Rize of the Fenix - Tenacious D
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 16, 2012
    9
    This is a fantastic album with some brilliant songs and is only let down by some poor comedy skits. Ballad Of Hollywood Jack, Rize Of The Fenix, Senorita and Deth Starr really stick in the mind of some of the best tracks I have heard all year and this is easily the best album of 2012 so far
  2. May 21, 2012
    10
    A much more mature album featuring some of the best vocal work JB has ever laid down. This may not be The D's funniest album but it is their most experimental and perhaps their most rewarding.
  3. May 17, 2012
    4
    I always thought that the day I didn't like something by the D, that would seriously be the end of my existence, but I'm still here. I really wanted to like this album, i really did but it was really hard to. The writing seems recycled and generally kind if boring. I wont exactly recommend this to anyone, but if you cant believe what everybody else has been saying, just like me, then go ahead but these guys are passed their prime. I'm really sad. Expand
  4. May 18, 2012
    9
    I only signed up to this website and to review this album in particular because I saw the critic ratings (especially the rolling stones) to give a quite narrow minded look at this album. I didn't know what to expect of this album, I really didn't. I had a long stage of loving the D and it faded over time in the gap between the two albums.
    This albums release has rekindled a nostalgic love
    of this music.
    The first thing that struck me about this album is the high quality of the tracks, there is no 'one note song' on this album or filler really, it seems to be mainly full of tracks they have a purpose for and a message, albeit sometimes crude message to put across. What almost hit me with every song was just how much of a tribute to the fans it was, references from the TV show and gallons of dare I call it D lore and other such things that the hardcore fans just love.
    My personal favourites from the album stretch my choices but I'd have to go with the samba epic 'senorita,' this is mainly due to the ending which is just amazingly fun to listen to and highlights a not happy ending in the love song epic it is so targeted to parody.
    The one thing I think anyone interested in buying this album should consider is "would I enjoy a light hearted album with a lot of parodies to songs I may like?" if the answer is yes then get ready for your socks to be rocked off and your ears to reach orgasm. If not then just listen to it on soundcloud for free and make your own oppinion. long live the D!
    Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2012
    7
    The D have done better, but Rize of the Fenix is a fine album. Some of the songs are pretentious and aren't as funny as they were before, but songs like "Deth Starr" prove that the D still have more in them. Black tries many different voices, and sings much better than the singers on some of the crap out today like The Men's "Open Your Heart" and Japandroids' "Celebration Rock". It seems to be a bit more than parodying this time, and more of an imitation album, perhaps even an outdoing of some of the more pretentious of rock gods, but it's well produced, can be funny, and is, overall, a good album. Expand
  6. May 19, 2012
    10
    Watch the video on youtube for Tenacious D - The Roadie BEFORE listening to this album. Explanation to follow.

    Back when I first heard Tenacious D's initial album, I watched the video for tribute. It was literally banned from requests on Kerrang several times to give the other artists a chance. That was a fantastic song and the video added so much to it.

    Now with Rize of the Fenix I
    was able to download the album straight away, but it didn't have that 'context' that the video brought to the original album. After watching the video online for "The Roadie" however all that changed. I had that context and my expectations were set. I found that I immediately enjoyed the album more. There are fewer 'Great' songs than in Tenacious D (the first album) but they are there.

    I would have preferred the shorter songs to be a bit longer. They F##ked our asses feels like a wasted song which could be brilliant live. Only song I don't like was 39 and it wasn't the song, It was just because it couldn't compare to City Hall to close the album off. Making the album feel unfinished.
    Expand
  7. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    Genuinely better than most rock albums out there right now. Which says something from the face this is a parody band. They've almost contradicted themselves by being so good at parodying rock that they've actually rocked way beyond that. When I heard of a new Tenacious D album I expected it to be **** but I listened to it and learned it is not only musically good but has it's funny parts. It's more musical than it is funny, the skits are pretty bad but this is a superb album! Expand
  8. Dec 15, 2012
    9
    Superb album by the extremely gifted duo. Black's singing is more versatile and rich than ever and the guitar riffs and solos tell a real story. This album has more of a folk feel than the others. There are still some rock/metal tracks but some of the stuff reminds me of early Tom Waits or Dylan. This album is beautiful in parts and always funny.
  9. May 16, 2012
    6
    After six years of waiting, I expected something... grown. Not talking about maturity itself, but musical performance and even more riddiculous humour. Well, there it is - Rize of the Fenix has all of it, it's both more mature and "Tenacious-D-like" than its predecessor, though yet something important about the duo's craziness is missing.
    Musically, the new work is greatly produced.
    "Señorita" is one of the most successful songs ever created by Tenacious D, as it comes to composition. The whole album sounds more subdued than the previous two, but it ain't no discredit. Guitar lines are significantly marked and skills of the duo seem much better than ever before. Lyrically, it's fine. Lyrics used on Rize of the Fenix are still humorous and full of - at first sight - nonsensical content, yet they miss the diversity that band made us used to.
    When it comes to skits, listener cannot expect much. There are just two such skits on the album, and they are by the far end of the line, when it comes both to the album itself and general work on skits by the band.
    What makes Rize of the Fenix difficult to listen to again and again? After a bunch of replays, it is quickly going boring. Though well-produced and nice to the ear, it misses the energy given by the band previously, especially at the duo's first work. I recommend to become acquainted with Rize of the Fenix, but not to prepare for being rocked out of your socks.
    Expand
  10. Dec 19, 2012
    6
    "Rize of the Fenix" exhibits Tenacious D at both their worst and their best. Comeback songs like the 'Rize of the Fenix' and 'To be the Best' marks some of the finest moments on the record due to the fact that they're fun and great tracks at the same time. But then there's tracks like "39" and "Throw Down" that makes the D seem like a parody of themselves. Especially in "39" that visits a very familiar theme - there's nothing new about it. And that's not at a problem on it's own - but they have visited this theme before in a much more successful manner (Note: just see "Low Hangin' Fruit). But all in all "Rize of the Fenix" manages to become an album that flies just over okay with and interesting tribute to roadies in the perfectly named "Roadie" and a surprisingly funny sketch with "Flutes & Trombones". It's good, but I wouldn't go any further than that. Expand
  11. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Definitely the best album musically by far. The took the step from parody band to a serious rock band. Jack Black definitely screams with vocal talent and the guitar work is top notch.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Jun 7, 2012
    80
    And so, just like that, Tenacious D are back. They're funny, they're absurd and they're hotter than a phoenix. Sorry, fenix. Let's just hope we don't have to wait another six years for the next one. [May 2012, p.52]
  2. May 29, 2012
    70
    Whether regaling us with an ode to a middle-aged prostitute or outlining their plans for solar domination, they're on fine form.
  3. May 24, 2012
    60
    he best songs on Rize Of The Fenix address that real-life redemption story....Still, it's hard to ignore the fact that the joke is kind of stale.