Same Trailer Different Park

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Same Trailer Different Park Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After three self-released albums, the country singer releases her first major label debut produced by Shane McAnally and Luke Laird.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    100
    Each track evokes an emotion, a giggle, a tear or a memory, but always a hunger for what’s next.
  2. 91
    On her confident, melodic major-label debut, Musgraves' vocals are pleasingly agile, but what Same Trailer Different Park continually showcases is her writing prowess.
  3. The finest lyricist to rise up out of conscious country since Miranda Lambert, if not Bobby Pinson himself.
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    Musgraves has a sense of humor, too, and all of these traits add up to make Same Trailer Different Park more than a collection of songs just aiming for the country charts.
  5. Apr 11, 2013
    80
    She sings with an affectless detachment reminiscent of, say, Aimee Mann, and uses it to cut sharply through the lies people tell themselves.
  6. Q Magazine
    Jun 17, 2013
    80
    Songwriting thus warm and wise can't be as easy as Musgraves makes it sound. [Jul 2013, p.108]
  7. May 14, 2013
    80
    Musgrave just paints a picture of their shared solitude, and she lets us see our absurd selves in the lives of others.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    Same Trailer Different Park it's the most incredible album of country that I ever hear, Kacey shows a different side of life on rural america,Same Trailer Different Park it's the most incredible album of country that I ever hear, Kacey shows a different side of life on rural america, and I love every song. Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    Kacey's storytelling, nostalgic songs make a whole world for themselves with about as much effort as one breathes fresh air while listening toKacey's storytelling, nostalgic songs make a whole world for themselves with about as much effort as one breathes fresh air while listening to Same Trailer Different Park. Kacey is a 21st century jewel, hands down. Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    Not only a good album, it is country album of the year for me. All songs are well written, well composed and I like every song on album. ThisNot only a good album, it is country album of the year for me. All songs are well written, well composed and I like every song on album. This Texas girl's next albums gonna be big. I gave 10/10 because we need albums like this when there are many bad albums right now. Collapse
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Without doubt, Kacey presents us with the best Country Album of the year, is loaded with good energy and good lyrics, Merry Go 'Round is soWithout doubt, Kacey presents us with the best Country Album of the year, is loaded with good energy and good lyrics, Merry Go 'Round is so good that you have worth of tracks that may follow. Still, the album works, sometimes leaving your comfort zone (Blowin 'Smoke), "Same Different Trailer Park'' is just incredible. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    The songs on this CD are all relatable. Well produced and worth listening to over and over. They are catchy tunes that stick with youu;The songs on this CD are all relatable. Well produced and worth listening to over and over. They are catchy tunes that stick with youu; warring ear wigs abound. "It is what is is; until it ain't any more" and "Still hadn't lost that baby weight/ And that baby's about to graduate". An my favorite line... If you don't save yourself for marriage You're a whore (Pause)-able person. Take a listen; if you love poppy country music you love this CD. Expand
  6. Sep 13, 2015
    8
    This gorgeous debut album by this gorgeous singer-songwriter is only a small indication of what she's able to bring to the country musicThis gorgeous debut album by this gorgeous singer-songwriter is only a small indication of what she's able to bring to the country music scene. Judging by this album, she's gonna be big. Expand
  7. May 11, 2013
    3
    As I am not a big fan of country music, my review is to be ignored if you are a country music fan. I listen to most of the things that appearAs I am not a big fan of country music, my review is to be ignored if you are a country music fan. I listen to most of the things that appear on metacritic, and this one had an exceptionally high score, so I listened to it. It took me to the same mistery world where almost all modern country albums take me: a place that I can't imagine to exist, and if it does, I hope I never get there.

    There were some catchy ones indeed on the list of tracks, but overall it was quite boring, and I don't think that it was so exceptional compared to other albums by young femaly country musicians. I am wondering what makes people give it such a high score, and I played with the thought of listening to it again, but I can't force myself to do that in the foreseeable future.

    With one word: disappointed.
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. This Month's Best New Albums: March 2013

    This Month's Best New Albums: March 2013 Image
    Published: March 28, 2013
    Check out our list of the past month's best new album releases (including LPs from David Bowie, Low, Kacey Musgraves, and more), and listen to each one.