User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 71
  2. Negative: 15 out of 71

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TylerD
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    The best album of his career.
  2. SpinCycle
    Jan 7, 2007
    2
    Despite the best efforts of the producers, you just cantt polish a turd. It sounds like a contractual obligation to the record co. They should be asking for some of the big money they gave him as part of his contract back.
  3. justine
    Nov 6, 2006
    4
    This is the end... although I hope I'm wrong
  4. RobC
    Oct 27, 2006
    3
    He can sing rock, he can sing swing, but now... He's out of ideas.
  5. TimK
    Oct 29, 2006
    1
    I am astounded that something as bad as this even passes for music these days. Robbie Williams should know better by this stage in his career. A disgrace upon the very medium of pop music.
  6. JK
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    That were crap...
  7. DaveH
    Nov 9, 2006
    1
    One word... ..Retire
  8. DaveN
    Oct 29, 2006
    1
    a credible artist wouldn't release this. the lyrics are an embarrassment throughout. this is an 'experiment which has failed miserably. i give all albums a chance but this one doesn't have one redeeming feature at all. one of the worst albums i've ever heard. his 'rapping' is so bad that it isn't even funny...just plain embarrassing really. i'll a credible artist wouldn't release this. the lyrics are an embarrassment throughout. this is an 'experiment which has failed miserably. i give all albums a chance but this one doesn't have one redeeming feature at all. one of the worst albums i've ever heard. his 'rapping' is so bad that it isn't even funny...just plain embarrassing really. i'll give a one as it must have taken some effort to make something so terrible. Expand
  9. paulb
    Oct 29, 2006
    3
    His poorest album yet with no real direction or thought, lost in a world of showbiz
  10. DeclanM
    Jan 17, 2007
    0
    absolute crap pure and simple this guy is a muppet
  11. ansaris
    Jan 27, 2007
    10
    this is one of his albums with varied songs and styles...nice songs..and most played by me this year
  12. MikeW
    Feb 11, 2007
    0
    I would think the 10s in these reviews are by record co execs. This album is a piece of steaming turd... and with the resources available to Robbie, this album is a disgrace.
  13. OlofR
    Nov 23, 2006
    2
    One of the worst albums I have ever heard. How can you people give it a 10? You must be the biggest Robbie fans ever or be deaf to give this steaming pile of 'rap a score like that. A 10 indicates it's basicly the best you ever have heard. Get some neuance into your list of personality traits. Jesus christ.
  14. Oct 30, 2010
    5
    This album is good, but I don't really limke the rap tracks. They just sound... strange. Id buy the tracks Rudebox, Lovelight, The Actor and Good Doctor (the only decent rap track).
  15. LRoss
    Nov 4, 2006
    9
    Great Album, really funny, really easy to listen to. One of his best Albums yet
  16. JohnB
    Oct 27, 2006
    9
    This is a fantastic album, in many ways much accessible and enjoybale than his last two despite the raw explicitness of his lyrics. This is infectious fun. It boggles the mind that the serious music press doesn't "get" this album.
  17. JamesC
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    It's probably the best album. It's catchy, inteligent and it's fun!
  18. KILLAH
    Feb 6, 2007
    8
    Excepting the last 3 tracks, this is one dope album. Very hip. Some of Rob's rapping is a tad bizarre ('think with my dingaling') but it's the same quality that accounts for moments like 'use my cuts and lacerations, feed myself a new sensation'. This guy is an artist. I'm sure the Vegas shows are gonna be sick!
  19. TG
    May 7, 2007
    8
    A great throwback album - it's fun, energetic and never takes itself too seriously. Rudebox is pure popcorn fun and I don't think there's anything wrong with that. The first half of the album is stronger and the schtick starts getting a bit old toward the end of the album, but a solidly strong and enjoyable record.
  20. MarianneW
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    Rudebox is one of the best (maybe the best) Robbie Williams album ever. Rudebox is an album you need to listen to more than once to get the songs, (as with all good albums) because you can get a bit surprised at first. The album is a mix of beautiful ballads, hiphop, soul, disco, rap and countrystyle. You can hear that he really likes what he is doing and that makes the album hugely Rudebox is one of the best (maybe the best) Robbie Williams album ever. Rudebox is an album you need to listen to more than once to get the songs, (as with all good albums) because you can get a bit surprised at first. The album is a mix of beautiful ballads, hiphop, soul, disco, rap and countrystyle. You can hear that he really likes what he is doing and that makes the album hugely likeable. The great song She´s Madonna is going to be a hit and there are several more. He sings with emotion in the beautiful songs Summertime, The 80s, The 90s and Burslem normals. Viva life on Mars are catchy, just like Keep on and Good doctor. The actor is also a great tune. He raps in his own way (there is actually no rulebook of how to rap) and he does it well, he talks, sing-talks and sings. As always the lyrics are personal poetry. He has also covered songs that have meant very much to him in his youth and he does it very good. So respect to Robbie Williams for taking this step and it´s amazing how good it all has come out. I can highly recommend this album. It has it all and there´s never a dull moment. You can listen to it many times and never get bored because of the beautiful mix of styles. Expand
  21. Wander
    Nov 13, 2006
    6
    Just like every Robbie album, some very good songs and some fodder. He sounds like he dont gives a f%^& about his superstar status. That is good, not trying to make the umteenth angels clone (adverising space, anyone?) but doing what he likes.
  22. TessH
    Nov 5, 2006
    10
    Brilliant Album - great range of tracks - highlights - The Actor / 80's & 90's
  23. alexa
    Oct 31, 2006
    10
    Amazing album - why else would it get to number 1?
  24. FrankD
    Oct 30, 2006
    8
    I am no Robbie fan at all. But this is the first album I like. Seems to me that the serius music press took it to "serious". Respect!
  25. THayes
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    Best Album to date - gets better with every listen - no skipping tracks here
  26. RobertaS
    Jan 23, 2007
    8
    It´s not a 10, but it´s creative! With all the copies we´ve been seing, it´s at least that. It´s clearly Robbie´s lyrics in a 80´s kind of way, but yet has notihng to do with the 80´s sounds!!!It´s modern and fashion...great!!!
  27. BenK
    May 11, 2007
    6
    This CD is...interesting. It's not Robbie's best effort - it certainly contains flaws. But there are some amazing songs like the Pet Shop Boys collaborations. It's a little odd for him to go from faux-rock to electro/dance music. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't...
  28. jimw
    Nov 23, 2006
    7
    definitely not Robbie's best album, I would say half of the songs are excellent (first 5, last 4) but the rest feels a bit "unfinished".
  29. SinishaS
    Nov 26, 2006
    4
    i've followed robbie's career since the beginning and i really like his work and himself as a person but i have to admit that rudebox is pretty lame
  30. ToddJ
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    Another modern day classic pop album by Robbie. Like all other masterpieces of the 21st century, it is both innovative and orginal. Reminiscent of Loveless, OK Computer, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. In many years to come people will look apon this album as a brilliant slice of art from 2006. 10/10
  31. NitramG
    Dec 11, 2006
    8
    I am in no way a Robbie Williams fan, but I found this album to be funny and adventurous in a way few albums have been this year, rudebox and lovelight are excellent tracks and I think williams is to be admired for not just repeating the formula his fans tend to lap up.One of my top 20 albums this year which surprised the hell out of me, and one of the most played.
  32. ChrisW
    Dec 25, 2006
    10
    Another smah hit CD. Keep em' coming Robbie!
  33. Apr 18, 2016
    2
    A sad portrait of an established pop star from the 90s who is so far up his own arse that he doesn't care what rubbish comes out of his mouth to get paid. Painfully awkward rapping and stupid concepts. The title track is perhaps the biggest stinker. What was he thinking? Why would you consider rapping about T.K. Maxx costing less and Jacksons being a mess a good idea?
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Billboard
    40
    Things hover uneasily somewhere between wholesale reinvention and mere superstar vanity project. [28 Oct 2006]
  2. All too often Rudebox plays like an undeveloped collection of half-baked ideas.
  3. 'Rudebox' is not 'Robbie Williams the serious artiste', but it is an amazing pop album.