Rolling Papers

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Mar 29, 2011
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
Buy On
  1. Mar 29, 2011
    60
    On Rolling Papers, Khalifa, the 23-year-old Pittsburgh rhymer responsible for the jersey-waving hit "Black and Yellow," manages to give life to those kinds of cash-gorged perma-baked cliches by warmly luxuriating in the space between pop's fresh-faced exuberance and hip-hop's easy arrogance--between skater and playa, Bieber and Biggie.
  2. Wiz proclaims that his "life is like a movie". Maybe so, but he needs to delete some scenes.
  3. Apr 5, 2011
    50
    Like Snoop, Khalifa raps extensively, even obsessively about marijuana; unlike Snoop, Khalifa never seems to be having much fun.
  4. Mar 31, 2011
    60
    Songs like Roll Up, Hopes And Dreams and The Race best showcase his self-assured charm.
  5. Mar 29, 2011
    50
    As a whole, the verses on Rolling Papers are so boring that I'm not convinced that even Khalifa finds them interesting. They seem to exist solely to fill space between the hooks, which are sung, tolerably, by Khalifa himself
  6. Apr 5, 2011
    60
    It is that sense of self that prevails over the pop sheen of Rolling Papers and makes it worth more than a passing listen.
  7. Apr 5, 2011
    60
    After clearly finding his identity on his mixtapes, it's like he used his debut to make music for everyone but himself.
  8. With a collection of songs largely indistinguishable from one another, this album exemplifies the struggle up-and-coming rappers currently face.
  9. Mar 31, 2011
    60
    The idea of ascension, both literally and figuratively, is the album's prevailing motif, and it's the tracks that focus most intensely on this theme that are the strongest.
  10. Mar 29, 2011
    50
    Most people will want Wiz to succeed, as he does successfully come across as likeable personality, and even Rick Ross has displayed a genuine hunger to improve, so anything is possible. But this album is, put simply, one that won't make much of an impression, good or bad. And that's the worst kind.
  11. Mar 28, 2011
    60
    Hardcore Taylor Gang fans will be happy to add this to their collection, but if you're expecting another round of Kush x OJ, this album will probably disappoint you.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 22
  2. Negative: 11 out of 22
  1. Dec 25, 2011
    1
    Tasteless garbage like most hip hop/Rap music is that literally talks about gang life, weed, and other stupid stuff. I honestly don't know whyTasteless garbage like most hip hop/Rap music is that literally talks about gang life, weed, and other stupid stuff. I honestly don't know why this trash is so popular these days we really need rock to be on top of the genres like back in the day. Full Review »
  2. May 16, 2011
    10
    this dude is absolutely amazing. yea his music is all about weed but there is nothing greater than an underground rapper coming into the lightthis dude is absolutely amazing. yea his music is all about weed but there is nothing greater than an underground rapper coming into the light and still being the same...dope. enough said Full Review »
  3. Mar 11, 2015
    7
    This album is alright. I was expecting Wiz to do better, but there are a few good songs on here. I wouldn't buy the album though. I feel likeThis album is alright. I was expecting Wiz to do better, but there are a few good songs on here. I wouldn't buy the album though. I feel like Wiz is more of a mix tape artist though, he should stick to those. Full Review »