Sam's Town

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Oct 3, 2006
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 296 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 296

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 21, 2016
    10
    I really liked this album when it came out (top 5 of the year for me). A year later I looked at reviews, and was extremely surprised how negative most of them were. To me, this is arguably their best album. I don't get why people aren't fans of this (if you liked Hot Fuss). Even 10 years later I listen to this more than I do any Killers albums (though other albums' individual songs may beI really liked this album when it came out (top 5 of the year for me). A year later I looked at reviews, and was extremely surprised how negative most of them were. To me, this is arguably their best album. I don't get why people aren't fans of this (if you liked Hot Fuss). Even 10 years later I listen to this more than I do any Killers albums (though other albums' individual songs may be better). This album is by far the most complete and cohesive sounding to me. The prefer the sound of Sam's Town to the "stadium rock" sound of Day & Age. The only song that's bad (sucks) is Uncle Jonny. This is a fantastic album! Expand
  2. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    Definitely the most underrated Killers album to date. When people think back to this album many will only remember the single "When You Were Young", but songs like "For Reasons Unknown" and "Bones" suggest that this album is much more full than you remembered.
  3. Aug 22, 2013
    4
    [4.6] The Killers have a bad habit of losing interest in their own music, which doesn't help the experience of the listener. Sam's Town doesn't do anything interesting with a genre that is seriously worn out.
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    The second album is generally the hardest to make. Here we have an ambitious desire of releasing a rock 'n' roll album to become a classic. The thing is that it failed to do that... for most people. While it's not my favorite The Killers album, nor my second favorite, it has all that was needed to breakthrough as an instant classic. "When You Were Young", the lead single, proved to be pureThe second album is generally the hardest to make. Here we have an ambitious desire of releasing a rock 'n' roll album to become a classic. The thing is that it failed to do that... for most people. While it's not my favorite The Killers album, nor my second favorite, it has all that was needed to breakthrough as an instant classic. "When You Were Young", the lead single, proved to be pure rock 'n' roll with depth and strength. "Read My Mind", the best song here, proves to be deep and magical, one of the best songs The Killers have ever made. The title track is strong, just as "Bling", a bipolar rock and roll track that requires you to be prepared for huge moments and minimalistic moments within the same song. "Why Do I Keep Counting?" is another highlight here. But Sam's Town wouldn't be Sam's Town without the epic interludes "Enterlude" and "Exitlude". Highly recommended for people looking for real rock 'n' roll. Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    Sam's Town is a really good album it just lacks the variety of many of the other Killers albums. It has great songs but some of the songs are really nothing special. I would however still highly recommend it.
  6. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    They fixed most of the mistakes in their debut and released 'Sam's Town' then, which is a powerful alternative rock album with good music and good lyrics. Of course also the really good voice of lead singer Brandon Flowers! The Enter- and Exitlude are great; I just like the whole concpet of the album. 'When We Are Young' is the only top song, but all songs complement each other to a veryThey fixed most of the mistakes in their debut and released 'Sam's Town' then, which is a powerful alternative rock album with good music and good lyrics. Of course also the really good voice of lead singer Brandon Flowers! The Enter- and Exitlude are great; I just like the whole concpet of the album. 'When We Are Young' is the only top song, but all songs complement each other to a very good album! Expand
  7. May 26, 2012
    5
    While I didn't think this album was awful, I found it weak when compared to Hot Fuss and Day & Age. I found the majority of the songs on this album to be dull and lacking hooks to make them memorable. I think this album will leave a poor impression on someone who picks this up as their first Killers album, and would recommend either Hot Fuss of Day & Age as a starting point.
  8. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    Very strong follow up to their anthem filled debut album. This is a big rock record, less British Indie and more American ROCK than Hot Fuss. A big step toward the U2 sound can seen here. Takes a bit longer to get into than Hot Fuss but it's a really good record. Maybe a great song or 2 short of getting a 9 or 10.
  9. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    I don't know what some people were smoking when they wrote their reviews for Sam's Town?! This is one of THE best albums I have heard in quite some time. Most, if not all, tracks are epic in their own way, shape, or form. The bonus tracks, as per the usual, are probably the weaker portion of the album with Daddy's Eyes and Where the White Boys Dance, which aren't even that bad of songs.I don't know what some people were smoking when they wrote their reviews for Sam's Town?! This is one of THE best albums I have heard in quite some time. Most, if not all, tracks are epic in their own way, shape, or form. The bonus tracks, as per the usual, are probably the weaker portion of the album with Daddy's Eyes and Where the White Boys Dance, which aren't even that bad of songs. The majority, however, are excellent, classic Killers tracks! My favorites are definitely Bling (Confession of a King), For Reasons Unknown, Read My Mind, My List, This River is Wild, and, my absolute favorite, Why do I Keep Counting?. That's me being modest and half the tracks of the standard album. I will agree with what some have said on here already, that it is a grower album. The hard sound didn't agree with me so much at first, but after listening to that album a few times, it definitely finds a way into your auditory canal, in the best way possible. This album, in my opinion, is the epitome of Killers greatness! 10/10 hands down! Expand
  10. Feb 2, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed this album. It exceeds there predecessor. The Killers experimented a lot on Sam's Town and all of it sounds great. "For Reason's Unknown" is the best track on the album. All In All, Sam's Town is a great album. B+
  11. j30
    Nov 8, 2011
    7
    A really topsy turvy album with some really great songs like Read My Mind and When You Were Young, but with some dull songs like This River Is Wild and Bling (Confessions of a King).
  12. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    Good album. It's not nearly as good as Hot Fuss but it never dwindles and has some great moments. It's unnecessaryily short, making it a bit insignificant after a while, though
  13. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    If you like the sounds The Killers can produce then I do believe you'll just love this. To be honest, I love hating band's 2nd albums but I just couldn't hate this. For a start, 'Sam's Town' has an extremely strong track list all the way trough, reminiscent of albums such as 'American Idiot', 'Nevermind' or maybe 'Passive Me, Aggressive You' in that respect. The songs 'Sam's Town',If you like the sounds The Killers can produce then I do believe you'll just love this. To be honest, I love hating band's 2nd albums but I just couldn't hate this. For a start, 'Sam's Town' has an extremely strong track list all the way trough, reminiscent of albums such as 'American Idiot', 'Nevermind' or maybe 'Passive Me, Aggressive You' in that respect. The songs 'Sam's Town', 'Enterlude', 'Uncle Jonny', 'For Reasons Unknown' and especially 'My List' really stand out to me as memorable 21st century tracks which is a pretty big deal in my book. Although there has been a lot of people saying that this album goes the places 'Hot Fuss' didn't even attempt to go, I really believe that the sound of the The Killers hasn't really changed much. It's all in perfect balance in my opinion meaning, they change up enough to keep it interesting but still keep that devilish, vibrant, cold & bouncy sound we fell in love with in 'Hot fuss'. I really can't fault this album, it obviously hasn't inspired an uprising or captured a huge audience, I mean it hasn't taken music to that place that artists such as Dylan and Hendrix were able to master and for purely that reason this album doesn't achieve the 10 out of 10. Fantastic album though!â Expand
  14. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    Great follow up too the great Hot Fuss , The Killers certainly dont do things by halfs and the ambition and passion of this album is infectious , my favourite tracks are Bling and This River is Wild the Enterlude / Exitlude are a really nice touch and overall this album feels like a journey rather than just a series of (very good) songs with a common theme like Hot Fuss
  15. GunnarS.
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    This is the really best of The Killers! Amazing album!
  16. DeanM.
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    I agree totally with Brandon Flowers, this is possibly the best album of the last 20 years, so far, a fears rival of their first album hot fuss, its yet another great album from the Las Vegas Superstars !
  17. CamiJ
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    This CD is rock heaven; I love everything about it. I think it's impossible to find any genuine flaws in both the songs and the band, and it's for that reason that I will support them to the end.
  18. SuleimanM.
    May 18, 2009
    9
    The best album from the The Killers as of late. (My two cents.) Sam's Town has it's fair share of slow songs, as well as the up beat style that The killers are known for. While it's most certainly different than Hot Fuss, and more or less strays from the formula they are known for, it still manages to be an incredible album. Most certainly recommended.
  19. djcdjc
    May 14, 2009
    9
    I can understand why people may be annoued at the ever present bruce springsteen influence on almost every track. But overall this album is undeniably good. The critics who loved hot fuss mawled this but that shouldn't stop you if you like the killers than i don't see what you shouldn't like about this.
  20. BernieG.
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    Give it a few years. Sam's Town will be considered one of the greatest albums of all time. It gets better with each listen.
  21. PaulB
    Nov 21, 2008
    1
    Awful, was expecting a better album than the last one which was only half good but amazingly this is rubbish all the way through.
  22. SebH
    Nov 14, 2008
    6
    I can understand where both parties are coming from - the tunes on this album are pretty damn amazing and it's a fun listen, but I don't think it's worthy of a perfect rating either. Lyrically, this is a complete disaster, and its overall concept just doesn't work (making it a similar kind of disaster as U2's Pop in that it sounds good but has an unrealised I can understand where both parties are coming from - the tunes on this album are pretty damn amazing and it's a fun listen, but I don't think it's worthy of a perfect rating either. Lyrically, this is a complete disaster, and its overall concept just doesn't work (making it a similar kind of disaster as U2's Pop in that it sounds good but has an unrealised concept). Then there's the fact that it just doesn't sound like the Killers - they take themselves too seriously here and it just doesn't work. I think a lot of people would have been happier if they had stuck to being a Vegas sleazebag new romantic/dance-pop band rather than this uber-earnest group aiming higher than they can punch Expand
  23. AnnM
    Sep 8, 2008
    10
    Sams Town is definitely as good as Hot Fuss. This is the only band that has captured my heart. Some of the critics must be listening with their ears closed.
  24. LoriG
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Okay this is really rediculos that some people are giving the album a bad review because brandon flowers speaks his mind! he is one of the few artists of this decade that actually has a brain and he is intitle to a freaking opinoin! And compared to the crap in the radio like freaken Hannah Montanna I think they are the best thing in 20 years!
  25. Loriell
    May 1, 2008
    10
    I think this is a great album....... all of these people that give them bad reviews really need to stop because they are one of the few bands that actually have meaning behind their songs.
  26. AnonymousAnon
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    Very underrated, vocals are almost god-like at times.
  27. AidanK
    Mar 8, 2008
    8
    Hot fuss was frustrating and frequently switched between brilliant and rubbish, this one however is a joy from begining to end. A really good effort.
  28. BenH
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    At first I said "This album is terrible" but the more I listened to it i realized what musical genius it is. It is the best album that has ever been created, it just takes you listening to it ten times to realize it.
  29. JW
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    One of the most important albums of this decade.
  30. Tessa
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    This album is packed with amazing tunes. Although I must admit t reminds me of the first one but I'm a fan of everything they do. They rock!
  31. JohnF.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    it's a massively under-rated album, probably my favourite of all time.
  32. DinoM
    Dec 4, 2007
    8
    This one grew on me. Great album, definitely worth getting, most of the songs are content filled and each with unique appeal. The indie feel is still this for this huge mainstream band. Instant classics which are not easily forgettable. Do yourself a favour and get this album.
  33. NicoleG
    Nov 23, 2007
    0
    absolute garbage
  34. steveb
    Nov 21, 2007
    8
    This cd is awesome, and anyone who gives it less than a 7 just plain doesn't get it. This album is one of the best of 2006 and I am so sick of people slagging it off, saying it is worse than hot fuss, and basically writing it off completely. I admit the first couple times I listened to it I wasn't too keen, but the more you listen to it the more beautiful it becomes. It is This cd is awesome, and anyone who gives it less than a 7 just plain doesn't get it. This album is one of the best of 2006 and I am so sick of people slagging it off, saying it is worse than hot fuss, and basically writing it off completely. I admit the first couple times I listened to it I wasn't too keen, but the more you listen to it the more beautiful it becomes. It is actually one of the few pop/rock masterpieces to come out since the strokes first album, Is this It. I mean, even my mother likes the album and she is 55, and no, she isn't lame, if you are thinking "My god, moms like it?" She enjoys radiohead and old smashing pumpkins as well, and I think that this album transcends boundaries, musically and the age of the audience. Before you slag this album, please, just give it 4 or 5 listens. I guarantee you will LOVE the album. Top 10 of 2006 for sure. Expand
  35. JonC.
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    It's a acquired taste, but in the end it's a really good and well made album. It also helps that they write this music for a reason, and back up the things they have to say; Brandon Flowers criticized Green Day's "American Idiot" for being anti-American, and then creates "Sam's Town", which clearly says how great America is, no matter what political stance you have.
  36. Paul
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    Awesome album. One of my favourites of 2006.
  37. KaseyM.
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    An All-time favorite album!! (and Im picky when it comes to lyric and vocal creativity) The album is full of character and energy that most artists today are lacking... plus the concert was absolutely amazing! Seeing Sam's Town live was the highlight of my concert-filled summer and I enjoyed it so much I'm driving to Texas to see it again! Rolling Stone should fire the critic An All-time favorite album!! (and Im picky when it comes to lyric and vocal creativity) The album is full of character and energy that most artists today are lacking... plus the concert was absolutely amazing! Seeing Sam's Town live was the highlight of my concert-filled summer and I enjoyed it so much I'm driving to Texas to see it again! Rolling Stone should fire the critic who gave Paris Hilton a better review than Brandon Flowers and The Killers. Expand
  38. Oligami
    Sep 11, 2007
    4
    It is worse than Hot Fuss for sure.
  39. Jeroen
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums I have. (only listened to it since 3 weeks).. Am listening now for 3 weeks to it. That happens rarely. Category new one from Kings of leon...Very very good.
  40. scottw.
    Aug 19, 2007
    8
    They are true pop rockers and this album proves it. An other one thats a must buy for todays rock fans.
  41. MislavF.
    Aug 9, 2007
    4
    I honestly got so tired of the cheese of this album that I turned it off on the last track, not even a full listen.
  42. CarlB
    Jul 19, 2007
    5
    Very mediocre. I do not understand why this band are so popular when people like Mark Lanegan are hardly noticed.
  43. PalomaM.
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    It took me some time to fully appreciate it, but now it's definitely one of my favourite albums: catchy chorus, good guitars, lyrics with something to say... If I had to point something not so good, maybe I'd say it's a bit "overproduced".
  44. JoshK.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    One of my favorite albums. It is as good as Hot Fuss, but it takes a few listens to see it. After that you'll notice how every track except the two enter and exit tracks are completely unique.
  45. Guidov.
    Jun 30, 2007
    3
    I really don't get this band and their rising popularity. What's special about this? It's pretentious, it doesn't really rock the balls out of your pants and the musicians are nothing special.
  46. SulH.
    Jun 28, 2007
    8
    A solid album (albeit a bit too much grandeur) that really grows on you with every spin..
  47. TrishL.
    Jun 25, 2007
    5
    Mediocre album. As a huge fan of Hot Fuss, this was a bitter disappointment.
  48. GarethL
    May 27, 2007
    10
    I loved Hot Fuss ! I love Sams Town ! Why do so many people expect artists to churn out the same stuff, album after album ? Musically fantastic ... can't stop listening to it ... cant wait to see where they go next time ! Just LISTEN !!!!
  49. JimP.
    May 25, 2007
    8
    This album takes a while to warm up to. The first time I listened, I found maybe two tracks that I liked. But I found the more time I spent with it, the more I liked it. Probably also helped that I saw the Killers live somewhere in the mix. A much better album than what the metascore would have you believe.
  50. HermiaJ
    Apr 26, 2007
    9
    Strong follow up to Hot Fuss that shows growth and more complexity in both the music and lyrics.
  51. CoolKid
    Apr 24, 2007
    9
    Good record. Key idea though is that each song ranslates VERY VERY well to the live show. See them live.
  52. JimD
    Apr 14, 2007
    10
    Took about 500 listens for me to comment - I LUV this album. Sprinsteenian lyrics, sweet ambitious songs that demand your attention. The best of music evokes thoughts and images and that's just what this album does.
  53. ScottW
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    This album is not perfect but it is better than "Hot Fuss." While it's true the band sounds more bombastic, they have every right to be with the great songs on this album. The best song is "Bling (Confession of a King)" and the worst is "Bones."
  54. MarkJ
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    A fantastic album! There truly isn't a bad song on the album. Its a better album than Hor Fuss for sure.
  55. JerryT
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    I LOVE this CD. The more you listen to it the more you learn. The lyrics are great and so is the sound. Congrats to the Killers for topping their first album.
  56. sindym
    Feb 10, 2007
    10
    I love this album, but it take a couple of listens before individual songs stood out to me. I loved hot fuss and i feel a little sad that they have left that part of their lives behind. I love both albums, but they sound like two different bands. My two favourite bands.
  57. DavidM
    Jan 29, 2007
    8
    With this album the Killers strike me right in my heart. I realy love the lyrics and melody and the way that it feels like a unity.
  58. ReviewBoy15
    Jan 26, 2007
    8
    The lyrics are'nt amazing at first but it's the way that they combine the lyrics into their instrumental music that gets you hooked. It's not as good as "Hot Fuss" but it's a great record nonetheless. Kept me hooked for weeks on end.
  59. ScottM
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    Great sophomore effort. With ballads such as "Bling", "Read My Mind", and others The Killers have certainly evolved from their last album, adding a little more rock and subtracting some of the digital pop from Hot Fuss. It will be interesting to see where this will lead.
  60. JeffreyH
    Dec 14, 2006
    8
    I'm not ready to put this album up there with Hot Fuss quite yet, but the more I listen, the catchier it gets. Upon first listen, overall, I was disappointed because I was expecting Hot Fuss, part II. But it is quite different, and the listener quickly realizes that Flowers is taking a HUGE chance with songs reaching his upper vocal limits. However, that said, it works. The last few I'm not ready to put this album up there with Hot Fuss quite yet, but the more I listen, the catchier it gets. Upon first listen, overall, I was disappointed because I was expecting Hot Fuss, part II. But it is quite different, and the listener quickly realizes that Flowers is taking a HUGE chance with songs reaching his upper vocal limits. However, that said, it works. The last few songs on the album are a whip, but the first half is great. Best album in the last 50 years?? Not quite. Expand
  61. daveb
    Dec 11, 2006
    8
    The Killers have always been about melding their influences with their own view; I've seen the Springsteen thing a zilllion times in the reviews, and that is a very simplistic thing to take away. There is far more to this album than its Springsteen influences: not once have I seen a reviewer refer to it as a rock opera or a "concept album", which I feel would be more apt. All in all, The Killers have always been about melding their influences with their own view; I've seen the Springsteen thing a zilllion times in the reviews, and that is a very simplistic thing to take away. There is far more to this album than its Springsteen influences: not once have I seen a reviewer refer to it as a rock opera or a "concept album", which I feel would be more apt. All in all, "Sam's Town" is a great next step for the Killers and after I've spent a few more months digesting it, I'll look forward to the next leg of the journey. Expand
  62. randolfl
    Dec 4, 2006
    7
    On first listen there's enough about Sams Town to draw the listener in. Fans will instantly recognize Flowers' distinctive vocal tones while newcomers are likely to turn their ear to its urgency and energy. This is the bands strength; a telling energy infused with a kind of spiritual yearning and professional desire to go all the way. Throw in the big band theatrics and the On first listen there's enough about Sams Town to draw the listener in. Fans will instantly recognize Flowers' distinctive vocal tones while newcomers are likely to turn their ear to its urgency and energy. This is the bands strength; a telling energy infused with a kind of spiritual yearning and professional desire to go all the way. Throw in the big band theatrics and the recipe except for its most crucial elements is almost complete. Authenticity is something aspiring bands, especially those in their early years, need to build. Its rare abnyone arrives fully formed. In Sams Town there is more ambition than authentic greatness but the let don is still leaves plenty of room for hope. I think The Killers have it in them to make a great rock and roll record, Flowers just has to find the right place inside himself to come up withh lyrics and the delivery. Less U2 now, more Springsteen 30 years ago. Expand
  63. RichS
    Dec 4, 2006
    9
    Good CD, different than first one so some may not like it. It has a good variety of songs.
  64. joej
    Dec 1, 2006
    3
    The whole record is in a key that doesn't suit Brandon's voice. He sounds like he is struggling throughout. Musically lame and lyrically the same. Posturing significance doesn't give significance. Disappointingly weak.
  65. dermotm
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    cracker-kicks the last ones ass-by the way if you go to c them make sure its not the last show of the tour
  66. NickG
    Nov 23, 2006
    9
    I think that this album is better than Hot Fuss because it works better as a whole. It is a much more cohesive feel that forces you to listen to the entire cd, and reminds you of Flowers' ability to write a catchy chorus. True, it isn't like they have grown up, although they attempt to seem that way, but they shed the unnecessary frills that seemed to be in their last album and I think that this album is better than Hot Fuss because it works better as a whole. It is a much more cohesive feel that forces you to listen to the entire cd, and reminds you of Flowers' ability to write a catchy chorus. True, it isn't like they have grown up, although they attempt to seem that way, but they shed the unnecessary frills that seemed to be in their last album and at least try to make a more serious feel, and although they don't follow through on it, it is still a nice attempt and a great album from beginning to end. Expand
  67. PC
    Nov 19, 2006
    9
    I must admit, when I first listened to this album I thought it was utter crap. It was too loud and sounded like they were trying so hard to be great that they crammed everything they counld into these tracks. And then somewhere along listening to the album all the different melodies and sounds seperated into something I could actually listen to. To be honest, I dont really like any recent I must admit, when I first listened to this album I thought it was utter crap. It was too loud and sounded like they were trying so hard to be great that they crammed everything they counld into these tracks. And then somewhere along listening to the album all the different melodies and sounds seperated into something I could actually listen to. To be honest, I dont really like any recent ablums, I'm more of a classic rock guy listening to artsits like ELP, Yes, The Beatles and Pink Floyd. This album echoes the sounds of those great bands that today's young have forgotten about. How many people today know that Meatloaf was something other than a food? Sam's Town is a very musically complicated disc. It takes many listens to actually see some of the brilliance behind some of the tracks. It just takes some time to see that brilliance, something critics dont have time to do. Hence the bad reviews Expand
  68. MadeineH
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    Great Album...best tracks are Bones, Read my Mind, When You Were Young,and For Reasons unknown. The Killers have made their follow up album to hot fuss with great sucess!
  69. jacobm
    Nov 16, 2006
    9
    exellent production, I normally dont listen to this sort of rock that I consider to 'whine' a little, but this album is fantastic
  70. JM
    Nov 13, 2006
    5
    I've listened to this album at least twenty times hoping to finally have that "Aha" moment where I understand what positive reviewers have been writing about. I still haven't had that moment. Often, the songs are so far over the top that I can't decide whether the group members are taking themselves way too seriously or making one big joke. Some people have written that the I've listened to this album at least twenty times hoping to finally have that "Aha" moment where I understand what positive reviewers have been writing about. I still haven't had that moment. Often, the songs are so far over the top that I can't decide whether the group members are taking themselves way too seriously or making one big joke. Some people have written that the album is stronger as a whole than Hot Fuss, but I'll take a couple of standouts that I can't get out of my head over consistently okay songs any day. The things that appeal to me the most to me on Sam's Town are the ones that remind me of other bands from the past three decades. To me, it ends up feeling like The Killers are desperate to be a Capital I Important band, but they want to be sure that we all know it's just a lark to them in case they fail. Expand
  71. DerekB
    Nov 11, 2006
    8
    I'm tired of people saying that this album is like Bruce Springsteen. Maybe they haven't listened to it and only looked at recent photos of the band. Or maybe all the reviewers decided to copy each other so they didn't actually have to listen to the album. Long story short...you wouldn't mistake this album for anything other than the Killers. Very catchy, great songs. I'm tired of people saying that this album is like Bruce Springsteen. Maybe they haven't listened to it and only looked at recent photos of the band. Or maybe all the reviewers decided to copy each other so they didn't actually have to listen to the album. Long story short...you wouldn't mistake this album for anything other than the Killers. Very catchy, great songs. Most of these songs will stick in your head for days afterwards. Expand
  72. faheemh
    Nov 4, 2006
    8
    If u hear it long it sounds like a spoof album (if theres such a thing). The lyrics are overreaching yet shallow. Musically its not uniquely Killers. The album starts out at a frenetic tempo but gets muddled towards the end.But I still give it 9/10. Why? It is just unbelievably addictive. I hear the title track atleast 10 times every day. Read my mind, bling, When u were young, Reasons If u hear it long it sounds like a spoof album (if theres such a thing). The lyrics are overreaching yet shallow. Musically its not uniquely Killers. The album starts out at a frenetic tempo but gets muddled towards the end.But I still give it 9/10. Why? It is just unbelievably addictive. I hear the title track atleast 10 times every day. Read my mind, bling, When u were young, Reasons unkown all rock. Hot Fuss is a nigh on impossible album to follow up. But Sams town comes really close. Go for it. Expand
  73. TravisB
    Nov 1, 2006
    4
    Ughhhh, how can you go from a catchy pop-rock album to this? I laughed out loud at the first track and I don't laugh easily. It's like they aren't sure what made them so damn likeable on "Hot Fuss" so they just throw in all that plus more. Making for a muddled and terribly overzealous composition.
  74. LukeM
    Nov 1, 2006
    9
    I agree with those who say the album reveals its strength after repeat listens. I was at first disappointed, then warmed to a few tracks, and now consider it a truly outstanding piece of work. The criticism of ripping off Springstein is somewhat misguided--the first album imitated New Wave and did a great job. This one imitates Bruce and U2 and also produces a great series of tracks. I agree with those who say the album reveals its strength after repeat listens. I was at first disappointed, then warmed to a few tracks, and now consider it a truly outstanding piece of work. The criticism of ripping off Springstein is somewhat misguided--the first album imitated New Wave and did a great job. This one imitates Bruce and U2 and also produces a great series of tracks. Perhaps imitating the latter is sacrilege for some critics but those who trashed this album let their personal feelings cloud their judgment. This is a great album. Expand
  75. GarethR
    Oct 31, 2006
    8
    First play - not all that impressed. Second play - still not sure. Third play - actually, it's not at all bad. Fourth play - I can see why the more reliable music press has given it good reviews. Fifth play - really good, probably better than Hot Fuss. The more you play this album, the more it reveals itself and I think it will ultimately prove a more rewarding listen than Hot Fuss.
  76. elliot
    Oct 30, 2006
    9
    The critics who trashed this album are dead wrong. It is more complete, nuanced and more consistently good throughout vs Hot Fuss. A more grown up band just having fun. After reading the reviews I hesitated buying it but after listening to the tracks for over a week I am sure this will be a favourite from 2006. The RS review was particularly off...
  77. AlexA
    Oct 27, 2006
    9
    Sounds epic. Brandon Flovers and co. are the new U2, that's for sure!
  78. JonH
    Oct 27, 2006
    8
    Only re-cuts of Mr. Brightside and Somebody Told Me would have generated positive reviws from critics. When an album is as good as Hot Fuss, it's too easy to listen to the follow-up and say "this one isn't as good." It doesn't have to be. If Hot Fuss is a 9 with the two big singles being 10s, Sam's Town is an 8. There are no 10s in terms of singles (though When You Only re-cuts of Mr. Brightside and Somebody Told Me would have generated positive reviws from critics. When an album is as good as Hot Fuss, it's too easy to listen to the follow-up and say "this one isn't as good." It doesn't have to be. If Hot Fuss is a 9 with the two big singles being 10s, Sam's Town is an 8. There are no 10s in terms of singles (though When You Were Young is pretty close) but there are a lot more good songs on Sam's Town than on Hot Fuss. Hot Fuss trailed off at the end whereas Sam's Town has solid tunes from start to finish. Anyone who made up their mind about this album without listening to it 10 times should be instantly discredited and forced to go home and give it 9 more listens. GREAT ALBUM. Don't believe the hype. Expand
  79. ccguy
    Oct 26, 2006
    8
    Although their musical style has gone through a makeover along with their appearance, The Killers have kept the lure and grandeur of Hot Fuss while creating wonderful dance rock songs that sell. Most of the tunes on this album are exceptional, catchy, and attractive to listen too. This time around, though, the songs are more arena rock friendly and easier to listen too.
  80. Mycroft
    Oct 26, 2006
    5
    It's not a bad record, it's just that for a band that has their aspirations they sure sound average. And it does not bode well that the remixes of When you were young are better than the original or any of the other tracks on the album.
  81. amelia
    Oct 25, 2006
    9
    Loved it. It may not be Hot Fuss and does take 2 or 3 listens to appreciate it but so worth it. Thankyou Mr Flowers for a great album :)
  82. moooochhahhahha
    Oct 24, 2006
    7
    Good album but nothing stands out bones sounds like some crap from the magic numbers and you dont really get to hear the rest of the band as it is seems to be based around brandon cant touch hot fuss and some of its songs i find sams town have turned away from what it did in hot fuss and have just become something which i no longer think sounds great.
  83. bb
    Oct 23, 2006
    8
    making a killer second album after such a popular and awesome, smash breaking first album, is always hard, and most of the time not so succesful...the killers have done a decent job, the thing is that most of the fans/listeners were used to the 'hot fuss' sound, and had expectations on the new album somewhere along those lines, but the killers went a new way. this is confusing making a killer second album after such a popular and awesome, smash breaking first album, is always hard, and most of the time not so succesful...the killers have done a decent job, the thing is that most of the fans/listeners were used to the 'hot fuss' sound, and had expectations on the new album somewhere along those lines, but the killers went a new way. this is confusing and new and like...yea...the fans/listeners were probably like: "wtf? this is just plain shit....*further insults*"...but in the realistic world nothing can be liked given only one chance, so after some listens to this new album, i've grown to like my visits in sam's town... Expand
  84. JosephF
    Oct 22, 2006
    10
    VERY GOOD...THE killers are great band and the deserve this rank
  85. CandaceS
    Oct 20, 2006
    10
    This album is nothing short of amazing. As a fan of Hot Fuss it's easy to see how much they've grown as songwriters and musicians.
  86. JosephA
    Oct 20, 2006
    8
    It may not be "The best rock album in 20yrs." as the band proclaimed, and its definitely not "Hot Fuss 2" as many seem to have wanted, but I can't stop listening to it. I think its a great rock album, certainly one of the best since "Hot Fuss". It's very different from "Hot Fuss" and very ambitous. The lyrics seem a bit convoluted at times, and I can't really tell what some It may not be "The best rock album in 20yrs." as the band proclaimed, and its definitely not "Hot Fuss 2" as many seem to have wanted, but I can't stop listening to it. I think its a great rock album, certainly one of the best since "Hot Fuss". It's very different from "Hot Fuss" and very ambitous. The lyrics seem a bit convoluted at times, and I can't really tell what some of the songs are about, but the melodies and overall grandeur have me hooked. Expand
  87. CWhit
    Oct 20, 2006
    9
    Anyone who doesn't appreciate the lyrics on this album has never heard of a metaphor - which apparently includes most of the reviewers..
  88. TheCoffinRobber
    Oct 18, 2006
    9
    While it isn't Hot Fuss, it isn't atrocious either. As a matter of fact, I got this the same day as "The Open Door" by Evanescence and found myself listening to this more, even though I'm a much bigger Evanescence fan. Why? The Killers provided a solid release, there's only one song on here that feels like filler (My List) and many that feel like singles (When You Were While it isn't Hot Fuss, it isn't atrocious either. As a matter of fact, I got this the same day as "The Open Door" by Evanescence and found myself listening to this more, even though I'm a much bigger Evanescence fan. Why? The Killers provided a solid release, there's only one song on here that feels like filler (My List) and many that feel like singles (When You Were Young, Bones, Uncle Jonny, Sam's Town) This was musically not as attractive as Hot Fuss, but you can tell it's the same band, doing basically the same thing. From before the album was released Flowers mentioned a bit of a change. I only really noticed that on enterlude and exitlude, and they weren't supposed to be the same. American Idiot faced the same fate, a good album, but dissed for not being what had been expected. Everyone who gave this a low score because they started with an amazing album and this couldn't quite reach that should be ashamed and start comparing it to the crap that's being released by other bands. I give this a 9.5. Expand
  89. BrianL
    Oct 18, 2006
    9
    This album is fun, catchy, and motivating. Does that count for anything? Do albums have to be artsy and challenging to get critical support, or can they just be enjoyable. Boy I hate music critics. Don't read the reviews: hear it yourself.
  90. colinw
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    i was unimpressed originally, but the album has really grown on me. songs such as "why do i keep counting," "the river is wild" and "Bling (confession of a king)" have become particular favorites of mine, to join "While you were young" and the enter/exitludes. overall, a very satisfying album.
  91. RAGGAM
    Oct 17, 2006
    1
    Bad, boring, installed into a stardom that ironically have killed them. People use to talk about their new sound as a disguise that you can buy, but in music the real good things dont work like that. And this album is simply bad.
  92. James
    Oct 17, 2006
    3
    I've given it a week, but I cannot get past the 7th grade lyrics. Couple those embarrassing lyrics with the ultimately boring music and you have a classic sophomore slump. I guess the only question now is whether it's merely a critical or both critical and commerical disappointment. If it's the latter, then they'll get their third album out within the next 15 I've given it a week, but I cannot get past the 7th grade lyrics. Couple those embarrassing lyrics with the ultimately boring music and you have a classic sophomore slump. I guess the only question now is whether it's merely a critical or both critical and commerical disappointment. If it's the latter, then they'll get their third album out within the next 15 months...if they're smart. Expand
  93. Brandy-LeeK
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    Awesome album, not better than hot fuss, but not worse than hot fuss either, just much different. Great enterlude and exitlude aswell.
  94. Megakraak
    Oct 16, 2006
    5
    Well, Flowers said this new album will be more "american" than 'Hot Fuss'. So what's new? 'Sam's Town' is a strange album and many times songs can be repetitive. We can find some interesting musics, not many, with a lot of bizarre influences... Meat Loaf?!!? Waterboys? 2 years ago, The Killers were the best "british" band; now they inverted that and are Well, Flowers said this new album will be more "american" than 'Hot Fuss'. So what's new? 'Sam's Town' is a strange album and many times songs can be repetitive. We can find some interesting musics, not many, with a lot of bizarre influences... Meat Loaf?!!? Waterboys? 2 years ago, The Killers were the best "british" band; now they inverted that and are trying to be the best american band... they intend! Not sure if they will. Originality decreases. Expand
  95. duncanf
    Oct 16, 2006
    9
    this cd has what most don't. it has class and it'soriginal unlike most cd's that i have listened too.
  96. DaveK
    Oct 15, 2006
    2
    Emo meets Springsteen with a closed head injury lyrics. Lacks the zeal of Hot Fuss and the updated-retro alternative fun. Sam's sounds clunky, over-dramatic and joyless. The change in sound is unfortunate, a backlash is coming.
  97. Brent
    Oct 15, 2006
    8
    Kind of like Green Day's American Idiot, this is a big mainstream rock album that is pretty damn good but will be hated by prestigious rock critics like Pitchfork. OK Computer its not. But I am having more fun listening to this than the new Sonic Youth for Frank Black album for sure.
  98. MIchaelF
    Oct 15, 2006
    9
    Excellent follow up. Anyone who compares this to Hot Fuss needs to actually listen to both albumes. Definite maturation in the lyrics, much more even in tone and sound than the first album. Don't know about aiming too high, but they have acheived a great follow up.
  99. mikes.
    Oct 14, 2006
    5
    There first album absolutely Sucked with a capital "S." But there single was sort of a guilty pleasure much like Panic at the Disco has a guilty pleasure single. Suprisingly they actually improved their production and songwriting with their new release Sam's Town. Not a good band to begin with, but at least they sound inspired and that they are trying hard to make a good album. There first album absolutely Sucked with a capital "S." But there single was sort of a guilty pleasure much like Panic at the Disco has a guilty pleasure single. Suprisingly they actually improved their production and songwriting with their new release Sam's Town. Not a good band to begin with, but at least they sound inspired and that they are trying hard to make a good album. They've matured, in a good way, but they are no longer so bad they're good (so u can laugh at how bad they are). They're now an average sounding band. Not boring, not entertaining either, but an improvement over their previous efforts nonetheless. Expand
  100. Sonny
    Oct 13, 2006
    10
    This album is great. It's more complete than the 1st, and I love the arena rock sound. Unfortunately it's become fashionable for the critics to bash a band's album that follows one that was raved about by critics. Remember when Rolling Stone voted QOTSA's "R" one the best abums of 2000 then said "Songs for the Deaf" was crap. all i know is this album will be This album is great. It's more complete than the 1st, and I love the arena rock sound. Unfortunately it's become fashionable for the critics to bash a band's album that follows one that was raved about by critics. Remember when Rolling Stone voted QOTSA's "R" one the best abums of 2000 then said "Songs for the Deaf" was crap. all i know is this album will be appreciated by The Killers fans, and in future years (i.e Pearl Jam "Vs.") Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Uncut
    60
    The problem... is that size seems to be used as an excuse for the lack of musical ideas. [Nov 2006, p.102]
  2. Crucially, Sam's Town sounds like a complete collection, with a far better strike rate than its predecessor.
  3. 80
    It is very good.