User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 57
  2. Negative: 4 out of 57

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    Same Trailer Different Park it's the most incredible album of country that I ever hear, Kacey shows a different side of life on rural america, and I love every song.
  2. May 11, 2013
    3
    As I am not a big fan of country music, my review is to be ignored if you are a country music fan. I listen to most of the things that appear on metacritic, and this one had an exceptionally high score, so I listened to it. It took me to the same mistery world where almost all modern country albums take me: a place that I can't imagine to exist, and if it does, I hope I never get there.

    There were some catchy ones indeed on the list of tracks, but overall it was quite boring, and I don't think that it was so exceptional compared to other albums by young femaly country musicians. I am wondering what makes people give it such a high score, and I played with the thought of listening to it again, but I can't force myself to do that in the foreseeable future.

    With one word: disappointed.
    Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    Not only a good album, it is country album of the year for me. All songs are well written, well composed and I like every song on album. This Texas girl's next albums gonna be big. I gave 10/10 because we need albums like this when there are many bad albums right now.
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    An easy nine. Simple and smart lyrics, good variety of themes and emotions. I think the single "merry go round" is the weakest track on the album, and it's a good song. Seriously fresh country.
  5. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    Kasey's lyrics make me laugh but more importantly they make me think. Everyone should try reading them without music. They are superb poetry about life today. This is an album that gets better each time I listen to it.
    And I think Trollreign's review should be removed. I don't like rap music. So I don't review rap records because I won't like any of them. His score of 3 just brings
    down the true score for this excellent work. Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    6
    I'm not a very big fan of country music. I liked some songs a couple of years ago and that's it. The first entire album for me was 'Like a Rose' by Ashley Moore. Listened to it a couple of weeks ago, and it wasn't particularly great. Kinda okay, i guess.

    But this one is a lot better. It got good lyrics every now and then, the music and vocals are okay, and pretty great on some. The
    songs i liked the most are: Back on the Map, Stupid, It Is What It Is.

    It's not a classic of course, but i'm definitely giving country a try.
    Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    Is country a hoary genre most often proffering trite sentiments and musical clichés? Well yes, in some hands. Does Kacey Musgraves have such a pair of hands? Most definitely not. Her songs are shot through with bittersweet observations of the kind anybody who has been in love that has gone wrong will know. Musgraves will elicit both recognition and emotion as you listen to this album. Any concerns you have about hoary genres will simply fade away as she becomes a fellow traveller singing of love and life's travails, ably carried along by music that is just right for the subject matter. This is an excellent album. Collapse
  8. Jul 22, 2013
    8
    Country music has always been a genre I've felt either repulsed, indifferent or somewhat entertained by, but I've never really developed an opinion on it as a whole either way. I happen to browse the new releases page here on a fairly regular basis & noticed that this album got an really high critic score, which most likely means that it's something special compared to other artists in the genre. So I saw that this was available at the library and decided to check it out. And I'm happy to say, as a guy who's only ever heard 1 other country album in his life, that the critical response is very warranted. The thing you'll notice immediately about this album is that everything about it is honest & sincere, and nothing comes off manufactured or dumbed down for the sake of getting pop radio airplay. Even the highest-charting single “Merry Go 'Round” never suffers from that, instead talking about the stagnant & unsatisfying lifestyles in various Southern communities, while also throwing in some clever wordplay in the chorus. Also, something that can really annoy me about country music is how obnoxiously literal, simple-minded & void of any kind of creative language it can be. Here though she manages to write a good mix of both, keeping things straightforward in meaning while rarely spoon-feeding it to you. But on the other side of things, the increased authenticity doesn't detract too much from its accessibility, delivering great poppy hooks in each song, backed by crystal-clear production & organic real instrumentation. Other highlights include the ethereal breakup song “I Miss You”, personal empowerment anthem “Follow Your Arrow” (a definite standout among the trend of every pop star ever doing those, and one that takes an unusually liberal turn for a country artist in a couple specific lines), bluesy stomper “Stupid”, and easily the most rock-influenced song here “Blowin' Smoke”. The album walks a fine line of bringing in multiple moods & styles (within the genre) while still remaining very cohesive throughout. Anything remotely negative I have to say about this album luckily has nothing to do with the music itself but rather it's from a personal standpoint. If I was the target demographic for an album like this I'd be fully ready to give it a 9. But I'm not gonna pretend that I'm some small-town Southern girl with relationship problems & say these songs are relatable when in fact I fit literally no part of that description, and this being in a genre that doesn't exactly specialize in figurative language doesn't help things. But even in those areas I can definitely understand the appeal for certain people, and I at least have to give her credit for honing in so (assumingly) well on that lifestyle. Overall even though I might have to look more into the genre, this is currently my favorite country album, and a very enjoyable & interesting little diversion from my usual musical palette. 81/100 Expand
  9. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    The songs on this CD are all relatable. Well produced and worth listening to over and over. They are catchy tunes that stick with youu; warring ear wigs abound. "It is what is is; until it ain't any more" and "Still hadn't lost that baby weight/ And that baby's about to graduate". An my favorite line... If you don't save yourself for marriage You're a whore (Pause)-able person. Take a listen; if you love poppy country music you love this CD. Expand
  10. Jul 12, 2014
    10
    Same Trailer Different Park, the major debut of Kacey Musgraves, aka the new Miranda Lambert or Alisson Krauss, is such a great album. It has everything you could ask for in a country album: deep meaningful strong lyrics, strong vocals, beautiful guitar riffs, crazy production, and everything else. Seriously can't pick the highlights off of this album, I love every single track, but if I had to choose, I'd go for: Merry Go Round, Follow Your Arrow, Stupid and Keep It To Yourself. Listen to it! Hope her sophomore record will be just as breathtaking, unless she can do better (which is kinda hard). Expand
  11. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    Same Trailer Different Park bty Kacey Musgraves is an Outstanding country record and it is felt with each song she sang in. Its 100 TIMES better than pop singer Taylor Swift
  12. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Without doubt, Kacey presents us with the best Country Album of the year, is loaded with good energy and good lyrics, Merry Go 'Round is so good that you have worth of tracks that may follow. Still, the album works, sometimes leaving your comfort zone (Blowin 'Smoke), "Same Different Trailer Park'' is just incredible.
  13. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    Lovely album. Kacey Musgraves has a fabulous spirit which bring a lot of joy to thee gently rebellious songs. There is a lot of strong stuff here an my favourite track keeps shifting. Musically her style is more Bobby Gentry than Dolly Parton straigthtforward and honest like her lyrics. "It is What It Is" is both forthright and profoundly melancholy, whilst Blowin' Smoke gets more impressive and clever with each listen. Expand
  14. May 1, 2013
    10
    Impressionante, simplesmeste maravilhoso! Todas as faixas são encantadoras, a voz da Kacey se funde perfeitamente às melodias. Posso passar o dia todo ouvindo "Same trailer different park" que não me enjôo. Destaque para Blowin' Smoke, Back on the map e Silve Lining.
  15. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    This album is great because of one reason; she is the best song writer in country music right now; along with Ashley Monroe. I do agree with many of the other negative comments about the album being a bit boring. I do not want to see her lose the song writing but if the album was a little more upbeat (not LOUD!), but just a little more upbeat, it would be perfect; as for now 8/10.
  16. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    Same Trailer Different Park puts higher standard for next country albums most musicians will make. I like the way she brings us back to the classical country music with her special vocals and instrument compositions.
  17. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    It was pretty obvious she would win some Grammys and she did! My favorite song on this record would be"Back on the Map". I cannot wait to see her next album if there will be another
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 17, 2013
    80
    Songwriting thus warm and wise can't be as easy as Musgraves makes it sound. [Jul 2013, p.108]
  2. May 14, 2013
    80
    Musgrave just paints a picture of their shared solitude, and she lets us see our absurd selves in the lives of others.
  3. Apr 11, 2013
    80
    She sings with an affectless detachment reminiscent of, say, Aimee Mann, and uses it to cut sharply through the lies people tell themselves.