Rockin' The Suburbs

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Sep 11, 2001
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. But for all of its snickers, ''Suburbs'' is serious business -- a pop fantasia that seals Folds' rep as the Cole Porter of underclass underdogs.
  2. As good a record as any he's made, possibly his best.
  3. He still tinkles the ivories with dazzling skill and his scything comments on breaking-up and the emotionally inept are all too easy to identify with, yet the most enamouring thing is that he manages to do this all without being zany or patronising.
  4. Sure, it sails close to novelty record territory but Folds demonstrates exceptional skill in marrying wryly observational lyrics to upbeat piano-driven craziness.
  5. Alternative Press
    80
    Folds cracks jokes and spins incredibly sad tales with no restraint or common sense, and oddly enough, we love him for it. [Oct 2001, p.79]
  6. 80
    Like the best of BF5, it's both plaintive and punky.
  7. The new Ben Folds is a lot like the old one: as unpredictable as he is talented.
  8. Mojo
    70
    Folds' songwriting continues to impress. [Oct 2001, p.130]
  9. Shredding Paper
    70
    That dirty "sellout" feeling does go away with time, as the subtle touches and clever songwriting ease some of Folds' production changes. [#11]
  10. Spin
    70
    In many ways, this is his 'Nylon Curtain.' [Sep 2001, p.160]
  11. A worthy, but occasionally frustrating album...
  12. Folds seems to want to please everyone on the disc, making the listening experience a bit haphazard, if not a little predictable.
  13. Sometimes the humor verges on camp (the title track), or the poignance drowns in Barry Manilow-isms ("Still Fighting It"). But mostly, Folds' songcraft is a winning mixture of the plush and the prickly...
  14. Blender
    60
    When he's not being sour, Folds' flair for melody and simple, economical arrangements can create wonderful moments. [Aug/Sep 2001, p.122]
  15. Although the album is far from a failure, it rarely reaches the peak of its creator’s potential.
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. SpeedyG.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    An unbelievable album - just like songs for silverman, but still fightng it, the luckiest and fred jones are the best songs i haev ever heard.
  2. LeifS
    Jan 14, 2007
    7
    Although this album was good, I felt it wasn't to the best of Ben Fold's potential.
  3. ginaf
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    I can't believe I waited so long to buy it.