• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 12, 2002
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 99
  2. Negative: 6 out of 99

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ErwinK
    Dec 2, 2002
    4
    When will these dinosaurs die?
  2. Tim
    Jun 17, 2003
    4
    It becomes very sad when a band refuses to quit although they're past their prime. The album is full of mostly boring songs aside from a few. Stand out Tracks: I Am Mine, Save You, Bushleager.
  3. DrewK
    Sep 13, 2005
    4
    I'm a huge Pearl Jam fan who has every album and has seen the band live multiple times, so it pains me to rate a PJ album this low. This is PJ's first mediocre/bad record. Binaural wasn't great due to shoddy production, but it least it had good songs on it. Some of these songs actually make me feel embarrassed for the band. Nowhere close to their masterpieces Vitalogy and I'm a huge Pearl Jam fan who has every album and has seen the band live multiple times, so it pains me to rate a PJ album this low. This is PJ's first mediocre/bad record. Binaural wasn't great due to shoddy production, but it least it had good songs on it. Some of these songs actually make me feel embarrassed for the band. Nowhere close to their masterpieces Vitalogy and No Code. Maybe it really is time to call it quits? Expand
  4. KevinC
    Mar 18, 2007
    6
    Pearl Jam is my favourite rock band, and although there are some good cuts on this album, I can't really give it any higher than a six. In my opinion, this is Pearl Jam's weakest album.
  5. kstanger
    Dec 26, 2002
    6
    it is a muddy rendition of the musicality that any older fans of the band would be expecting. instead of evolving, they are taking the same and smearing it.
  6. Feb 19, 2012
    6
    'Ghost' remains my least favourite Pearl Jam track of all time (yes I preferred Bugs!), however, among the poorly political statements here there are some melancholic and incredible tracks with 'Love Boat Captain' and 'I Am Mine' keeping some consistency. Unfortunately with the inclusion of 'Arc' I am certain many die-hard fans like myself thought it a punch in the face when Vedder's voice'Ghost' remains my least favourite Pearl Jam track of all time (yes I preferred Bugs!), however, among the poorly political statements here there are some melancholic and incredible tracks with 'Love Boat Captain' and 'I Am Mine' keeping some consistency. Unfortunately with the inclusion of 'Arc' I am certain many die-hard fans like myself thought it a punch in the face when Vedder's voice is still capable of soaring so well. Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2012
    6
    The band clearly showing a mid-age slump with a very normal album. Nothing to get too excited about but a decent album. Love Boat Captain and Thumbing My Way showing good melodically structured songs
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. An adult rock record in which nuance succeeds over bombast. [Dec 2002, p.108]
  2. 60
    A couple of songs could do with more melody and less of Mike McCready's spidery guitar breaks. [Dec 2002, p.132]
  3. Eddie's heartfelt lyrics rarely cohere... [but their] grooves still sound taut, emotive, and world-class.