• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Room On Fire Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 263 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This eagerly-awaited second LP for the heralded/hyped New York five-piece was produced by Gordon Raphael (who also produced their debut 'Is This It?') after aborted sessions working with Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Q Magazine
    100
    Pretty much everything a second album needs to be, it's like Is This It but more emotional, more colourful, slightly better. [Nov 2003, p.102]
  2. Alternative Press
    90
    Better than its predecessor. [Dec 2003, p.150]
  3. ‘Room On Fire’ is a refining and tinkering with The Strokes sound, a carefully calibrated attempt not to fuck up too early in the face of untold temptations. The results are still sleek, sexy and thrilling, with a tantalising promise of even better to come.
  4. Great, better even than the last.
  5. Room on Fire is the sound of a tighter, more focused band.
  6. Mojo
    70
    The Strokes come across as a world-sized band that's tethering itself.... Nonetheless, this record is good. [Nov 2003, p.124]
  7. There's little of the pop sparkle that shone through the likes of 'The Modern Age' and 'Last Nite' even when - as with 'You Talk Way Too Much' - they're rewriting old material, and Julian's vocals are, to be blunt, awful, sounding uncomfortable to record and rather complacently nasal.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 115
  2. Negative: 10 out of 115
  1. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    7 years out and I'm going to write a review, just to bump this albums rating up. It's solid all the way through, Meet Me In The Bathroom is7 years out and I'm going to write a review, just to bump this albums rating up. It's solid all the way through, Meet Me In The Bathroom is the only weak song, but the other 10 are all perfect in my mind. Just let some of them grow on you and you'll have this album as one of your new favourites. Expand
  2. BrendenR
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    This album kicks it man. better than the first. all the way.
  3. TawneeW
    May 10, 2005
    10
    I love the strokes and I really love both their Albums and I cant wait til the next one!!!!!
  4. ZeeshaanB
    Nov 17, 2003
    9
    This album is excellent. The Strokes really know how to create good indie rock. It is catchy and fun.
  5. Apr 14, 2017
    9
    Room on Fire is an amazing sequel album. It continues with the raw energy and beautiful melodies and lyrics that Is This It had, but expandsRoom on Fire is an amazing sequel album. It continues with the raw energy and beautiful melodies and lyrics that Is This It had, but expands them with a bigger kick. It's a great sounding album with tons of powerful tunes. Expand
  6. nickW
    Nov 3, 2003
    8
    Its a grower-first few listens, hated it-then like all 'good' albums just clicked.
  7. jd
    Oct 25, 2003
    0
    Any hyped-up flash in the pan.

See all 115 User Reviews