Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Brave and futuristic, by venturing into space, Mescudi finally steps out of Kanye’s shadow--with not just one small step, but one giant leap.
  2. Mar 3, 2014
    80
    Satellite Flight captures Cudi’s adventure back home to the moon and does it brilliantly.
  3. Mar 3, 2014
    80
    Scott Mescudi made an EP’s worth of material feel like an album, and he did it without surrendering his artistic integrity in the process.
  4. Mar 25, 2014
    60
    Cudi's Satellite signal needs some descrambling, but his core cadets likely read him loud and clear.
  5. Mar 18, 2014
    60
    To navigate successfully around a Kid Cudi album, then, is to get really good at squinting at the periphery.
  6. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    Satellite Flight: The Journey to the Mother Moon occupies a space between what is and what's coming, but Kid Cudi's admired originality falls short and is almost lackluster here in comparison to his previous works.
  7. 50
    Simply put, it’s just another Kid Cudi album--a scattered collection of songs developed as a concept album, but never fitting together to form something great.
  8. Mar 25, 2014
    40
    Aside from these three songs [“Balmain Jeans,” “Going To the Ceremony,” and “Too Bad I Have To Destroy You Now”], there’s little reason to listen to Satellite Flight. Only the biggest of Kid Cudi fans will be able to squeeze much enjoyment out of the remaining seven tracks here.
  9. 33
    Maybe it’s because we’ve grown accustomed to Cudi’s style and the influence it’s had over other artists, but at this point, it just sounds a little bit stale.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Mar 5, 2014
    8
    Kid Cudi is back. Or rather, The Man on the Moon is going back to his original habitat. I was never a fan of WZRD, but I kept respecting Kid Cudi for what he does and how he does it. Indicud was more my kind of thing, but Satellite Flight is literally Cudi's ascension to the Moon. The album is a preface for Man on the Moon III, and it prepares you splendidly for this adventure. Be sure to check out Balmain Jeans! Full Review »
  2. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    I usually write proper reviews but I'm not even gonna bother for this, too many retards thinking experimental/alternative hip hop music is bad because they have nothing like it. KID CUDI IS ON TOP MOTHER **** Full Review »
  3. Mar 9, 2014
    3
    Calling this a hip hop album was a joke. This is straight up, sky high music. I put this album and thought I would give it like a 6. Then it got to track number 5, Balmain Jeans, and it was downhill from there. He sounds like a better punch line Lil Wayne on this, with none of the charisma, and his flow just isn't even there. The production puts me to sleep because there is just nothing here. Kid Cudi has gone from being one of my favorite rappers with Man on the Moon: End of the Day, to being a watered down, boring joke of his old self. Cudi needs to take a break and listen to his first two albums and maybe even look back to 808s for MOTM3 or I assume it will end up being worse than this. Full Review »