• Record Label: Maverick
  • Release Date: Oct 31, 2006
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. For most of "Saturday Night Wrist," Deftones contentedly let their instruments wander, inventing a meandering soundscape that broods in near darkness. [4 Nov 2006]
  2. 60
    A record that feels massive without tipping into bombast. [Nov 2006, p.106]
  3. 60
    A sideways step in the right direction. [Nov 2006, p.97]
  4. 60
    The Deftones' fifth album turns the dial to "statesmen." [Dec 2006, p.172]
  5. When the Deftones are successful, they seem to slow down time, expanding on floating moments of doubt and mystery. When they’re not busy getting bogged down in all those mini-moments, dragging the album through dread patches of sluggishness that is.
  6. There's little of the fire and invention that characterised 2000's White Pony. [Nov 2006, p.140]
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. ColinD
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    Truely a amazing work of artistic structure and brilliance. This entire record is playing at my funeral when my time is done.
  2. Feb 1, 2015
    10
    A truly incredible masterpiece in it's own respect. This album takes you to another world and makes you wonder if you can ever go back. XercesA truly incredible masterpiece in it's own respect. This album takes you to another world and makes you wonder if you can ever go back. Xerces tears your soul out through your ears. Full Review »
  3. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    it's everything you could ask for in a Deftones album, and more. their music perfectly blends alternative metal with shoegaze, creating a newit's everything you could ask for in a Deftones album, and more. their music perfectly blends alternative metal with shoegaze, creating a new experience and an altogether enjoyable experimentation. my only complaint would be the track "Pink Cellphone" and their choice of spoken word; i often end up skipping that track altogether in my regular playthroughs. Full Review »