kelly is quite silly... they all have different singing styles and different showmanship (womanship)... ok so she's a chick just like them... and? so? anyways... Riot is a solid follow-up to All we know... I like the band... I like their music... it's not the most profound music out there... but it's FUN and intended to be... all bands have different identities and Paramore's is just evident, they like to have fun and it shows in their sound. Expand
  6. MattD.
    Jul 10, 2007
    8
    Improves on their debut by not sounding as samey. New wave and 80s influences comfortably co-exist with their pop/punk. It would be very Improves on their debut by not sounding as samey. New wave and 80s influences comfortably co-exist with their pop/punk. It would be very interesting if the band went more all out and broke free from any genre constraints. Expand
  7. RaulV.
    Jan 11, 2009
    0
    Another pop-punk band? This stuff has been done to death. Popular music is becoming formulaic these days. Play some power chords over and Another pop-punk band? This stuff has been done to death. Popular music is becoming formulaic these days. Play some power chords over and over, keep a linear drum beat, add an okay singer, write emotional lyrics that pretend to be "deep" but aren't, and you're famous. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews