Same Trailer Different Park Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 56 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After three self-released albums, the country singer releases her first major label debut produced by Shane McAnally and Luke Laird.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    100
    Each track evokes an emotion, a giggle, a tear or a memory, but always a hunger for what’s next.
  2. 91
    On her confident, melodic major-label debut, Musgraves' vocals are pleasingly agile, but what Same Trailer Different Park continually showcases is her writing prowess.
  3. The finest lyricist to rise up out of conscious country since Miranda Lambert, if not Bobby Pinson himself.
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    Musgraves has a sense of humor, too, and all of these traits add up to make Same Trailer Different Park more than a collection of songs just aiming for the country charts.
  5. Apr 11, 2013
    80
    She sings with an affectless detachment reminiscent of, say, Aimee Mann, and uses it to cut sharply through the lies people tell themselves.
  6. Jun 17, 2013
    80
    Songwriting thus warm and wise can't be as easy as Musgraves makes it sound. [Jul 2013, p.108]
  7. May 14, 2013
    80
    Musgrave just paints a picture of their shared solitude, and she lets us see our absurd selves in the lives of others.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    Same Trailer Different Park it's the most incredible album of country that I ever hear, Kacey shows a different side of life on rural america, and I love every song. Expand
  2. May 1, 2013
    10
    Impressionante, simplesmeste maravilhoso! Todas as faixas são encantadoras, a voz da Kacey se funde perfeitamente às melodias. Posso passar o dia todo ouvindo "Same trailer different park" que não me enjôo. Destaque para Blowin' Smoke, Back on the map e Silve Lining. Expand
  3. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    Kasey's lyrics make me laugh but more importantly they make me think. Everyone should try reading them without music. They are superb poetry about life today. This is an album that gets better each time I listen to it.
    And I think Trollreign's review should be removed. I don't like rap music. So I don't review rap records because I won't like any of them. His score of 3 just brings down the true score for this excellent work.
    Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    Lovely album. Kacey Musgraves has a fabulous spirit which bring a lot of joy to thee gently rebellious songs. There is a lot of strong stuff here an my favourite track keeps shifting. Musically her style is more Bobby Gentry than Dolly Parton straigthtforward and honest like her lyrics. "It is What It Is" is both forthright and profoundly melancholy, whilst Blowin' Smoke gets more impressive and clever with each listen. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Without doubt, Kacey presents us with the best Country Album of the year, is loaded with good energy and good lyrics, Merry Go 'Round is so good that you have worth of tracks that may follow. Still, the album works, sometimes leaving your comfort zone (Blowin 'Smoke), "Same Different Trailer Park'' is just incredible. Expand
  6. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    This album is great because of one reason; she is the best song writer in country music right now; along with Ashley Monroe. I do agree with many of the other negative comments about the album being a bit boring. I do not want to see her lose the song writing but if the album was a little more upbeat (not LOUD!), but just a little more upbeat, it would be perfect; as for now 8/10. Expand
  7. May 11, 2013
    3
    As I am not a big fan of country music, my review is to be ignored if you are a country music fan. I listen to most of the things that appear on metacritic, and this one had an exceptionally high score, so I listened to it. It took me to the same mistery world where almost all modern country albums take me: a place that I can't imagine to exist, and if it does, I hope I never get there.

    There were some catchy ones indeed on the list of tracks, but overall it was quite boring, and I don't think that it was so exceptional compared to other albums by young femaly country musicians. I am wondering what makes people give it such a high score, and I played with the thought of listening to it again, but I can't force myself to do that in the foreseeable future.

    With one word: disappointed.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. This Month's Best New Albums: March 2013

    This Month's Best New Albums: March 2013 Image
    Published: March 28, 2013
    Check out our list of the past month's best new album releases (including LPs from David Bowie, Low, Kacey Musgraves, and more), and listen to each one.