Rising Down

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Apr 29, 2008
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jay
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Great listen, it's not all that dark as stated...drums are outstanding and Black Thought knows when to pick up the pace....stand outs are Rising uP, I Will Not Apologize, The Show, Criminal.
  2. DunD
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Thanks for save "Real Hip-Hop".
  3. WarrenL.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    I find it interesting that such glowing reviews still result in C level reviews. Most critics seem to think it is a musically complex, well written, solidly hip-hop album. The only hit is that is too much of a "downer." Fuck the critics. This is one of the most musically and lyrically complex of all of the the roots album. Real, hard hip-hop in the purest sense. If you don't like it, I find it interesting that such glowing reviews still result in C level reviews. Most critics seem to think it is a musically complex, well written, solidly hip-hop album. The only hit is that is too much of a "downer." Fuck the critics. This is one of the most musically and lyrically complex of all of the the roots album. Real, hard hip-hop in the purest sense. If you don't like it, shit clearly wasn't made for you. In which case, you opinion really doesn't matter. Brilliant work. A clockwork orange in music form. 5 stars. Expand
  4. ScotT
    May 1, 2008
    9
    Great album....probably my 3rd favorite of theirs. "Criminal" is one of their most solid songs EVER. Get his album now.
  5. PaulC
    May 6, 2008
    8
    This is a great album. While I think The Roots peaked with Things Fall Apart, this album is one of their best in recent years.
  6. LouisD.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    ATTENTION: The Roots Crew are officially back on the map with another stellar album. With the amount of plastic the music industry has been releasing over the last few years, one would be hard pressed not to believe that they are a primary contributor to the world's ever-growing oil crisis. This album is a breath of fresh air in a world polluted by highly-commercialized and ATTENTION: The Roots Crew are officially back on the map with another stellar album. With the amount of plastic the music industry has been releasing over the last few years, one would be hard pressed not to believe that they are a primary contributor to the world's ever-growing oil crisis. This album is a breath of fresh air in a world polluted by highly-commercialized and pablum-filled music. Rising Down is raw enough for those who have grown up during the golden age of hip-hop ('86-'95) and fluid enough for those who need a real history lesson. We must give props to The Roots Crew for this most recent release that not only displays their depth and true mastery of the craft but also for keeping the essence of real hip-hop alive. Expand
  7. MatthewD
    May 9, 2008
    9
    I hope this is where rap is headed.
  8. MFox
    May 22, 2008
    9
    Those who have pre-judged this album may well now, after a few more listens, regret their initial decision to make comments as to the album's shortcomings. The Roots have once again proven that they are among the most progressive, not only of hip-hop artists, but of bands in general. Criminal and Lost Desire rate among the best song of the year and I would say Criminal is my Those who have pre-judged this album may well now, after a few more listens, regret their initial decision to make comments as to the album's shortcomings. The Roots have once again proven that they are among the most progressive, not only of hip-hop artists, but of bands in general. Criminal and Lost Desire rate among the best song of the year and I would say Criminal is my favourite song of 2008 to date but these are easy songs to listen to. The remainder of the album with but one exception, while more demanding of the listener, are well worth the rewards that come with some persistence. If you love music, and particularly music with a point, you'll love this album. Expand
  9. steveo
    Jun 25, 2008
    8
    the roots are one hip hop group that has many strong points. they have numbers including mos def and questlove. they use original jazzy beats and they speak the truth about what people need to hear about in the struggle of the hip hop game.
  10. MycroftW.
    Jul 7, 2008
    8
    Doubt that this will end up being my favourite Roots record, but that's mainly due to the stiff competition. The record focuses on the harder edge of their sound, with ?uestlove apparently saving the more mellowed-out stuff for the Al Green record.
  11. RadoslavP.
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    Simply the best rap has to offer - phylosophical and politicly aware - it just makes you think about life.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. With an incongruent Fall Out Boy track set aside for single duty and all those rappers a dream community taking the burden off Black Thought, this is the most accomplished pure hip-hop album in years.
  2. An album that's both revelatory and full of questions, an album that understands its place in the Roots' history and American history, and an album that continues to place the group as one of the country's most talented and relevant in any genre, no calculated crossover necessary.
  3. Elsewhere, 'Criminal' and 'I Will Not Apologize' find the group making its most acute, nail-driven points in years.