Rise Above

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ThomasK
    Oct 7, 2007
    8
    Very good. The guitars remind me of some excellent African guitar pop i've heard before. Took me a listen or two, but at this point I can't get it out of my head. Buyer beware for anything before this album, though. Still very good, but the real question is: can they write their own lyrics with the same degree of sucess? (This album uses only Black Flag lyrics, with a result Very good. The guitars remind me of some excellent African guitar pop i've heard before. Took me a listen or two, but at this point I can't get it out of my head. Buyer beware for anything before this album, though. Still very good, but the real question is: can they write their own lyrics with the same degree of sucess? (This album uses only Black Flag lyrics, with a result that transcends the original product, in both poignancy and auditory bliss.) If allowed I would give this album an 8.5. It is strong. They are pushing the boundaries... Expand
  2. MacMac
    Apr 24, 2008
    10
    my 2nd favorite album of 2007. amazing, especially depression, rise above, gimme, gimme, spray paint. at first i was with liz - i hated the album - but give it five or six listens and if you still hate it, that's fine. my guess is that you'll end up loving it.
  3. Alex
    Feb 23, 2009
    0
    This album is fucking awful. Good reviews for horseshit like this are why music criticism is a dying art.
  4. Liz
    Sep 28, 2007
    3
    Trying too hard to be weird. Randomly assembled bits can pass off as masterminded these days? Pitchfork, once again, killing rock and roll, one boring art school project band at a time. How could they even call this "rock"!? You can't rock out to this. This is thinking music, made for critics, without any true grit or feeling.
  5. Evan
    Sep 14, 2007
    8
    Pretty much unlike anything I've ever heard. For all its twists and turns, still remarkably consistent. There's not a bad track on here. If you're looking to expand your horizons, but not yet ready to abandon 'rock,' this is the album for you.
  6. RowanS.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    The way that the instrumentation of this album flows, it is never led by a single instrument, the backing choir is so vital to the harmony that you find yourself singing not only David's lead vocals, but the choir's as well. You know a band is interesting when you realize that he is singing and playing guitar in different time signatures at the same time.
  7. RyanM.
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    I can't stop listening to this record. From a songwriting standpoint it's inspiring as hell - with the New Attitude EP and this record, Longstreth is finally figuring out how to combine his jarring compositional instincts with something like pop accessibility. The only thing that occasionally bugs me about the album: in light of its central concept - rewriting Black Flag's I can't stop listening to this record. From a songwriting standpoint it's inspiring as hell - with the New Attitude EP and this record, Longstreth is finally figuring out how to combine his jarring compositional instincts with something like pop accessibility. The only thing that occasionally bugs me about the album: in light of its central concept - rewriting Black Flag's "Damaged" album using only the lyrics as an anchor - certain songs seem to miss the mark in kind of an ugly way. "Six Pack", for example, is a great composition, but the change of tone here is so completely opposed to the original that it comes off like it's mocking it. "Police Story" has a bit of this, too. Other songs, however, transcend like crazy - "No More," "Spray Paint (The Walls)," "What I See," "Rise Above," etc. Expand
  8. pmmmmm
    Dec 17, 2007
    7
    Interesting concept, good record. i enjoy the contrasting and conflicting sounds, and it often comes together very well, sometimes however it is a pretty challenging listen, and i don't love all of these moments. in response to liz - don't be ridiculous. pitchfork gave this 8.1, while other publications rated it much higher. why not criticise them? oh my god some guy on the Interesting concept, good record. i enjoy the contrasting and conflicting sounds, and it often comes together very well, sometimes however it is a pretty challenging listen, and i don't love all of these moments. in response to liz - don't be ridiculous. pitchfork gave this 8.1, while other publications rated it much higher. why not criticise them? oh my god some guy on the internet who writes for one site is killing rock and roll!!!!!! i cannot understand why people seem to think it's 'cool' to bash pitchfork. it's just a website. oh i know, it would be a much better world if some people weren't allowed to express their views. yeah, that makes sense. rock on. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Under The Radar
    70
    They comfortably hang in that frustrating chasm between jazz and pop. [Fall 2007, p.79]
  2. Spin
    80
    It just might be a masterpiece all over again. [Nov 2007, p.118]
  3. The Wire
    80
    It's an extraordinary and compelling celebration of a hardcore punk classic. [Oct 2007, p.71]