Rise Above - Dirty Projectors
Rise Above Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dave Longstreth reimagines Black Flag's album "Damaged."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sonically, Rise Above is just another healthy dose of what Longstreth does best. Anomalous harmonies, quirky time signatures, and spontaneous rock-outs punctuate the album’s 11 tracks.
  2. Dirty Projectors leader Dave Longstreth clearly had more than a remake on his mind--a mind whose wandering ways will be worth following for years to come.
  3. 80
    It's the clever orchestration that elevates this above postmodern gag, all fluttering pipes and chiming guitar. [Nov 2007, p.98]
  4. iT is the most focused art the Projectors have ever produced.
  5. One coup this unexpectedly friendly record makes me miss is when my favorite records used to have a string of highlights as moments rather than memorable refrains.
  6. Maybe it doesn't have the relevance as the original album, and doesn't quite live up to the legacy, but it is intelligently composed and often moving.
  7. This is either one of 2007’s most refreshing or most grating albums, and there’s a hair’s breadth in between. Swerving but creative, Rise Above may wear on repeated listens but still it connects more than it should.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. MacMac
    Apr 24, 2008
    10
    my 2nd favorite album of 2007. amazing, especially depression, rise above, gimme, gimme, spray paint. at first i was with liz - i hated the album - but give it five or six listens and if you still hate it, that's fine. my guess is that you'll end up loving it. Expand
  2. RowanS.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    The way that the instrumentation of this album flows, it is never led by a single instrument, the backing choir is so vital to the harmony that you find yourself singing not only David's lead vocals, but the choir's as well. You know a band is interesting when you realize that he is singing and playing guitar in different time signatures at the same time. Expand
  3. RyanM.
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    I can't stop listening to this record. From a songwriting standpoint it's inspiring as hell - with the New Attitude EP and this record, Longstreth is finally figuring out how to combine his jarring compositional instincts with something like pop accessibility. The only thing that occasionally bugs me about the album: in light of its central concept - rewriting Black Flag's "Damaged" album using only the lyrics as an anchor - certain songs seem to miss the mark in kind of an ugly way. "Six Pack", for example, is a great composition, but the change of tone here is so completely opposed to the original that it comes off like it's mocking it. "Police Story" has a bit of this, too. Other songs, however, transcend like crazy - "No More," "Spray Paint (The Walls)," "What I See," "Rise Above," etc. Expand
  4. Evan
    Sep 14, 2007
    8
    Pretty much unlike anything I've ever heard. For all its twists and turns, still remarkably consistent. There's not a bad track on here. If you're looking to expand your horizons, but not yet ready to abandon 'rock,' this is the album for you. Expand
  5. pmmmmm
    Dec 17, 2007
    7
    Interesting concept, good record. i enjoy the contrasting and conflicting sounds, and it often comes together very well, sometimes however it is a pretty challenging listen, and i don't love all of these moments. in response to liz - don't be ridiculous. pitchfork gave this 8.1, while other publications rated it much higher. why not criticise them? oh my god some guy on the internet who writes for one site is killing rock and roll!!!!!! i cannot understand why people seem to think it's 'cool' to bash pitchfork. it's just a website. oh i know, it would be a much better world if some people weren't allowed to express their views. yeah, that makes sense. rock on. Expand
  6. Liz
    Sep 28, 2007
    3
    Trying too hard to be weird. Randomly assembled bits can pass off as masterminded these days? Pitchfork, once again, killing rock and roll, one boring art school project band at a time. How could they even call this "rock"!? You can't rock out to this. This is thinking music, made for critics, without any true grit or feeling. Collapse
  7. Alex
    Feb 23, 2009
    0
    This album is fucking awful. Good reviews for horseshit like this are why music criticism is a dying art.

See all 8 User Reviews