Sam's Town

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Oct 3, 2006
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Uncut
    60
    The problem... is that size seems to be used as an excuse for the lack of musical ideas. [Nov 2006, p.102]
  2. Spin
    60
    Sam's Town is basically Hot Fuss with bigger, spanglier guitars and an all-round lack of restraint. [Oct 2006, p.93]
  3. The Killers may have grown a heart for Sam's Town, but they also grew even bigger egos, and it's unlikely that the album's bombast and self-importance will convert any new fans.
  4. Loose, sloppy playing and power hooks.
  5. The Killers album is, whisper it, pretty good in places.
  6. Not fully realizing where their strengths and weaknesses lie makes Sam's Town, despite the drastic makeover, roughly equivalent to Hot Fuss, a mediocre album surrounding a few towering singles.
  7. [It] offers only occasional flashbacks to the seedy glamour of the debut, instead settling on lightweight MOR clichés.
  8. Whatever Sam’s Town’s scant merits, the album reminds artists to be more careful about their role models—and to avoid Bono’s phone calls.
  9. Ultimately, they don't come across as unbearably pretentious so much as just really, really misguided.
  10. With Sam's Town, they've removed the glopped-on Goth eyeliner, sprouted scruffy outlaw beards, and traded in urbane decadence for windswept super-romanticism. Bye-bye, Duran Duran; hello, Simple Minds.
  11. Urb
    50
    Sam's Town is bloated with verses that helplessly swipe at capturing something, anything, significantly American. [Oct 2006, p.129]
  12. With too much empty bluster and not enough decent songs, Sam's Town can only be regarded as a step back for The Killers.
  13. On Sam's Town they seem like they're trying to make a big statement, except they have nothing to say.
  14. Alternative Press
    40
    A cluttered, derivative mess. [Dec 2006, p.200]
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 304 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 178
  1. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    Great follow up too the great Hot Fuss , The Killers certainly dont do things by halfs and the ambition and passion of this album isGreat follow up too the great Hot Fuss , The Killers certainly dont do things by halfs and the ambition and passion of this album is infectious , my favourite tracks are Bling and This River is Wild the Enterlude / Exitlude are a really nice touch and overall this album feels like a journey rather than just a series of (very good) songs with a common theme like Hot Fuss Full Review »
  2. PC
    Nov 19, 2006
    9
    I must admit, when I first listened to this album I thought it was utter crap. It was too loud and sounded like they were trying so hard to I must admit, when I first listened to this album I thought it was utter crap. It was too loud and sounded like they were trying so hard to be great that they crammed everything they counld into these tracks. And then somewhere along listening to the album all the different melodies and sounds seperated into something I could actually listen to. To be honest, I dont really like any recent ablums, I'm more of a classic rock guy listening to artsits like ELP, Yes, The Beatles and Pink Floyd. This album echoes the sounds of those great bands that today's young have forgotten about. How many people today know that Meatloaf was something other than a food? Sam's Town is a very musically complicated disc. It takes many listens to actually see some of the brilliance behind some of the tracks. It just takes some time to see that brilliance, something critics dont have time to do. Hence the bad reviews Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2016
    10
    I really liked this album when it came out (top 5 of the year for me). A year later I looked at reviews, and was extremely surprised howI really liked this album when it came out (top 5 of the year for me). A year later I looked at reviews, and was extremely surprised how negative most of them were. To me, this is arguably their best album. I don't get why people aren't fans of this (if you liked Hot Fuss). Even 10 years later I listen to this more than I do any Killers albums (though other albums' individual songs may be better). This album is by far the most complete and cohesive sounding to me. The prefer the sound of Sam's Town to the "stadium rock" sound of Day & Age. The only song that's bad (sucks) is Uncle Jonny. This is a fantastic album! Full Review »