• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Rolling Papers Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut from the Pittsburgh rapper features the biggest-selling hip-hop single of 2010, Black and Yellow--a track that became the unofficial anthem for the Steelers in Super Bowl XLV.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    83
    In the end, the high points here are more than compelling enough to warrant repeated spins, and the weak spots are simply forgettable, not unlistenable.
  2. Mar 25, 2011
    80
    Thoughtful rap that deserves mainstream attention.
  3. Apr 8, 2011
    72
    Call it mood music for the mindless.
  4. Mar 28, 2011
    60
    Hardcore Taylor Gang fans will be happy to add this to their collection, but if you're expecting another round of Kush x OJ, this album will probably disappoint you.
  5. Mar 31, 2011
    60
    Songs like Roll Up, Hopes And Dreams and The Race best showcase his self-assured charm.
  6. Mar 29, 2011
    50
    Most people will want Wiz to succeed, as he does successfully come across as likeable personality, and even Rick Ross has displayed a genuine hunger to improve, so anything is possible. But this album is, put simply, one that won't make much of an impression, good or bad. And that's the worst kind.
  7. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    If this is what we get - because this is what enough of us apparently want - the end of the music business cannot come soon enough.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 23
  2. Negative: 11 out of 23
  1. May 16, 2011
    10
    this dude is absolutely amazing. yea his music is all about weed but there is nothing greater than an underground rapper coming into the lightthis dude is absolutely amazing. yea his music is all about weed but there is nothing greater than an underground rapper coming into the light and still being the same...dope. enough said Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A return to the quiet rock.

    The year started well rock'n roll, with Arcade Fire dominating the Grammy, and the Foo Fighters made â
    Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2015
    7
    This album is alright. I was expecting Wiz to do better, but there are a few good songs on here. I wouldn't buy the album though. I feel likeThis album is alright. I was expecting Wiz to do better, but there are a few good songs on here. I wouldn't buy the album though. I feel like Wiz is more of a mix tape artist though, he should stick to those. Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2011
    4
    This is an okay debut from Wiz sure to please many stoners as they form around the bong or wait patiently while the J's and blunts are rolled.This is an okay debut from Wiz sure to please many stoners as they form around the bong or wait patiently while the J's and blunts are rolled. There are some nice beats and interesting ideas that needed more time to manifest fully but the lyrics are mediocre at best and there seems to be no progression from Kush and Orange Juice. Expand
  5. Mar 25, 2012
    3
    Kush and OJ is a great tape and I made the mistake of expecting more or less the same thing when I listened to this. But, wow, this is aKush and OJ is a great tape and I made the mistake of expecting more or less the same thing when I listened to this. But, wow, this is a perfect example of mainstream garbage. Expand
  6. Sep 2, 2011
    3
    I use to be a huge Wiz Khalifa fan until this album. The album is very disappointing. Wiz is known for his good mixtapes and his PittsburghI use to be a huge Wiz Khalifa fan until this album. The album is very disappointing. Wiz is known for his good mixtapes and his Pittsburgh swag. In this album it was terrible lyrics, ok beats but mediocre production. Wiz Khalifa went too commercial on this album an let fans like myself down. Worth downloading but not worth buying at all. Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2012
    0
    This **** Is So **** Wack. He's On some drug **** he's been smoking weed or crack on this album. wiz khalifa is so **** gay his lyrics areThis **** Is So **** Wack. He's On some drug **** he's been smoking weed or crack on this album. wiz khalifa is so **** gay his lyrics are just overrated and the production. the hooks are ****g stupid. Along with lil wayne and drake and waka flocka, he's "THE HIP-HOP KILLER" so ****g wack dumb and ****g ugly. **** this **** ass mother****er's music. **** HIM Expand

See all 23 User Reviews