Saint Dymphna

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 5 out of 55

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SDK
    Oct 22, 2008
    9
    This is a POP record people! More importantly, this is the culmination of what these peeps have been striving to release for some time (me thinks) - overall, GGD have successfully honed in on their vibe and style -- can't wait to hear what could be next!
  2. Gman
    Oct 28, 2008
    9
    The album of year of the year without a shadow of a doubt. The average score would be higher if it hadn't been dragged down by the review on Phoenix. If you actually check their website it's a score of 3 out of 4 NOT 3 out of 10, so it should be 75% not 30%.
  3. Rob
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    An exhilarating listen from start to finish. GGD are at the top of their game and I can't wait to see what they do next. AlsoI, I'm pretty sure The Phoenix review gave the album a score of 75, not 30. On the site, it appears to be 3 out of four stars.
  4. DanS.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    Another fantastic offering from GGD, following through on the high expectations built up after God's Money and with promising in between projects like the Rawwar EP. More people should really give this band a listen. They offer a rare combination of sounding like no one else while also producing music that is so much better and more interesting than what the novel concept of Another fantastic offering from GGD, following through on the high expectations built up after God's Money and with promising in between projects like the Rawwar EP. More people should really give this band a listen. They offer a rare combination of sounding like no one else while also producing music that is so much better and more interesting than what the novel concept of "originality" in criticism usually allows. Expand
  5. TroyD.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    My favorite album so far this year (better than "Third"), this is GGD finally releasing the huge disco beast they've held caged and writhing for years. A culmination of all their stylist collaging and (d)evolution. This is the most future-sounding album since "Kala" just last year.
  6. MattA.
    Oct 28, 2008
    9
    Please, dear God, fix that 30 from the Phoenix right now (it should be a 75). One of the best albums of the year.
  7. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Hear us, O God, Our Savior, as we honor St. Dymphna, patron of those afflicted with mental and emotional illness. Help us to be inspired by her example and comforted by her merciful help. Amen. I wonder whether Gang Gang Dance prayed to Saint Dymphna during the recording of their brilliant album number 4. It is named after an Irish girl who was supposedly killed by her own father for herHear us, O God, Our Savior, as we honor St. Dymphna, patron of those afflicted with mental and emotional illness. Help us to be inspired by her example and comforted by her merciful help. Amen. I wonder whether Gang Gang Dance prayed to Saint Dymphna during the recording of their brilliant album number 4. It is named after an Irish girl who was supposedly killed by her own father for her refusal to marry him after her motherâ Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. May 9, 2011
    80
    It's their best and most accessible work to date, while somehow not sacrificing any artistic credence.
  2. It's easily their most fully realized project to date and rather than simply a pastiche, they've managed to create something that's completely their own.
  3. 80
    GGD’s career has been a gradual climb out of primordial noise muck and toward beats, and album four is their most propulsive.