Riot Act

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Riot Act Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Still going strong, the Seattle grunge band returns with its seventh studio album.

Top Track

I Am Mine
The selfish, they're all standing in line Faithing and hoping to buy themselves time Me, I figure as each breath goes by I only own my mind North is... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Pearl Jam has made some of the most vital music of its career.
  2. Sticking to a formula -- a formula that works for them -- the band sounds fiercer than ever on Riot Act.
  3. From its downbeat organ opening to its exhilarating climax, it's almost the sound of a garage band taking on 70s prog-rock excess - all the ambition and none of the flabby indulgence.
  4. Spin
    70
    Like their last three records... [Riot Act] balances emotive bombast with a taut, sweaty hard-rock attack. [Dec 2002, p.137]
  5. With its restless spirituality and dense, decidedly un-pop arrangements, Riot Act perhaps most closely resembles that first album (No Code) of the post-Vitalogy years.
  6. Uncut
    60
    A couple of songs could do with more melody and less of Mike McCready's spidery guitar breaks. [Dec 2002, p.132]
  7. Riot Act meanders from one song to the next with an overwhelming insipidness.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. geoffw
    Dec 14, 2002
    10
    Pearl Jam still remain on top with their amazing talent. Riot act is definately the album of the year!
  2. MikeS
    Aug 18, 2004
    10
    This album rocks! I don't understand why it is so underrated and underappreciated. I loved it the first time I heard it and continue to This album rocks! I don't understand why it is so underrated and underappreciated. I loved it the first time I heard it and continue to like it more and more. I think it's a terrific comeback album for them as it is much stronger than binaural. Don't beleive the (negative) hype! Expand
  3. joeh
    May 2, 2006
    10
    not bubble gum for sure, you gotta listen to the music and explore it. all pearl jam listens are a difficult listen at first, then they all not bubble gum for sure, you gotta listen to the music and explore it. all pearl jam listens are a difficult listen at first, then they all at once consume you and it becomes the gospel. Expand
  4. zorang
    Nov 19, 2002
    9
    Simply great. A lot of power, a lot of mood.
  5. AlexY
    Nov 22, 2002
    8
    I'm not really a fan of Pearl Jam's albums -- they are incredible performers, but I've never really liked an album all the way I'm not really a fan of Pearl Jam's albums -- they are incredible performers, but I've never really liked an album all the way through. BUT this one...it's really pretty good! After the long hiatus, I thought they'd turn out a turkey, but it's fun, melodic, energetic, passonate and good music -- great perfomances by all involved. I've heard the criticisms about it being rooted in 70's type writing/guitar solos, etc. -- hey...this IS Rock and Roll. Expand
  6. PeterJ
    Nov 17, 2002
    7
    I love Pearl Jam so it's always wonderful to hear new music by them. Can't wait to see them in concert in Sydney in February. I I love Pearl Jam so it's always wonderful to hear new music by them. Can't wait to see them in concert in Sydney in February. I thought this was a decent album, though certainly not a 'Riot Act' as the title suggest. More a tale of importance of love than any political statement (except for one anti-Bush song). 'Love Boat Captain' has entered my top 10 Pearl Jam songs. Probably on a par with Binaural, but not as good as Yield, and certainly not up there with the eastern-inspired No Code. Expand
  7. PaulH
    Jul 3, 2005
    0
    Boring, that's the only word I can think of when I think of this Album and Pearl Jam's Career since their first two albums.

See all 38 User Reviews