User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 6 out of 31

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    I usually write proper reviews but I'm not even gonna bother for this, too many retards thinking experimental/alternative hip hop music is bad because they have nothing like it. KID CUDI IS ON TOP MOTHER ****
  2. Mar 5, 2014
    8
    Kid Cudi is back. Or rather, The Man on the Moon is going back to his original habitat. I was never a fan of WZRD, but I kept respecting Kid Cudi for what he does and how he does it. Indicud was more my kind of thing, but Satellite Flight is literally Cudi's ascension to the Moon. The album is a preface for Man on the Moon III, and it prepares you splendidly for this adventure. Be sure to check out Balmain Jeans! Expand
  3. Mar 9, 2014
    3
    Calling this a hip hop album was a joke. This is straight up, sky high music. I put this album and thought I would give it like a 6. Then it got to track number 5, Balmain Jeans, and it was downhill from there. He sounds like a better punch line Lil Wayne on this, with none of the charisma, and his flow just isn't even there. The production puts me to sleep because there is just nothing here. Kid Cudi has gone from being one of my favorite rappers with Man on the Moon: End of the Day, to being a watered down, boring joke of his old self. Cudi needs to take a break and listen to his first two albums and maybe even look back to 808s for MOTM3 or I assume it will end up being worse than this. Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2014
    3
    Not sure how, if you're a fan of hip hop, you can like this. Fortunetly hip hop has gone in many directions.But this synth/electronic mystic sound is NOT hip hop, nor did I like it. Kid Cudi is original and I dig his reach into new things. But there was NOTHING I liked on this CD. Nothing. Pass.....
  5. Mar 5, 2014
    4
    “Son, what did you learn in school today?”

    “I learned to never buy another Kid Cudi album without giving it a listen beforehand, Mom.”

    Yes, fam, I bought this one without listening. Even with Indicud in the books, I trusted Cudi enough to make a 10 track album with quality tracks that made me say “Dat New Cudi doe”, but this did not do that. Instead, I was taken aback by the fact
    that one of my favorite artists was able to craft a 10 track album with considerable filler. Tracks like “Internal Bleeding” and “In My Dreams 2015” are shockingly included and serve as clear evidence that this was once an EP. The decision to extend this one into an album was extremely poor indeed and serve to show how Cudi’s decision making when it comes to his recent work has suffered. However, there is still hope for Man on the Moon III next year. Tracks like “Going to the Ceremony” show Cudi’s considerable talent and I can see myself adding that to my list of favorite Kid Cudi songs without question. In addition, a track such as “Troubled Boy” continues to prove to me that Cudi is a cocktease in recent years. He licks the tip but does not give you the full blowjob anymore (no homo). The singing on this track is impeccable, but it never reaches its full potential due to Cudi just not adding anything other than what I can only assume is the hook. Finally, his production is solid, I do like it, but please, ditch it for MOTM3 and hand over the keys to Emile, Plain Pat, and Dot da Genius. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2014
    2
    Another complete disappointment for me here. As pretty much every work of his has been since his debut. His latest album Indicud was one of the worst albums of last year and this isn't much better.
  7. Jul 19, 2014
    8
    A concise introduction to the future Kid Cudi. I love and will always appreciate Cudi's experimental type of hip hop. This is a better project than Indicud was, and bodes well for his next album. The instrumentals got slightly repetitive if you weren't high. Balmain Jeans was nowhere near as good as people who don't regularly listen to Cudi would have you think. Best tracks were Internal Bleeding and Troubled Boy. ~ 7.6/10 Expand
  8. Mar 12, 2014
    8
    Good album, could be great but is too short and Internal Bleeding is just horrible. The intro is awesome, Balmain Jeans is terrific and Too Bad I Have To Destroy You is epic. Definitively a good album, not a masterpiece.
  9. Apr 22, 2014
    8
    Work of art.Here Kid cudi is being different with potential classics like Troubled boy and Too bad i have to destroy you.However the song Balmain Jeans has somewhat annoying lyrics.
  10. Apr 29, 2014
    6
    Not that experimental hip hop is bad, look at Death Grips, Milo, Captain Murphy, Childish Gambino, Old Cudi, and even SOME tracks on this album. Experimental hip hop is good, it can be a genre all on its own. But basing music that's experimental and nothing like it doesn't necessarily make it good. Like this album, about half the album was decent to good. Destination: Mother Moon does not sound like any Kid Cudi song you've heard before. It's experimental and I'm digging the instrumental. Going to the Ceremony though has a MOTM 2/WZRD vibe and it's my favorite track off of this project. I've heard the song before Satellite Flight was released on hotnewhiphop and it shed light to the whole "Classic Cudi" coming back. SATELLITE FLIGHT is a track I can say I hate. The cheesy thunder beginning the track, the moaning of what he calls singing, the chorus is repetitive, basically the only lyrics to the whole song horrible track. Copernicus Landing seems like an Interlude, like a part 2 to Destination: Mother Moon and I'm loving the sci-fi sounds attatched to it. It's errie, chilling, but soothing and relaxing. Balmain Jeans has to be my second favorite track. His singing has a MOTM flow but the beat you can tell is not regular cudi. It's a slow, smooth, warm track that mimics classic cudi but still keeps his experimental side alive. Too Bad I Have To Destroy you know is another track that I can say I do not care much for. I'm not recognizing the flow, or the instrumental. It's different, and uncomfortable. But once he starts rapping, its what makes the song for me. The instrumental isnt overshadowed by his moaning (singing) anymore and they work together. The rest of the track I don't care for either. Internal Bleeding. This is the only track that I feel works with his singing, that's about it. In My Dreams 2015, feels like a part 3 to the intro and Copernicus Landing. But it reminds me of those Droid Smartphone commercials and the little beeps sound cheesy. But once those organs come into play, its like a whole new song. Again, it has an eerie, chilling but relaxing and soothing feel. I'm not too fond of this track, but I feel like the album needs this track, it just fits in really well. Now, for Return Of The Man On The Moon. I thought this track was going to either make it or break the album for me, using the words, The Man On The Moon. It starts off with horns, sounds cool and patriotic at first, then starts to get cheesy and repetitive. Then these muted drums or guitar strings come into play and just adds more time than needed. Then the guitar comes in, violins, and chellos and its A WHOLE DIFFERENT SONG. LIKE, THE SONG COULDVE JUST BEEN THIS PART, NOT THE HORNS, MUTED DRUMS, OR ANY OF THE FIRST 3 MINUTES. Last track, Troubled Boy. This track does not deserve to be on here, could've left off with Return of The Man On The Moon. My least favorite track. Unless Cudi can find a balance between experimental beats and classic cudi flows, MOTM 3 might be a flop. More songs like Going To The Ceremony, Copernicus Landing, Satellite Flight, Balmain Jeans, and Too Bad I Have To Destroy You Now for MOTM 3. Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Mar 25, 2014
    40
    Aside from these three songs [“Balmain Jeans,” “Going To the Ceremony,” and “Too Bad I Have To Destroy You Now”], there’s little reason to listen to Satellite Flight. Only the biggest of Kid Cudi fans will be able to squeeze much enjoyment out of the remaining seven tracks here.
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    60
    Cudi's Satellite signal needs some descrambling, but his core cadets likely read him loud and clear.
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    60
    To navigate successfully around a Kid Cudi album, then, is to get really good at squinting at the periphery.