Rolling Papers

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Mar 29, 2011
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 70
  2. Negative: 22 out of 70
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NJR
    Mar 29, 2011
    6
    First of all, let's please not all act as if we were expecting anything more than mainstream, radio, club sh*t because we weren't, right from the second he dropped Black & Yellow, we knew the score. Anyway, I would give the album 6.5 personally but 7 seemed too high for me so I rounded down. Lyricism for the most part was very predictable and mediocre, production very much the same story,First of all, let's please not all act as if we were expecting anything more than mainstream, radio, club sh*t because we weren't, right from the second he dropped Black & Yellow, we knew the score. Anyway, I would give the album 6.5 personally but 7 seemed too high for me so I rounded down. Lyricism for the most part was very predictable and mediocre, production very much the same story, although I loved the Rooftops and The Race's beats, classic Wiz. It's kind of sad that the highlight of the album for me was the one Curren$y verse, anyone else remember the days when those two were considered equals? Ha! How things change. Anywho, the biggest positive of this LP for me is the fact that it succeeds in doing what it set out to, be extremely accessible to the mainstream and to be honest, I would rather hear this on the radio 24/7 rather than Ke$ha or Pitbull or David Guetta. Overall an ok album, no better or worse than the majority of mainstream Hip Hop, seriously lacking substance but c'mon, if you're looking for substance then you really shouldn't be listening to an album called ROLLING PAPERS.... Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    6
    Not the raw, rapping wiz khalifa I wanted but I still respect and enjoy this album. I've seen him twice in concert since the release of this and I have more respect for the songs. I would probably give Kush and OJ a 8/10 and Rolling Papers just isn't as good.
  3. Mar 29, 2011
    5
    Neat, catchy, and well put together hooks and exceptionally good beat selection made the greater bulk of this album. Wiz Khalifa isn't a terrible rapper. His flow and delivery are very decent. Lyrically, he needs to tighten up. He has punchlines, ideas, and concepts all around, but he needs to sharpen and develop a more solid, constant method of bringing them out.
  4. Nov 3, 2012
    5
    what ever happend to the kid who made kush and o.j, cabin fever, flight school and prince of the city??? just pure crap, wiz is becoming famous for this crap... dis **** should go get his **** together and start back makin good music again... he really disappointed me, i still love this guy but plz start back makin those dope songs over those dope beats mah ****
  5. Jul 5, 2011
    4
    Is there any song more annoying than "Roll Up"? The correct answer is no. Unfortunately, that isn't the lowest point here, and the best songs sound like filler material for better albums. As far as mainstream missteps go, "Lasers" is better.
  6. Jun 30, 2011
    4
    This is an okay debut from Wiz sure to please many stoners as they form around the bong or wait patiently while the J's and blunts are rolled. There are some nice beats and interesting ideas that needed more time to manifest fully but the lyrics are mediocre at best and there seems to be no progression from Kush and Orange Juice.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    70
    After Rolling Papers Wiz' fan base should expand significantly, as should the number of rap purists angry about his lack of rhyme skills, but complaining about his "rap" skills completely misses the point.
  2. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    If this is what we get - because this is what enough of us apparently want - the end of the music business cannot come soon enough.
  3. 80
    Rolling Papers may be Wiz Khalifa's studio debut and his breakthrough record, but as far as mainstream rap goes, it's far from it.