Room On Fire

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Room On Fire Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 257 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This eagerly-awaited second LP for the heralded/hyped New York five-piece was produced by Gordon Raphael (who also produced their debut 'Is This It?') after aborted sessions working with Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich.

Top Track

Reptilia
He seemed impressed by the way you came in, "Tell us a story I know you're not boring" I was afraid that you would not insist. "You sound so... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Q Magazine
    100
    Pretty much everything a second album needs to be, it's like Is This It but more emotional, more colourful, slightly better. [Nov 2003, p.102]
  2. Alternative Press
    90
    Better than its predecessor. [Dec 2003, p.150]
  3. ‘Room On Fire’ is a refining and tinkering with The Strokes sound, a carefully calibrated attempt not to fuck up too early in the face of untold temptations. The results are still sleek, sexy and thrilling, with a tantalising promise of even better to come.
  4. Great, better even than the last.
  5. Room on Fire is the sound of a tighter, more focused band.
  6. Mojo
    70
    The Strokes come across as a world-sized band that's tethering itself.... Nonetheless, this record is good. [Nov 2003, p.124]
  7. There's little of the pop sparkle that shone through the likes of 'The Modern Age' and 'Last Nite' even when - as with 'You Talk Way Too Much' - they're rewriting old material, and Julian's vocals are, to be blunt, awful, sounding uncomfortable to record and rather complacently nasal.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 115
  2. Negative: 10 out of 115
  1. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    7 years out and I'm going to write a review, just to bump this albums rating up. It's solid all the way through, Meet Me In The Bathroom is7 years out and I'm going to write a review, just to bump this albums rating up. It's solid all the way through, Meet Me In The Bathroom is the only weak song, but the other 10 are all perfect in my mind. Just let some of them grow on you and you'll have this album as one of your new favourites. Expand
  2. ShintoI
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    This record is incredibly valuable. Its a cd containing a party. I listen to it incredibly loud in my car alone and driving and have a party This record is incredibly valuable. Its a cd containing a party. I listen to it incredibly loud in my car alone and driving and have a party in my car. I believe thats why the band made this record, and I can't think of ANY rock record in history that can do it better. "Is This It" was a great rock record, but this is an incredible party record and shows me that the band is becoming more innovative and exciting as artists. "Reptilia" gets Television on the guitar sequences and "12:51", "Automatic Stop", and "The End Has No End" sound futuristic with the keyboard spaceship sounds. And, of course, "Meet Me in the Bathroom" and "B/Love/Hate" is pure rock shimmy that is undeniable. A must have rock record and party pill for those static times. Expand
  3. JerichoC
    Sep 30, 2005
    10
    honestly, you guys seem to think too hard. The strokes' kind of music isn't the arpeggiated sort that unearth, childrne of bodom honestly, you guys seem to think too hard. The strokes' kind of music isn't the arpeggiated sort that unearth, childrne of bodom and celtic frost have. they're a different sort of music so open your friggin' eyes to that! furthermore, their songs may become trite but to some people, it hasn't happened yet. Their albums are as much works of art as the cover of Room on Fire. Julian Casablancas' singing is what truly separates them amongst the current post-punk crowd...have you heard U2 or Bloc Party sing through a megaphone? no that's because they have something [The Strokes] call "originality." Expand
  4. ZeeshaanB
    Nov 17, 2003
    9
    This album is excellent. The Strokes really know how to create good indie rock. It is catchy and fun.
  5. Apr 14, 2017
    9
    Room on Fire is an amazing sequel album. It continues with the raw energy and beautiful melodies and lyrics that Is This It had, but expandsRoom on Fire is an amazing sequel album. It continues with the raw energy and beautiful melodies and lyrics that Is This It had, but expands them with a bigger kick. It's a great sounding album with tons of powerful tunes. Expand
  6. nickW
    Nov 3, 2003
    8
    Its a grower-first few listens, hated it-then like all 'good' albums just clicked.
  7. jd
    Oct 25, 2003
    0
    Any hyped-up flash in the pan.

See all 115 User Reviews