Sale el Sol - Shakira
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 85
  2. Negative: 10 out of 85

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    'Sale El Sol' is definitely one of Shakira's best albums so far. Love the latin mixes in 'Addicted To You', the rock beats in 'Tu Boca' and the alternate spirit on the cover song 'Islands'. Keep it like that Shaki!
  2. Dec 15, 2013
    9
    Shakira has always been a great singer and songwriter, Sale El Sol comes as a great gift for his fans, a wonderful and worked well album, the highlights are ''Antes de Las Seis'' and a great cover of ''Islands'' by The XX.
  3. Aug 12, 2013
    7
    Just want to say: this album is in Spanish. I did not know this when I bought it. Only three songs are in English. The best song is "Gordita", even though it is in Spanish.
  4. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    Lo que demuestra colombia en grandes paises co Estados unidos un avance musical hermoso por parte de esta hermosa mujer...............................
  5. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    One of the best bilingual albums ever made in music history, Shakira brought latin rhythms from dominican merengue and produced three brilliant tracks (Loca, Rabiosa, Addicted To You) the album also has that 90's shakira thing that we all love, she came back to her roots with songs like Devoción, Tu Boca, Antes De Las Seis and Sale El Sol. Shakira has shown again that the language is not a bar for music. I think she needed more promotion and send the singles to U.S radio Loca and Rabiosa could be smashing singles. I think this is how pop-rock music should sound like. Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    Shakira, a global phenomenon after her single "Waka, Waka This Time for Africa" world cup anthem, and world smash-hit. Skakira has returned with Sale el Sol, another bilingual album. The first single of the album got everyone dancing and acting crazy, this sing is "Loca". This track is in both Spanish and English, gaining more success with the English version, "Loca" is fiery/dance song that should be played at parties and clubs, a song that surely keep you dancing. Next we have the title track "Sale el Sol" (in Spanish) with beautiful/strong vocals by Shakira, which makes us all want the sun to come out. "Antes de las Seis" (Spanish) is a graceful and heartfelt tune, also fourth single to the album. "Gordita" (Spanish) featuring Calle 13, is more of a rock and alternative song, which diversifies the album's genres. Followed by "Addicted to You" (Bilingual) with Shakira singing in spanish with a few ad-libs of english, Addicted to you is a dance/pop song, perfect for getting into the groove. "Lo Que Mas" opens with a enchanting piano prelude, tranquil and soft are the best words to determine Shakira's vocals and the tune. "Mariposas" (Spanish) a fun-loving song that you just want to sing-along to, "Voy a insistir, sin descansar, es una historia sin final mi amor es sobre natural" translation: "I will insist, without resisting, this is a story without an end, my love is supernatural". "Rabiosa" (English + Spanish version) featuring artists such as Pitbull and El Cata, Rabiosa is a fusion of hip-hop and merengue, to make the perfect summer hit. Next in line we have "Devoción" (Spanish), an alternative piece, full of intriguing synth patterns and drum beats. Also for the first time Shakira includes a cover of a song on her album, this track is "Islands" (in English) by the xx. Shakira's version of "Islands" is considered a soft-rock/pop song, I think that she's done a wonderful cover which you'd like to listen to by the beach and dance to. "Tu Boca" a nice song to end the album, it's a fun and easy tune to listen to. The album also includes Shakira's world cup anthem "Waka, Waka, This Time for Africa" in it's original version and K-mix. "Waka, Waka, This Time for Africa" (English + Spanish versions), the K-mix is a refreshing and enjoyable remix of the global phenomenon, the new drum beat makes it fun to rock to! To conclude Shakira has yet again captured our hearts with this amazing/astonishing album. Her bilingualism makes it easy for both English and Spanish cultures to enjoy and have a good time. From rock to pop and in-between this is one of her most meaningful album, a great-buy! Album highlights include "Lo Que Mas", "Mariposas", "Islands" and "Antes De Las Seis". Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    Shakira acaba de demonstrar que no es una diva superficial de las que unicamente siguen la moda del momento. Sale el Sol es un disco completamente distinto a todo lo que suena actualmente y conserva la gran esencia de Shakira. Loca, Rabiosa y A2U aparentemente son canciones normales hechas con el fin apenas de hacer bailar a la gente, pero si nos ponemos apensar esas 3 canciones ofrecen algo fresco frente a las canciones con beats electronicos, hacer que medio mundo baile un genero tan latino como el merengue es algo dificil y muchas veces imposible para las demà Expand
  8. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    This is an excellent latin album, she did it again. The best songs are: "Sale el Sol", "Antes de las Seis", "Devocion" , "Lo que más". She mix a lot of sounds that create fabulous latin sounds.
  9. Feb 12, 2012
    2
    Shakira's album is a mediocre attempt to conquer their two types of public, Latin and European, but remains just that, it's just one more try ... Shakira is the same concept to a tired, unimaginative and boring. You need to renew and give a time-out to his career.
  10. Oct 9, 2011
    8
    Why couldn't Christina Aguilera and Britney Spears do something like Shakira, and manage to do a great album, even after like twenty years in her carrier! A latino-album with a powerbeta that makes anyone dance, she did a great job in songs like "Rabiosa" and "Gordita", a I hope people start to think like her when doing a album.
  11. Jul 25, 2011
    0
    Might not be as bad as She Wolf but it features the same simplistic lyrics that have characterized Shakira's records since 1998. There's nothing special here. I'm very surprised on how high it's been scored by both the critics and the users. It is not helping anyone trying to get something good. The only exception here could be "Gordita" and thats thanks to the contribution of Calle 13. The rest contains the same repetitive and cheesy lyrics. No, Shakira is not turning back to her roots. I'm sorry for all of you. And my real score is 1.0 but it seems this is getting manipulated. Expand
  12. Jun 29, 2011
    9
    Love this album! Every track is catchy, but i got to say my fave is "Islands" so far, WHAT A GIRL! That's is a great cover. Ballads "lo que mas" y "antes de las seis" are wonderful. Masterpieces. Latin tracks are great too "Rabiosa" and "loca" are very catchy, perfect summer songs.
  13. May 29, 2011
    8
    This album has just regained my faith in Shakira after the ordinary "She Wolf". Shakira should just get away for a while from that style and keep releasing stuff like this that really sounds amazing for her. I had very big expectations about this new album for the simple fact that it was conceived in Spanish... and then Shakira saying "I'll try to include Latin rhythms" and "old style" and stuff... I needed to listen to it as soon as possible. Not perfect but as good as it should be! "Sale el sol" it's not her best album honestly but it's a great quality album! The wait was worthy. Expand
  14. Apr 14, 2011
    6
    I personally feel that most people here are giving Shakira too much credit, just because it's got a high Metascore (off only 5 critics). Don't get me wrong, it's not bad, it's just nothing special.
  15. Feb 18, 2011
    10
    It shows shakira's ability to always come up with something new and fresh, sale el sol is a hot record with many different colors which make a very enjoyable ambient for the listener, she definitely took a risk and succeeded
  16. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    One of her best. This album has grat songs like Loca, Antes de Las Seis, Gordita, Addicted to You, Lo Que Más, Rabiosa, Devocion, Tu Boca... Shakira is one of the greatest female artist now days, is so sadly that she doesn't has the attention that she deserves. Keep doing great music Shaki, you have one of the best spanish albuns ever, Fijacion Oral Vol. 1. Thank you for making good music. 10 Expand
  17. Jan 18, 2011
    8
    Well lets face it, it';s not just the music that's good also the looks and I have to say this critic has a crush on this singer and that's nothing for a negative comment but since i'm a critic I can't give top marks
  18. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Sale el Sol" is what you get when mixing old school Shakira and a tropical **** A fruity and deliciously fresh album easily liked at the very first listen empowered by her unique organic lyrics.
    The tracks "Sale el Sol" ,"Loca", "Antes de las Seis" and "Gordita" are the album's highlights, others like "Addicted to You" and "Rabiosa" fail to give that boost that makes the album a complete addiction.
    This album proves that Shakira is as malleable as clay and clearly that the sky is not her limit.
    Expand
  19. Dec 27, 2010
    8
    Shakira's musical diversity is amazing. A year ago, she issued She Wolf, an album full of dance and electro pop. Now, Shakira gives us Sale el Sol, completely different to She Wolf, and more eclectic than anything she has done before. Songs in the album can be divided into three completely different styles. First: the latin, merengue, reggaeton, fiesta songs (Loca, Gordita. Addicted to you, Rabiosa). Second: pop rock songs in the style of her older albums (Sale el Sol, Mariposas, Devoción, Islands, Tu Boca) Third: delicate beautiful ballads (Antes de las seis, Lo que más) So the album's greatest success is also its only failure: there are so many contrasting styles that songs don't stick together very well to each other. However, the album is still very good: the title track will be welcomed by fans of her 90's stuff, Loca is a tremendous dance song and would have been a huge hit if released in Summer, and Antes de las seis is a ballad that remembers us how Shakira's songwriting can be. Expand
  20. Dec 22, 2010
    10
    Being a fan of Shakira since even back from her first few albums, Magia, Peligro, and Pies Descalzos, I am thoroughly impressed by this work. It has easily become one of my favorite CDs of hers. It really does have a mix of all of Shakira's sides since the start of her career. It has nice ballads, rock influenced songs, fun Latin pieces - this album is refreshing, as it is very sincere to her roots compared to previous album, She Wolf. The lyrics are beautiful, the rhythms make you want to dance, cry, sing - a nice roller coaster of emotions from this well produced heart-felt album. Expand
  21. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    This album proves that the sun makes Shakira better than the moon. It's been I long time since I last truly enjoyed one of her records. That's how I like her - closer to Colombia than to the US, closer to what made the world spot her and love her. Lyrics in Spanish, a latin groove, some Shakira-like rocks, the smash hit Waka Waka. If you miss the 'Pies Descalzos', 'Ladrones', 'Unplugged' and some 'Laundry Service' Shakira, not forgetting the universal appeal, it's a must-listen. Expand
  22. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    Sale el sol will be a back to basics album. I think that Shakira had released the album because of the negative reception of Loba in Latin America. I said this as an latin fan, Latin America wanted that she will be back to her roots like Pies descalzos, ¿Dónde están los ladrones? or Fijación Oral Vol. 1 but this contains more merengue and reggaeton that latin pop rock, and that is too much. Expand
  23. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Significantly, this is not the best album by Shakira, as I'm a long-time fan of her and listened to her all albums, and this is by far one in the top 3 of her 9 albums. Here's the possible top 10 of her best works: 1. "Laundry Service/Servicio de Lavandería" 2. "Oral Fixation, Vol. 2" 3. "Sale El Sol" 4. "Fijación Oral, Vol. 1" 5. "¿Dónde Están los Ladrones?"
    6. "She Wolf"
    7. "Pies Descalzos"
    8. "Peligro"
    9. "MTV Unplugged"
    10. "Magia"
    I love Shakira's music and this album proves that I'm right! Congrats!
    Expand
  24. Nov 7, 2010
    9
    This album is awesome! Shakira tries to find her old self again and she pretty much succeeds in it. She combines many genres of music and her ballads are full of passion and emotion! Spanish make the songs even more attractive. Even if you don't know the language the tracks can move you! It is very exciting!
  25. Nov 5, 2010
    9
    One of the best words defining this album is "eclectic". If you're trying to put this album in an specific box you'll can't. Shakira goes far from her Latin roots and take the chance from the sound of the moment (something that sounds like merengue but clash on latin electronic dance). This situation is perfectly shown in her featured songs with Pitbul and Dizzy Rascal (that have its origins in "El Cata", Dominican artist that mixed the sounds for the most commercial songs of the album).
    (The following comment is in Spanish just to follow the bilingual context of the album ;-))... Caso aparte es la canción "Gordita", pieza que me recordó la elegancia callejera de Calle 13. Aunque muchos encuentran en "Rabiosa" una pieza de flirteo más bailable, particularmente considero que la gracia de "Gordita" radica en mi preferencia personal por el estilo particular de Calle 13, con tantas referencias a sus trabajos previos que no pude evitar sonreir al escuchar un flirteo más "tierno" al estilo de "La Jirafa". La pieza definitivamente será de las favoritas en America Latina, mercado al que está enfocado el album (el punto es cuando será correcto su lanzamiento?).
    Listening ballads like "mariposas"(butterflies), "Lo que mas"(what more) and "Antes de las seis" (before six o'clock) will remeber you the starting spanish albums -this album is the ninth in Shakira's career- sounds. It's good to listen some of that sound between the "Dominican" fever. Of these three songs, "Antes de las seis" will be the perfect radio ballad for Valentine next year.
    And songs like "Sale el sol", "Mariposas" and "Tu boca" remember that good pop-rock songs comes very fluid into Shakira's head. Don't try to complicate yourself finding deeper messages and enjoy them. From this ones, anyone could be a pop hit in Latin America and "Tu boca" has a little special sound that turns out from almost any song of Shakira. "Sale el sol" will be the next "girl teen power" anthem (yes, i'm being sarcastic!)
    Even the world wide hit "Waka Waka (this time for Africa)" -that personally, i hated it- sounds coupled to the album (get over the mixes!) and, as Rosita says, maybe "Islands" was unnecessary for the album, but that's one the things that you can do when you produce your own albums and want to create something different with something that you like (and best of all, your company don't denies). So, let it be! :-)
    Finally, If you're expecting something new for this album, it's just the latin dance sounds mixed with merengue so much in vogue all over Latin America (And that made Pitbull some rich), but that has nothing new at this point. If you're waiting to listen the old Shakira sound, you'll be priced with 2 or 3 new happy songs (so, forget being depressed!). And if you're a Shakira's fan, you won't be disapointed.
    Expand
  26. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    Sale el Sol demostrates Shakira's evolution in music. Enjoyable from beggining to end. Shakira brings back spanish music, real spanish music. Her ability to handle many genres and blend them with her unique styles makes this album a jewel. Shakira is back, and she's back to stay. Sale el Sol is a classic in spanish music history.
  27. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    She's finally done a true Shakira album...we all know the she always tries different sounds, but ''She Wolf'' didn't work (not for me), and now she's back with deeper songs (even the dance songs), powerful vocals, great lyrics. Rock, ballads and hip moves...GREAT ALBUM...
  28. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    WOAO QUE DISCO MAS CREATIVO ALUCINADO ESPECIAL DELICADO MAGNIFICO ELEGANTE FABULOSO ES EL CD DEL AÃ
  29. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    I can't believe this album is as good as it is -- Shakira's best work and quite possibly the best pop record of the year. Each song embrances it's popiness wholeheartedly, from the ballads to the club jams. If you go anywhere near a club in the next year expect to hear 'Loca Loca Loca' ad nauseum.
  30. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    Shakira with this new album is confirmed as a pop star and the album "The sun comes out" is very interesting becouse, she mixes many music genres.
    And this album is the best in her career.
    Songs recommended: "Loca", "Gordita", "Antes de las seis" and "Devoción".
  31. Oct 24, 2010
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. She tried so hard to be a plastic popstar with Laundry Service in 2001, the Fixations in 2005 and She Wolf in 2009 that now that she wants to go back to her old self, she fails misserably and seems as fake as ever. She is trapped between the hottie hip-shaker bimbo and the latino pop-rock star she was in 1998. Plus, her voice is not at her best, thicker than ever and out of tune. You can see this in Tu Boca, Devoción, Addicted To You, Sale el Sol or Islands. Half of the album are cheesy songs full of merengue and reggaeton. Her vocals, for those who understand spanish, are shameful. Loca is maybe the worst of them all, but Rabiosa, Gordita and Addicted To You are not better. Nobody believes now that she can deliver a rock influenced song with dignity and she proves it in Tu Boca and Devoción. Itâ Expand
  32. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    Shakira at her best! great up-tempos with a Merengue sound and amazing ballads like Lo Que mas Antes De Las Seis. Classic rock Shakira with Devocion and TU Boca. Amazing album!
  33. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    I was a bit skeptical after She Wolf, but Shakira just proves she can bounce from sound to sound without suffering from the change. Sale El Sol is amazing from start to finish, taking the listener through an extravagant ride towards music awareness.
  34. Oct 21, 2010
    8
    Sale el Sol is damn good in every way, all the songs are different from each other but still go together pretty well. Awesome album! The best songs on here, in my opinion, is Devoción, Lo Que Más, Tu Boca, Loca (English Version) and Gordita. Rabiosa feat. Pitbull is pretty good too, and will probably be big in the US.
    Overall, this album is great! It could be
    better, had she made a pop song like Whenever, Wherever on this record, I think it could have been greater. 8 out of 10 from me. Expand
  35. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. With the Sun coming out, comes an album that's sure to take you to various boundaries every time a track changes in the absolutely awesome album. Shakira certainly understands the notion of 'Cultural Diversity' in 20-Ten and no one can get better than her when it comes to mixing them to prepare the perfect recipe which is sure to become a international phenomenon! Must listen's include Devocion, Islands and Rabiosa that's gonna get you all dancing the moment you hear it! And how can anyone forget, Loca! Shakira's surely crazy and we absoultely love Crazy! Way to go! Expand
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Mostly, her new album is businesslike, serious, sane.
  2. Oct 25, 2010
    80
    The album isn't as heady as She Wolf, but there's an easy charm to how Shakira deftly navigates such a mash of genres.
  3. Oct 25, 2010
    91
    Sale el Sol manages to bridge the divide between the old and new Shakira with a spark that keeps you listening to the very end.