Saturday Night Wrist

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Saturday Night Wrist Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bob Erzin (Jane's Addiction) produced the alt-metal band's fifth album. System Of A Down vocalist Serj Tankian guests.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Saturday Night Wrist proves yet again that Deftones have a corner on the transcendental-metal market. [Dec 2006, p.192]
  2. The album is mostly a heady, atmospheric, willfully too-difficult-for-radio wash of sound that, save for a handful of tracks, stretches out and explores Deftones' creative limits more than ever before.
  3. Boasts some of the Deftones' best out-and-out metal tunes to date. [3 Nov 2006, p.76]
  4. ['Wrist'] sees [Deftones] continue to explore that hazy hinterland, where The Smiths' sensitivity and Sepultura's sledgehammer riffs overlap. [28 Oct 2006, p.35]
  5. Saturday Night Wrist continues the Deftones’ sad trend, another album of scattered transcendent moments in a field of attention-getting parlour tricks, still eagerly tugging at the listener’s sleeve to say, "Listen to this sound we created!"
  6. 60
    A record that feels massive without tipping into bombast. [Nov 2006, p.106]
  7. There's little of the fire and invention that characterised 2000's White Pony. [Nov 2006, p.140]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. ColinD
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    Truely a amazing work of artistic structure and brilliance. This entire record is playing at my funeral when my time is done.
  2. JacobB
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    I've always been a casual Deftones fan. I don't own any of their albums but I like Minerva, Back to School, Change, all the usual. I've always been a casual Deftones fan. I don't own any of their albums but I like Minerva, Back to School, Change, all the usual. This album however, has made me totally fall in love with Deftones. I haven't plugged into an album for weeks and not gotten tired of it like I have with this album. I don't know how else to explain this album except by saying its amazing. Chino's voice is used like a musical instrument, a beautiful one at that, and I wouldn't change a damn thing about this album. Expand
  3. CindyS
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    It is one of the best albums!
  4. SpiralStairs
    Oct 31, 2006
    9
    I think SNW is just the latest in a long string of classic 'tones realeases. Personally, I think WP will stand as thier masterpiece, I think SNW is just the latest in a long string of classic 'tones realeases. Personally, I think WP will stand as thier masterpiece, though I'd argue for all the others (well, maybe not Adrenalin). PC is awful, hence the 1 point deduction but the rest of the record is insane...They've been listening to alot of MBV and The Cure lately... I don't understand why everyone is still harping on this divide b/w the "metal" tones fans (Adrenalin Rules!/etc.) and the pop ones (WP is the single greatest record ever made/etc.) The Deftones haven't been a "metal" or "pop" band for a long time now...they transcend any and all tags and genres. Remember, in the 80's, the cure were dismissed as "goth", now they are seen as the inspiration for countless bands, across all genre lines. I think history will remember the deftones the same way. And stop riffing on the 2003 ST record...it rules. Expand
  5. JR
    Dec 6, 2006
    9
    It's not White Pony, but it continues in that direction with a lot of Chino Moreno's Team Sleep vocal experience mixed in. Lyrics It's not White Pony, but it continues in that direction with a lot of Chino Moreno's Team Sleep vocal experience mixed in. Lyrics and are standard Deftones quality - which means they're brilliantly poetic. Expand
  6. paulc
    Nov 26, 2006
    8
    As with most deftones albums it's a matter of sorting out the gems from the noise. Gems include: Hole in the Earth Beware Xerces If As with most deftones albums it's a matter of sorting out the gems from the noise. Gems include: Hole in the Earth Beware Xerces If these were the only tracks on the album it would be more than worth it. Expand
  7. BenM
    Jan 30, 2008
    0
    Horrible,I just hated the way he sang the songs.I can't believe people can listen to this shit.It wasn't even rock.Awful.

See all 45 User Reviews