User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 179 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 179
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    With the return of the Mac, DeMarco's mellow and laidback delivery over instrumentals- such as the many guitar driven ones, is interesting and becoming one of the most significant and lovely signatures to surface within music lately.
    The follow-up project is more accessible, warm but the weird out-put of his John Lennon-esque character is still on play with hazy vocals and lyrics. And so
    With the return of the Mac, DeMarco's mellow and laidback delivery over instrumentals- such as the many guitar driven ones, is interesting and becoming one of the most significant and lovely signatures to surface within music lately.
    The follow-up project is more accessible, warm but the weird out-put of his John Lennon-esque character is still on play with hazy vocals and lyrics. And so in fact, the songwriting is the much improved, while musically the sophomore is a lot in line with it's predecessor. Lazy, sad, yet friendly and cartoonish-ly off kilter. "Salad Days" might not be his concept record, (just a odd man maturing from love) though what I as a listener got out from this, is a conceptual based album- especially strong at the stretch from "Let Her Go" to "Treat Her Better", that on the ears and paper is a fantastic set of storytelling. It is a beautiful piece off of an album with highlights of being catchy and serving deeper moments of self-deprecating mockery and loneliness. Seen on videos, DeMarco may be a little loose, un-predictable and too stoned for the best as the music he composes, but laying beneath is a self aware, genuine and tuneful aura- like the guy he is himself.

    "Salad Days" is a great Soft rock album with sweet and fun melodies, performing sharp writings and just spreading an infectious vibe.
    Note- the perfect summer record.
    Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2014
    9
    Mac has hit his stride. He has a unique ability to make quirky, weird, and off kilter pop songs that still have meaning to it. The message in a lot of these tracks are pretty meaningful with Mack coming off as a dude that seems wise beyond his years. This album is the best one this year thus far without a doubt. Taking what some people may call pop cliche's and making them sound fresh.
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    9
    Mac DeMarco is a name that has been floating around the blogosphere for quite awhile now. Though the name isn't as resounding in comparison to other hipster faves, the amount of hype is fairly conspicuous as generated by his impressive early works. Predictably, everyone is anticipating for a full album and DeMarco wasted no time in serving Salad Days; hands down the best album of 2014'sMac DeMarco is a name that has been floating around the blogosphere for quite awhile now. Though the name isn't as resounding in comparison to other hipster faves, the amount of hype is fairly conspicuous as generated by his impressive early works. Predictably, everyone is anticipating for a full album and DeMarco wasted no time in serving Salad Days; hands down the best album of 2014's first quarter. Carefully streamlined, effortlesly fitting in between the mainstream and the indie, Salad Days is a mixture of carefree and catchy tracks with Lennon-esque sensibilities. Basically, it's an album for everyone and we could already foresee a huge cult following.

    Listen : Salad Days, Let My Baby Stay, Chamber of Reflection
    Expand
  4. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    Mac DeMarco is a master at making each instrument work together as one, flowing in perfect harmony. His music truly captivates you, making it so easy to get lost in and just enjoy. He seems very wise for a man only 23 years old, writing songs that are so deep and beautiful but so friendly at the same time, so much so that I feel like Mac is an old friend of mine even though I've never metMac DeMarco is a master at making each instrument work together as one, flowing in perfect harmony. His music truly captivates you, making it so easy to get lost in and just enjoy. He seems very wise for a man only 23 years old, writing songs that are so deep and beautiful but so friendly at the same time, so much so that I feel like Mac is an old friend of mine even though I've never met him. For me, Salad Days is album of the year for 2014 so far. The album feels timeless. Mac DeMarco is definitely a man to watch. Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2014
    9
    This is some of the best music to be released in 2014 so far. And the lyrics are just as beautiful. Perhaps my only complaint is that it doesn't have a track like "My Kind of Woman", my favorite track from his previous album.

    That's not saying that this doesn't have remarkable songs. It does. Ones like "Let My Baby Stay", "Passing Out Pieces", and "Chamber of Reflection" are quite
    This is some of the best music to be released in 2014 so far. And the lyrics are just as beautiful. Perhaps my only complaint is that it doesn't have a track like "My Kind of Woman", my favorite track from his previous album.

    That's not saying that this doesn't have remarkable songs. It does. Ones like "Let My Baby Stay", "Passing Out Pieces", and "Chamber of Reflection" are quite great, and i'll probably still be hearing them (and the whole album) for quite some time.
    Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2014
    9
    The sound is unique to Mac and he delivers once more with this follow-up to his 2012 hit "2". Mac brings back his unique sound but offers more insight and thought in his lyrics. Definitely worth a listen or two.
  7. Apr 11, 2014
    9
    I never heard about Marc DeMarco before this album, but i wish i knew him earlier.
    Salad days is a nice album, you can listen too if you just want to kick back and relax, or if you want to listen to music with pretty deep lyrics.
    Even though i am not too 'Pop' this album is a lot more than that. This is definitely one of the better albums i heard this year. And i discovered a great
    I never heard about Marc DeMarco before this album, but i wish i knew him earlier.
    Salad days is a nice album, you can listen too if you just want to kick back and relax, or if you want to listen to music with pretty deep lyrics.

    Even though i am not too 'Pop' this album is a lot more than that.
    This is definitely one of the better albums i heard this year. And i discovered a great new artist!
    Expand
  8. Aug 10, 2015
    10
    Salad Days ayyy. At first, i was rather mixed about this album, it didn't quite feel as spectacular as i had been told. But after a 3rd proper listen I now understand the charm of Mac DeMarco. He crafts this very interesting experimental bluesy vibe throughout the record, with these very clean LoFi guitar rifts and his hazy vocals and lyrics he really manages, in my opinion, to capture theSalad Days ayyy. At first, i was rather mixed about this album, it didn't quite feel as spectacular as i had been told. But after a 3rd proper listen I now understand the charm of Mac DeMarco. He crafts this very interesting experimental bluesy vibe throughout the record, with these very clean LoFi guitar rifts and his hazy vocals and lyrics he really manages, in my opinion, to capture the listeners attention by creating a very soft bluesy psychedelic vibe that very much stands out and stays present throughout this 23 minute LoFi production. Mac Demarco's Salad Days is very charming and definitely something worth picking up, or streaming. Expand
  9. May 5, 2014
    7
    This album is basically part of his previous album, 2. So part of part 2 lol. It sounds similar and is probably coming from the same emotional place. But overall this is probably his best work so far. Really enjoying the guitar tones here. Simple songs, but they work. I'm not sure i am excited for his collaboration with Tyler the Creator though, but it''ll be interesting nonetheless.
  10. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    Mac paints something gorgeous here, the entire record is fresh. The album starts off with the title track and you know Mac has put a lot of care into his sound.
  11. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    Something beautiful. Mac wonderfully put me in the spring that came, though very well (in my opinion) would be good to listen to this album in a different time of year. The sounds are amazing, perfectly formed one melody and the voice of Mac ... Great spent 35 minutes with this CD.
  12. Apr 1, 2014
    8
    Serenity is the point of the new Mac disk DeMarco. The elaborate guitar riffs and tropical style present on the previous disk "2" become now, more melancholic and soft at Salad Days, an album that demonstrates how the musician manages to engage the listener to a beautiful work and simple compositions, even though it looks a bit like the same line of melodies and loudness of the previousSerenity is the point of the new Mac disk DeMarco. The elaborate guitar riffs and tropical style present on the previous disk "2" become now, more melancholic and soft at Salad Days, an album that demonstrates how the musician manages to engage the listener to a beautiful work and simple compositions, even though it looks a bit like the same line of melodies and loudness of the previous disc, in Salad Days, the musician gives the public the purity and softness in the strings of his guitar. Expand
  13. Apr 18, 2014
    10
    Mac Demarco only makes perfect songs. The sad thing is, hardly anyone realises it and his career will most likely be short-lived because of this. Salad Days is beautiful and perfect, every song has a purpose and the whole album is perfect 10/10
  14. Apr 7, 2014
    9
    Really though, Mac does a killer job at making hauntingly beautiful pop songs. He continues to improve and expand his sound. His influences are proudly worn on his sleeve, and it's quite obvious who they are at times; legends like Lou Reed and Bob Dylan to name a few easy picks. But nonetheless, it's his way of bringing all of these ideas to the present, and then pushing them towards theReally though, Mac does a killer job at making hauntingly beautiful pop songs. He continues to improve and expand his sound. His influences are proudly worn on his sleeve, and it's quite obvious who they are at times; legends like Lou Reed and Bob Dylan to name a few easy picks. But nonetheless, it's his way of bringing all of these ideas to the present, and then pushing them towards the future. His guitar sometimes sounds like its on it's last run, fairly out of tune, and I dig it so much. So wrong, yet so perfect for him and the aesthetics he reaches for. Salad Days comes and goes pretty quickly at first listen, because each track does a great job at complimenting the ones before, and after it. This album not only stakes a strong claim for Mac's best record to date, but also a spot for best record of this year, so far. I think it might be fair to say that indie-rock's newest champion will be here for the long-run. By the look of his progression as a songwriter, he'll end up being one of the more acclaimed artists of this generation. And I sure as hell won't have any reason to disagree. REALLY. Expand
  15. Jan 10, 2015
    9
    Mac enters his mid-life crisis at 25 to immensely interesting results. On "Salad Days" Mac dials back the rock n' roller aspects of his persona and shows us an immensely nihilistic and strikingly depressing version of his own goofy demeanor. The compositions are trademark Mac, though as stated before the rock n' rolliness of "2" is dialed back to create a much more somber demeanor;Mac enters his mid-life crisis at 25 to immensely interesting results. On "Salad Days" Mac dials back the rock n' roller aspects of his persona and shows us an immensely nihilistic and strikingly depressing version of his own goofy demeanor. The compositions are trademark Mac, though as stated before the rock n' rolliness of "2" is dialed back to create a much more somber demeanor; "Chamber of Reflection" is a prime example of this more melancholic style. I for one would like to see Mac push his style further in his next work, and after 2 stellar LPs and a solid EP I think its safe to say i'll be showing my kids Mac DeMarco when i'm older. A true artist. Expand
  16. Aug 4, 2015
    10
    The simple songs, with weird rythms and some funky sounds, are the best released from Mac until now. They are highly addictable, and the whole album is simply perfect.
    This album is the exact example how simplicity, sometimes is the best way to make anything.
    Also the design of the album is full of surprises and things that will please every Mac's fan. Conclusion: Salad Days is the
    The simple songs, with weird rythms and some funky sounds, are the best released from Mac until now. They are highly addictable, and the whole album is simply perfect.
    This album is the exact example how simplicity, sometimes is the best way to make anything.
    Also the design of the album is full of surprises and things that will please every Mac's fan.
    Conclusion: Salad Days is the prove that Mac DeMarco is one of the best original and creative singers/ composers of the present time.
    Expand
  17. Aug 16, 2015
    9
    Mac DeMarco is quickly proving to be an invaluable figure to the modern indie rock scene. Combining an inviting persona with playful lyrics and extended guitar jams, he could make a record twice this long and get away with it. 8.8/10
  18. Sep 9, 2016
    10
    This is definitely one of the bests of 2014, everything is in its place, he manages to show great lyrics, great vocals, great melodies and still makes us float through the stratosphere.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Oct 30, 2014
    67
    Recorded in his Brooklyn apartment, Salad Days tosses off the same charmed, lazy pop songs with a balsamic aftertaste.
  2. Mojo
    Jul 11, 2014
    80
    Above all, there's a genius for economy. [Aug 2014, p.94]
  3. May 7, 2014
    80
    A simple record to listen to under the sun that has a couple of knowing winks about going steady and treating your pals right, but nothing you need worry about.