• Record Label: Epitaph
  • Release Date: Jan 30, 2007
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RyanL
    Feb 2, 2007
    8
    It's a bit inconsistent, but the best moments are truly great and it's better than the reviews give it credit for.
  2. DamonM
    Feb 5, 2007
    9
    Surprised to see this not getting any love critically.. it took 2 listens for me, but man is this a really good disc. Never has being cynical and miserable been so much fun. Love the production.. so bright and catchy; there are hooks sticking out everywhere, the flow is fun and interesting, the lyrics are funny and smart. What else is supposed to be on a rap album? This is definitely one Surprised to see this not getting any love critically.. it took 2 listens for me, but man is this a really good disc. Never has being cynical and miserable been so much fun. Love the production.. so bright and catchy; there are hooks sticking out everywhere, the flow is fun and interesting, the lyrics are funny and smart. What else is supposed to be on a rap album? This is definitely one of my favourites of the year so far. Expand
  3. JakeB.
    Feb 16, 2007
    8
    great album, for people who enjoy creative and fast pace rap music.
  4. JamalS.
    Feb 16, 2007
    8
    Besides the track with CocoRosie, I really like this CD. It does take a while to sink in, but overall, I prefer the darker production here to the overly "sugar" production on FoaBT. Lyrically, nothing tops Fear's Reheated Pop, but it all remains interesting and relevant. It's a great debut for his new label, and I think it proves that Busdriver is so close to a break out album Besides the track with CocoRosie, I really like this CD. It does take a while to sink in, but overall, I prefer the darker production here to the overly "sugar" production on FoaBT. Lyrically, nothing tops Fear's Reheated Pop, but it all remains interesting and relevant. It's a great debut for his new label, and I think it proves that Busdriver is so close to a break out album that it isn't even funny. High 7's, rounded up. Expand
  5. Aaron*
    Mar 9, 2007
    7
    Great album. Vocally, he's the same Busdriver, but I miss Paris' production from Temporary Forever. The producers on this album are all over the place. Sometimes their efforts hit (Sunshowers, Kill Your Employer, Pompous Posies), and sometimes, they're just boring run-of-the-mill hip-hop beats.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Alternative Press
    60
    Undoubtedly his catchiest record so far. [Feb 2007, p.122]
  2. Spin
    60
    While 2005's Fear of a Black Tangent was a hilarious, merciless evisceration of rap hypocrisy from the bottom up, he's now trying to address the wider world. [Feb 2007, p.82]
  3. Urb
    90
    Strap on your seatbelt, 'cause you never been on a ride like this befo.' [Jan/Feb 2006, p.78]