Sam's Town

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Oct 3, 2006
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 291 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 291

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Samantha
    Oct 3, 2006
    8
    I really like this album. Its alittle different then there first album 'Hot Fuss' (which I love) but, I think the songs are great and catchy. And Brandon Flowers has an amazing sound. All and all, I love their music, lyrics, and there whole musical style.
  2. JonS
    Oct 3, 2006
    8
    not as good as hot fuss. what would be? not really hearing the springsteen influences. hear some simple minds, and u2, and more obscurely - the the. definite 80's type of vibe being dished out. good. more mature than hot fuss...i dig it more each time i listen to it.
  3. AndrewR.
    Oct 4, 2006
    3
    ouch, tough to listen to. I didn't "enjoy the show", and frankly "Sam's town" should only have a population of 3.
  4. Sven
    Oct 4, 2006
    9
    Works for me. I quite like the idea of a band having numerous personas. It has a different feel to Hot Fuss, which will arguably be seen retrospectively as one of the most classic debut albums, bo so what. The songwriting is strong and the tunes instantly cathy. A Mr Brightside there isn't, but I'm sure I will be tapping along to many of these tacks when I see them live next Works for me. I quite like the idea of a band having numerous personas. It has a different feel to Hot Fuss, which will arguably be seen retrospectively as one of the most classic debut albums, bo so what. The songwriting is strong and the tunes instantly cathy. A Mr Brightside there isn't, but I'm sure I will be tapping along to many of these tacks when I see them live next month. It has a very familiar feel already - I usually take 4 or 5 listens of an album to even get an opinion. I like it. Expand
  5. DanielM
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    A rock Opera masterpiece. 80's, Springsteen inspiration and The Killers at their best.
  6. CarlosV
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    Perfect!
  7. Ian
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    Sure, it thinks its more important than it is and the lyrics aren't revolutionary. But that doesn't make the music, Flowers' voice or the overall experience any less remarkable. Better than Hot Fuss, and kudos for a band willing to grow a little.
  8. jimh
    Oct 5, 2006
    0
    no me gusta
  9. ConorW
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    Epic album, driven by a real emotive power and the overwhelming feeling that there is something immense going on behind the music. With Sam's Town the killers have transcended novelty status, taking their rightful place at the forefront of modern music. The sign of a great band is that their music evolves and progresses - meaning that this isn't Hot Fuss all over again, and some Epic album, driven by a real emotive power and the overwhelming feeling that there is something immense going on behind the music. With Sam's Town the killers have transcended novelty status, taking their rightful place at the forefront of modern music. The sign of a great band is that their music evolves and progresses - meaning that this isn't Hot Fuss all over again, and some less open-minded fans and critics will resent this. However anyone willing to properly appreciate musical prowess will find immersive depth in this album and see that The Killers have in fact made a change for the better. Expand
  10. trimm
    Oct 7, 2006
    2
    im sorry but this sucks.
  11. Patrizia
    Oct 9, 2006
    9
    Absolutely great!!
  12. RyanL
    Sep 19, 2006
    10
    From the 30 seconds I've heard on each track, yeah. This is Hot Fuss #2, but it doesn't have a single hole. Can't wait to hear the rest.
  13. Paul
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    Awesome album. One of my favourites of 2006.
  14. DinoM
    Dec 4, 2007
    8
    This one grew on me. Great album, definitely worth getting, most of the songs are content filled and each with unique appeal. The indie feel is still this for this huge mainstream band. Instant classics which are not easily forgettable. Do yourself a favour and get this album.
  15. ReviewBoy15
    Jan 26, 2007
    8
    The lyrics are'nt amazing at first but it's the way that they combine the lyrics into their instrumental music that gets you hooked. It's not as good as "Hot Fuss" but it's a great record nonetheless. Kept me hooked for weeks on end.
  16. JohnF.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    it's a massively under-rated album, probably my favourite of all time.
  17. ScottW
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    This album is not perfect but it is better than "Hot Fuss." While it's true the band sounds more bombastic, they have every right to be with the great songs on this album. The best song is "Bling (Confession of a King)" and the worst is "Bones."
  18. JimD
    Apr 14, 2007
    10
    Took about 500 listens for me to comment - I LUV this album. Sprinsteenian lyrics, sweet ambitious songs that demand your attention. The best of music evokes thoughts and images and that's just what this album does.
  19. CoolKid
    Apr 24, 2007
    9
    Good record. Key idea though is that each song ranslates VERY VERY well to the live show. See them live.
  20. HermiaJ
    Apr 26, 2007
    9
    Strong follow up to Hot Fuss that shows growth and more complexity in both the music and lyrics.
  21. GarethL
    May 27, 2007
    10
    I loved Hot Fuss ! I love Sams Town ! Why do so many people expect artists to churn out the same stuff, album after album ? Musically fantastic ... can't stop listening to it ... cant wait to see where they go next time ! Just LISTEN !!!!
  22. TrishL.
    Jun 25, 2007
    5
    Mediocre album. As a huge fan of Hot Fuss, this was a bitter disappointment.
  23. SulH.
    Jun 28, 2007
    8
    A solid album (albeit a bit too much grandeur) that really grows on you with every spin..
  24. Oligami
    Sep 11, 2007
    4
    It is worse than Hot Fuss for sure.
  25. PaulB
    Nov 21, 2008
    1
    Awful, was expecting a better album than the last one which was only half good but amazingly this is rubbish all the way through.
  26. JW
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    One of the most important albums of this decade.
  27. AnonymousAnon
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    Very underrated, vocals are almost god-like at times.
  28. Loriell
    May 1, 2008
    10
    I think this is a great album....... all of these people that give them bad reviews really need to stop because they are one of the few bands that actually have meaning behind their songs.
  29. LoriG
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Okay this is really rediculos that some people are giving the album a bad review because brandon flowers speaks his mind! he is one of the few artists of this decade that actually has a brain and he is intitle to a freaking opinoin! And compared to the crap in the radio like freaken Hannah Montanna I think they are the best thing in 20 years!
  30. BernieG.
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    Give it a few years. Sam's Town will be considered one of the greatest albums of all time. It gets better with each listen.
  31. SuleimanM.
    May 18, 2009
    9
    The best album from the The Killers as of late. (My two cents.) Sam's Town has it's fair share of slow songs, as well as the up beat style that The killers are known for. While it's most certainly different than Hot Fuss, and more or less strays from the formula they are known for, it still manages to be an incredible album. Most certainly recommended.
  32. DerekB
    Nov 11, 2006
    8
    I'm tired of people saying that this album is like Bruce Springsteen. Maybe they haven't listened to it and only looked at recent photos of the band. Or maybe all the reviewers decided to copy each other so they didn't actually have to listen to the album. Long story short...you wouldn't mistake this album for anything other than the Killers. Very catchy, great songs. I'm tired of people saying that this album is like Bruce Springsteen. Maybe they haven't listened to it and only looked at recent photos of the band. Or maybe all the reviewers decided to copy each other so they didn't actually have to listen to the album. Long story short...you wouldn't mistake this album for anything other than the Killers. Very catchy, great songs. Most of these songs will stick in your head for days afterwards. Collapse
  33. LukeM
    Nov 1, 2006
    9
    I agree with those who say the album reveals its strength after repeat listens. I was at first disappointed, then warmed to a few tracks, and now consider it a truly outstanding piece of work. The criticism of ripping off Springstein is somewhat misguided--the first album imitated New Wave and did a great job. This one imitates Bruce and U2 and also produces a great series of tracks. I agree with those who say the album reveals its strength after repeat listens. I was at first disappointed, then warmed to a few tracks, and now consider it a truly outstanding piece of work. The criticism of ripping off Springstein is somewhat misguided--the first album imitated New Wave and did a great job. This one imitates Bruce and U2 and also produces a great series of tracks. Perhaps imitating the latter is sacrilege for some critics but those who trashed this album let their personal feelings cloud their judgment. This is a great album. Expand
  34. TravisB
    Nov 1, 2006
    4
    Ughhhh, how can you go from a catchy pop-rock album to this? I laughed out loud at the first track and I don't laugh easily. It's like they aren't sure what made them so damn likeable on "Hot Fuss" so they just throw in all that plus more. Making for a muddled and terribly overzealous composition.
  35. AJLooman
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    Idont know what the critics are griping about. im absoulutly stunned that this album is getting mixed reviews. The songs are great. thier song writing, melodies and overall sound is so advanced over rock bands out today. whos better fall out boy? panic at the disco? these bands cant touch the killers intensity.Its an album that gets better with every listen and anyone bashing it has Idont know what the critics are griping about. im absoulutly stunned that this album is getting mixed reviews. The songs are great. thier song writing, melodies and overall sound is so advanced over rock bands out today. whos better fall out boy? panic at the disco? these bands cant touch the killers intensity.Its an album that gets better with every listen and anyone bashing it has probably not givin it at least one full spin. Bones is my favorite song, and i wish it and all the other songs on the album would get the credit they deserve Expand
  36. Vaderis
    Oct 11, 2006
    9
    I was surprised to see the mixed reviews for this album. I think the melodic vox keyboard and the metamorphasis of Flowers' vocalizations from Hot Fuss were nothing short of breath-taking.
  37. JM
    Nov 13, 2006
    5
    I've listened to this album at least twenty times hoping to finally have that "Aha" moment where I understand what positive reviewers have been writing about. I still haven't had that moment. Often, the songs are so far over the top that I can't decide whether the group members are taking themselves way too seriously or making one big joke. Some people have written that the I've listened to this album at least twenty times hoping to finally have that "Aha" moment where I understand what positive reviewers have been writing about. I still haven't had that moment. Often, the songs are so far over the top that I can't decide whether the group members are taking themselves way too seriously or making one big joke. Some people have written that the album is stronger as a whole than Hot Fuss, but I'll take a couple of standouts that I can't get out of my head over consistently okay songs any day. The things that appeal to me the most to me on Sam's Town are the ones that remind me of other bands from the past three decades. To me, it ends up feeling like The Killers are desperate to be a Capital I Important band, but they want to be sure that we all know it's just a lark to them in case they fail. Expand
  38. MadeineH
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    Great Album...best tracks are Bones, Read my Mind, When You Were Young,and For Reasons unknown. The Killers have made their follow up album to hot fuss with great sucess!
  39. erics
    Oct 12, 2006
    5
    Does not even compare to Hot Fuss... WAY too much hype. Too much filler; this cd could have been cut down to maybe 2-3 tracks and the rest sounds bland and pointless. The Killers have let me down.
  40. Sonny
    Oct 13, 2006
    10
    This album is great. It's more complete than the 1st, and I love the arena rock sound. Unfortunately it's become fashionable for the critics to bash a band's album that follows one that was raved about by critics. Remember when Rolling Stone voted QOTSA's "R" one the best abums of 2000 then said "Songs for the Deaf" was crap. all i know is this album will be This album is great. It's more complete than the 1st, and I love the arena rock sound. Unfortunately it's become fashionable for the critics to bash a band's album that follows one that was raved about by critics. Remember when Rolling Stone voted QOTSA's "R" one the best abums of 2000 then said "Songs for the Deaf" was crap. all i know is this album will be appreciated by The Killers fans, and in future years (i.e Pearl Jam "Vs.") Expand
  41. mikes.
    Oct 14, 2006
    5
    There first album absolutely Sucked with a capital "S." But there single was sort of a guilty pleasure much like Panic at the Disco has a guilty pleasure single. Suprisingly they actually improved their production and songwriting with their new release Sam's Town. Not a good band to begin with, but at least they sound inspired and that they are trying hard to make a good album. There first album absolutely Sucked with a capital "S." But there single was sort of a guilty pleasure much like Panic at the Disco has a guilty pleasure single. Suprisingly they actually improved their production and songwriting with their new release Sam's Town. Not a good band to begin with, but at least they sound inspired and that they are trying hard to make a good album. They've matured, in a good way, but they are no longer so bad they're good (so u can laugh at how bad they are). They're now an average sounding band. Not boring, not entertaining either, but an improvement over their previous efforts nonetheless. Expand
  42. Brent
    Oct 15, 2006
    8
    Kind of like Green Day's American Idiot, this is a big mainstream rock album that is pretty damn good but will be hated by prestigious rock critics like Pitchfork. OK Computer its not. But I am having more fun listening to this than the new Sonic Youth for Frank Black album for sure.
  43. Brandy-LeeK
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    Awesome album, not better than hot fuss, but not worse than hot fuss either, just much different. Great enterlude and exitlude aswell.
  44. TheCoffinRobber
    Oct 18, 2006
    9
    While it isn't Hot Fuss, it isn't atrocious either. As a matter of fact, I got this the same day as "The Open Door" by Evanescence and found myself listening to this more, even though I'm a much bigger Evanescence fan. Why? The Killers provided a solid release, there's only one song on here that feels like filler (My List) and many that feel like singles (When You Were While it isn't Hot Fuss, it isn't atrocious either. As a matter of fact, I got this the same day as "The Open Door" by Evanescence and found myself listening to this more, even though I'm a much bigger Evanescence fan. Why? The Killers provided a solid release, there's only one song on here that feels like filler (My List) and many that feel like singles (When You Were Young, Bones, Uncle Jonny, Sam's Town) This was musically not as attractive as Hot Fuss, but you can tell it's the same band, doing basically the same thing. From before the album was released Flowers mentioned a bit of a change. I only really noticed that on enterlude and exitlude, and they weren't supposed to be the same. American Idiot faced the same fate, a good album, but dissed for not being what had been expected. Everyone who gave this a low score because they started with an amazing album and this couldn't quite reach that should be ashamed and start comparing it to the crap that's being released by other bands. I give this a 9.5. Expand
  45. joej
    Dec 1, 2006
    3
    The whole record is in a key that doesn't suit Brandon's voice. He sounds like he is struggling throughout. Musically lame and lyrically the same. Posturing significance doesn't give significance. Disappointingly weak.
  46. daveb
    Dec 11, 2006
    8
    The Killers have always been about melding their influences with their own view; I've seen the Springsteen thing a zilllion times in the reviews, and that is a very simplistic thing to take away. There is far more to this album than its Springsteen influences: not once have I seen a reviewer refer to it as a rock opera or a "concept album", which I feel would be more apt. All in all, The Killers have always been about melding their influences with their own view; I've seen the Springsteen thing a zilllion times in the reviews, and that is a very simplistic thing to take away. There is far more to this album than its Springsteen influences: not once have I seen a reviewer refer to it as a rock opera or a "concept album", which I feel would be more apt. All in all, "Sam's Town" is a great next step for the Killers and after I've spent a few more months digesting it, I'll look forward to the next leg of the journey. Expand
  47. JeffreyH
    Dec 14, 2006
    8
    I'm not ready to put this album up there with Hot Fuss quite yet, but the more I listen, the catchier it gets. Upon first listen, overall, I was disappointed because I was expecting Hot Fuss, part II. But it is quite different, and the listener quickly realizes that Flowers is taking a HUGE chance with songs reaching his upper vocal limits. However, that said, it works. The last few I'm not ready to put this album up there with Hot Fuss quite yet, but the more I listen, the catchier it gets. Upon first listen, overall, I was disappointed because I was expecting Hot Fuss, part II. But it is quite different, and the listener quickly realizes that Flowers is taking a HUGE chance with songs reaching his upper vocal limits. However, that said, it works. The last few songs on the album are a whip, but the first half is great. Best album in the last 50 years?? Not quite. Expand
  48. JosephF
    Oct 22, 2006
    10
    VERY GOOD...THE killers are great band and the deserve this rank
  49. ScottM
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    Great sophomore effort. With ballads such as "Bling", "Read My Mind", and others The Killers have certainly evolved from their last album, adding a little more rock and subtracting some of the digital pop from Hot Fuss. It will be interesting to see where this will lead.
  50. ccguy
    Oct 26, 2006
    8
    Although their musical style has gone through a makeover along with their appearance, The Killers have kept the lure and grandeur of Hot Fuss while creating wonderful dance rock songs that sell. Most of the tunes on this album are exceptional, catchy, and attractive to listen too. This time around, though, the songs are more arena rock friendly and easier to listen too.
  51. JonH
    Oct 27, 2006
    8
    Only re-cuts of Mr. Brightside and Somebody Told Me would have generated positive reviws from critics. When an album is as good as Hot Fuss, it's too easy to listen to the follow-up and say "this one isn't as good." It doesn't have to be. If Hot Fuss is a 9 with the two big singles being 10s, Sam's Town is an 8. There are no 10s in terms of singles (though When You Only re-cuts of Mr. Brightside and Somebody Told Me would have generated positive reviws from critics. When an album is as good as Hot Fuss, it's too easy to listen to the follow-up and say "this one isn't as good." It doesn't have to be. If Hot Fuss is a 9 with the two big singles being 10s, Sam's Town is an 8. There are no 10s in terms of singles (though When You Were Young is pretty close) but there are a lot more good songs on Sam's Town than on Hot Fuss. Hot Fuss trailed off at the end whereas Sam's Town has solid tunes from start to finish. Anyone who made up their mind about this album without listening to it 10 times should be instantly discredited and forced to go home and give it 9 more listens. GREAT ALBUM. Don't believe the hype. Expand
  52. GarethR
    Oct 31, 2006
    8
    First play - not all that impressed. Second play - still not sure. Third play - actually, it's not at all bad. Fourth play - I can see why the more reliable music press has given it good reviews. Fifth play - really good, probably better than Hot Fuss. The more you play this album, the more it reveals itself and I think it will ultimately prove a more rewarding listen than Hot Fuss.
  53. derekr
    Sep 28, 2006
    8
    really solid album. good old fashioned (really bombastic) american songwriting. the only truly weak track to speak of is "for reasons unknown," which sounds like the record company asked them to slap something more synthy on there. it's definitely a grower, though, i didn't love it on first listen -- it starts off strong then the stretch from "bling (confessions of a king)" to really solid album. good old fashioned (really bombastic) american songwriting. the only truly weak track to speak of is "for reasons unknown," which sounds like the record company asked them to slap something more synthy on there. it's definitely a grower, though, i didn't love it on first listen -- it starts off strong then the stretch from "bling (confessions of a king)" to "read my mind" gets a little samey, although the aforementioned track is the only truly weak one. best tracks: "sam's town" "when you were young" "bones" "this river is wild" Expand
  54. shmittys
    Sep 29, 2006
    9
    A great album, with a less electronic, more 'American' style sound. I am as much a fan of Hot Fuss as I am of this album. Get out and buy it.
  55. JonC.
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    It's a acquired taste, but in the end it's a really good and well made album. It also helps that they write this music for a reason, and back up the things they have to say; Brandon Flowers criticized Green Day's "American Idiot" for being anti-American, and then creates "Sam's Town", which clearly says how great America is, no matter what political stance you have.
  56. MarkJ
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    A fantastic album! There truly isn't a bad song on the album. Its a better album than Hor Fuss for sure.
  57. JimP.
    May 25, 2007
    8
    This album takes a while to warm up to. The first time I listened, I found maybe two tracks that I liked. But I found the more time I spent with it, the more I liked it. Probably also helped that I saw the Killers live somewhere in the mix. A much better album than what the metascore would have you believe.
  58. Tessa
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    This album is packed with amazing tunes. Although I must admit t reminds me of the first one but I'm a fan of everything they do. They rock!
  59. djcdjc
    May 14, 2009
    9
    I can understand why people may be annoued at the ever present bruce springsteen influence on almost every track. But overall this album is undeniably good. The critics who loved hot fuss mawled this but that shouldn't stop you if you like the killers than i don't see what you shouldn't like about this.
  60. jacobm
    Nov 16, 2006
    9
    exellent production, I normally dont listen to this sort of rock that I consider to 'whine' a little, but this album is fantastic
  61. NickG
    Nov 23, 2006
    9
    I think that this album is better than Hot Fuss because it works better as a whole. It is a much more cohesive feel that forces you to listen to the entire cd, and reminds you of Flowers' ability to write a catchy chorus. True, it isn't like they have grown up, although they attempt to seem that way, but they shed the unnecessary frills that seemed to be in their last album and I think that this album is better than Hot Fuss because it works better as a whole. It is a much more cohesive feel that forces you to listen to the entire cd, and reminds you of Flowers' ability to write a catchy chorus. True, it isn't like they have grown up, although they attempt to seem that way, but they shed the unnecessary frills that seemed to be in their last album and at least try to make a more serious feel, and although they don't follow through on it, it is still a nice attempt and a great album from beginning to end. Expand
  62. dermotm
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    cracker-kicks the last ones ass-by the way if you go to c them make sure its not the last show of the tour
  63. steveb
    Nov 21, 2007
    8
    This cd is awesome, and anyone who gives it less than a 7 just plain doesn't get it. This album is one of the best of 2006 and I am so sick of people slagging it off, saying it is worse than hot fuss, and basically writing it off completely. I admit the first couple times I listened to it I wasn't too keen, but the more you listen to it the more beautiful it becomes. It is This cd is awesome, and anyone who gives it less than a 7 just plain doesn't get it. This album is one of the best of 2006 and I am so sick of people slagging it off, saying it is worse than hot fuss, and basically writing it off completely. I admit the first couple times I listened to it I wasn't too keen, but the more you listen to it the more beautiful it becomes. It is actually one of the few pop/rock masterpieces to come out since the strokes first album, Is this It. I mean, even my mother likes the album and she is 55, and no, she isn't lame, if you are thinking "My god, moms like it?" She enjoys radiohead and old smashing pumpkins as well, and I think that this album transcends boundaries, musically and the age of the audience. Before you slag this album, please, just give it 4 or 5 listens. I guarantee you will LOVE the album. Top 10 of 2006 for sure. Expand
  64. NicoleG
    Nov 23, 2007
    0
    absolute garbage
  65. SebH
    Nov 14, 2008
    6
    I can understand where both parties are coming from - the tunes on this album are pretty damn amazing and it's a fun listen, but I don't think it's worthy of a perfect rating either. Lyrically, this is a complete disaster, and its overall concept just doesn't work (making it a similar kind of disaster as U2's Pop in that it sounds good but has an unrealised I can understand where both parties are coming from - the tunes on this album are pretty damn amazing and it's a fun listen, but I don't think it's worthy of a perfect rating either. Lyrically, this is a complete disaster, and its overall concept just doesn't work (making it a similar kind of disaster as U2's Pop in that it sounds good but has an unrealised concept). Then there's the fact that it just doesn't sound like the Killers - they take themselves too seriously here and it just doesn't work. I think a lot of people would have been happier if they had stuck to being a Vegas sleazebag new romantic/dance-pop band rather than this uber-earnest group aiming higher than they can punch Expand
  66. Feb 2, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed this album. It exceeds there predecessor. The Killers experimented a lot on Sam's Town and all of it sounds great. "For Reason's Unknown" is the best track on the album. All In All, Sam's Town is a great album. B+
  67. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    The second album is generally the hardest to make. Here we have an ambitious desire of releasing a rock 'n' roll album to become a classic. The thing is that it failed to do that... for most people. While it's not my favorite The Killers album, nor my second favorite, it has all that was needed to breakthrough as an instant classic. "When You Were Young", the lead single, proved to be pureThe second album is generally the hardest to make. Here we have an ambitious desire of releasing a rock 'n' roll album to become a classic. The thing is that it failed to do that... for most people. While it's not my favorite The Killers album, nor my second favorite, it has all that was needed to breakthrough as an instant classic. "When You Were Young", the lead single, proved to be pure rock 'n' roll with depth and strength. "Read My Mind", the best song here, proves to be deep and magical, one of the best songs The Killers have ever made. The title track is strong, just as "Bling", a bipolar rock and roll track that requires you to be prepared for huge moments and minimalistic moments within the same song. "Why Do I Keep Counting?" is another highlight here. But Sam's Town wouldn't be Sam's Town without the epic interludes "Enterlude" and "Exitlude". Highly recommended for people looking for real rock 'n' roll. Expand
  68. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    If you like the sounds The Killers can produce then I do believe you'll just love this. To be honest, I love hating band's 2nd albums but I just couldn't hate this. For a start, 'Sam's Town' has an extremely strong track list all the way trough, reminiscent of albums such as 'American Idiot', 'Nevermind' or maybe 'Passive Me, Aggressive You' in that respect. The songs 'Sam's Town',If you like the sounds The Killers can produce then I do believe you'll just love this. To be honest, I love hating band's 2nd albums but I just couldn't hate this. For a start, 'Sam's Town' has an extremely strong track list all the way trough, reminiscent of albums such as 'American Idiot', 'Nevermind' or maybe 'Passive Me, Aggressive You' in that respect. The songs 'Sam's Town', 'Enterlude', 'Uncle Jonny', 'For Reasons Unknown' and especially 'My List' really stand out to me as memorable 21st century tracks which is a pretty big deal in my book. Although there has been a lot of people saying that this album goes the places 'Hot Fuss' didn't even attempt to go, I really believe that the sound of the The Killers hasn't really changed much. It's all in perfect balance in my opinion meaning, they change up enough to keep it interesting but still keep that devilish, vibrant, cold & bouncy sound we fell in love with in 'Hot fuss'. I really can't fault this album, it obviously hasn't inspired an uprising or captured a huge audience, I mean it hasn't taken music to that place that artists such as Dylan and Hendrix were able to master and for purely that reason this album doesn't achieve the 10 out of 10. Fantastic album though!â Expand
  69. May 26, 2012
    5
    While I didn't think this album was awful, I found it weak when compared to Hot Fuss and Day & Age. I found the majority of the songs on this album to be dull and lacking hooks to make them memorable. I think this album will leave a poor impression on someone who picks this up as their first Killers album, and would recommend either Hot Fuss of Day & Age as a starting point.
  70. j30
    Nov 8, 2011
    7
    A really topsy turvy album with some really great songs like Read My Mind and When You Were Young, but with some dull songs like This River Is Wild and Bling (Confessions of a King).
  71. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    Good album. It's not nearly as good as Hot Fuss but it never dwindles and has some great moments. It's unnecessaryily short, making it a bit insignificant after a while, though
  72. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    Very strong follow up to their anthem filled debut album. This is a big rock record, less British Indie and more American ROCK than Hot Fuss. A big step toward the U2 sound can seen here. Takes a bit longer to get into than Hot Fuss but it's a really good record. Maybe a great song or 2 short of getting a 9 or 10.
  73. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    I don't know what some people were smoking when they wrote their reviews for Sam's Town?! This is one of THE best albums I have heard in quite some time. Most, if not all, tracks are epic in their own way, shape, or form. The bonus tracks, as per the usual, are probably the weaker portion of the album with Daddy's Eyes and Where the White Boys Dance, which aren't even that bad of songs.I don't know what some people were smoking when they wrote their reviews for Sam's Town?! This is one of THE best albums I have heard in quite some time. Most, if not all, tracks are epic in their own way, shape, or form. The bonus tracks, as per the usual, are probably the weaker portion of the album with Daddy's Eyes and Where the White Boys Dance, which aren't even that bad of songs. The majority, however, are excellent, classic Killers tracks! My favorites are definitely Bling (Confession of a King), For Reasons Unknown, Read My Mind, My List, This River is Wild, and, my absolute favorite, Why do I Keep Counting?. That's me being modest and half the tracks of the standard album. I will agree with what some have said on here already, that it is a grower album. The hard sound didn't agree with me so much at first, but after listening to that album a few times, it definitely finds a way into your auditory canal, in the best way possible. This album, in my opinion, is the epitome of Killers greatness! 10/10 hands down! Expand
  74. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    Sam's Town is a really good album it just lacks the variety of many of the other Killers albums. It has great songs but some of the songs are really nothing special. I would however still highly recommend it.
  75. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    They fixed most of the mistakes in their debut and released 'Sam's Town' then, which is a powerful alternative rock album with good music and good lyrics. Of course also the really good voice of lead singer Brandon Flowers! The Enter- and Exitlude are great; I just like the whole concpet of the album. 'When We Are Young' is the only top song, but all songs complement each other to a veryThey fixed most of the mistakes in their debut and released 'Sam's Town' then, which is a powerful alternative rock album with good music and good lyrics. Of course also the really good voice of lead singer Brandon Flowers! The Enter- and Exitlude are great; I just like the whole concpet of the album. 'When We Are Young' is the only top song, but all songs complement each other to a very good album! Expand
  76. Aug 22, 2013
    4
    [4.6] The Killers have a bad habit of losing interest in their own music, which doesn't help the experience of the listener. Sam's Town doesn't do anything interesting with a genre that is seriously worn out.
  77. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    Definitely the most underrated Killers album to date. When people think back to this album many will only remember the single "When You Were Young", but songs like "For Reasons Unknown" and "Bones" suggest that this album is much more full than you remembered.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Uncut
    60
    The problem... is that size seems to be used as an excuse for the lack of musical ideas. [Nov 2006, p.102]
  2. Crucially, Sam's Town sounds like a complete collection, with a far better strike rate than its predecessor.
  3. 80
    It is very good.