Robyn - Robyn
Robyn Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth album for the Swedish singer was released in 2005 in her native Sweden.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Really, the most impressive thing about Robyn is just how timeless it is proving to be.
  2. Robyn defines what she's all about. Even if it took a few years to put together the label and album (and a few more to get it released everywhere), this is the pop tour de force that Robyn has always had in her.
  3. The sassy Swede gives Madge something to think about.
  4. A record to throw yourself into with the same glee Robyn clearly has.
  5. 80
    Robyn achieves the sort of pure pop perfection that her more mainstream records never did. [May 2008, p.108]
  6. Her appeal is questionable when she tries to sound like an American rapper, but on tracks where she just sings--the immaculate junk symphony of 'Be Mine,' the excellently Japanese 'Bum Like You,' the Autobahn power-ballad 'With Every Heartbeat'--she gives Europop a swift Swedish energy and presence.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 46
  2. Negative: 4 out of 46
  1. ChuckS
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    THE pop album of the year!!!!!!!
  2. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    In my opinion, Robyn defined herself with this absolutely amazing album for the very first time. With Curriculum Vitae she introduces herself (in a quite exaggerated way) and over the course of listening to the album we get to know her cheeky rapping, her sweet voice as well as some really heartbroken and calm moments she decided to share with us on this album. Special highlights on 'Robyn' are With Every Heartbeat, Crash And Burn Girl and Handle Me. Expand
  3. jorges.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Simple, the best pop album I ever listened!!
  4. AndrewH.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Absolute pop perfection. I was nearly moved to tears when I heard it. Madonna is the gold standard of pop, and Robyn is up there with Madonna's best--Robyn's "Robyn" is as flawless as Madonna's "Madonna." She might be best-described as Britney Spears meets M.I.A. Every song is like a gift--they're catchy, fun, provocative, and sound better with each listen. Not only the best album of the last few years, but one of the best pop albums in history. Expand
  5. MikeE.
    Jul 22, 2008
    10
    Fantastic Pitch!
  6. Repo
    May 3, 2008
    9
    I usually don't listen to this kind of music. But this is too good to be missed out. And you'll notice here & there she sings like Kate Bush. So fresh. Bravo. Expand
  7. SteveO
    May 31, 2008
    0
    Are you guys kidding me? the first time i think i saw her or heard of her was on letterman and she absolutely positively sucked... so either this is completely overatted, or she sucks. I think its a combination of both. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews