Room On Fire - The Strokes
Room On Fire Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 213 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This eagerly-awaited second LP for the heralded/hyped New York five-piece was produced by Gordon Raphael (who also produced their debut 'Is This It?') after aborted sessions working with Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Pretty much everything a second album needs to be, it's like Is This It but more emotional, more colourful, slightly better. [Nov 2003, p.102]
  2. There's so much more musical depth on Room on Fire, that it makes most of the band's earlier songs sound stale in comparison.
  3. ‘Room On Fire’ is a refining and tinkering with The Strokes sound, a carefully calibrated attempt not to fuck up too early in the face of untold temptations. The results are still sleek, sexy and thrilling, with a tantalising promise of even better to come.
  4. In the face of hysterical expectation, the Strokes have resisted the temptation to hit the brakes, grow up and screw around with a sound that doesn't need fixing -- yet.
  5. Room on Fire is the sound of a tighter, more focused band.
  6. 70
    The Strokes come across as a world-sized band that's tethering itself.... Nonetheless, this record is good. [Nov 2003, p.124]
  7. There's little of the pop sparkle that shone through the likes of 'The Modern Age' and 'Last Nite' even when - as with 'You Talk Way Too Much' - they're rewriting old material, and Julian's vocals are, to be blunt, awful, sounding uncomfortable to record and rather complacently nasal.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 114
  2. Negative: 11 out of 114
  1. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    7 years out and I'm going to write a review, just to bump this albums rating up. It's solid all the way through, Meet Me In The Bathroom is7 years out and I'm going to write a review, just to bump this albums rating up. It's solid all the way through, Meet Me In The Bathroom is the only weak song, but the other 10 are all perfect in my mind. Just let some of them grow on you and you'll have this album as one of your new favourites. Expand
  2. BrendenR
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    This album kicks it man. better than the first. all the way.
  3. TawneeW
    May 10, 2005
    10
    I love the strokes and I really love both their Albums and I cant wait til the next one!!!!!
  4. JosephS
    Oct 26, 2003
    9
    it's terrific, as good as is this it? these pro reviewers can't make up their mind but the one dude rating it a 20 is on crack. no it's terrific, as good as is this it? these pro reviewers can't make up their mind but the one dude rating it a 20 is on crack. no doubt it's one of the best rock cds of the year. Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    Full of great tracks this is a really excellent album that hasn't really received the credit it deserves. If you haven't listened to it for aFull of great tracks this is a really excellent album that hasn't really received the credit it deserves. If you haven't listened to it for a while give it another shot as there as some great tracks on it and very little filler. Expand
  6. BenJ
    Oct 27, 2003
    8
    I was actually pretty unimpressed on the first few spins - the vocals were too low and the mix muddy, but eventually those melodies and hooks I was actually pretty unimpressed on the first few spins - the vocals were too low and the mix muddy, but eventually those melodies and hooks poked through! It's a great album - not immediate, but time pays off! Expand
  7. jd
    Oct 25, 2003
    0
    Any hyped-up flash in the pan.

See all 114 User Reviews