Roadkill Rising - The Bootleg Collection: 1977-2009 Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The remastered four-disc set collects live recordings from several semi-authorized bootlegs of Iggy Pop concerts from around the globe over the past 20-plus years.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Shout! Factory
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Album Rock, Hard Rock, Detroit Rock, Proto-Punk
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. May 27, 2011
    Given the sometimes-dodgy, bootleg-quality sound, this set is probably not for the casual Iggy fan, but for anyone who has the albums and wants to recreate the falling-off-the-edge experience of a live concert, Roadkill Rising is a consistently strong set of performances in one handy package.
  2. May 20, 2011
    Despite that odd finale, Roadkill Rising is Pop's best career retrospective to date, and quite possibly the best we can hope for.
  3. 80
    His charmingly loony and unpredictable qualities are plenty evident over the course of these five hours of music and often unhinged patter. Sound quality varies of course, with the dodgiest not surprisingly on the late 70s tracks, but when you're dealing with this type of raw power, pristine audio is almost a detriment.
  4. Under The Radar
    May 27, 2011
    The collection is a worthy document, covering all the necessary bases, and being comprehensive without exhausting. [May 2011, p.90]
  5. Entertainment Weekly
    May 24, 2011
    These four apocalyptic discs show in-concert Iggy excels at unfettered rewrites if standards "Gloria" and "Hang On Sloppy." [27 May 2011, p.79]
  6. May 20, 2011
    The set devotes each of its four discs to performances from a specific decade, but even if you don't think Iggy has produced a front-to-back great album since 1979's New Values, Roadkill Rising is still worth your time.
  7. May 20, 2011
    The material is arranged chronologically, but beyond that, one set of tunes stumbles into another without making sense of their different sonic and musical characteristics as Iggy's backing bands (none of whom are credited) and musical approaches shift from concert to concert throughout this set, leaving Roadkill Rising in dire need of some sense of focus.

See all 11 Critic Reviews