• Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: Apr 15, 2008
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Hector
    Sep 27, 2008
    0
    This album sucks. There are maybe one to three good songs in it but it fully supports why I'm all about Limewire and downloading before buying an album. This is the most useless thing I've ever bought. This band supposedly had so much promise when I read some of the reviews. There is no nostalgia here, there is no artistry here, just a bunch of cliché, over sentimental This album sucks. There are maybe one to three good songs in it but it fully supports why I'm all about Limewire and downloading before buying an album. This is the most useless thing I've ever bought. This band supposedly had so much promise when I read some of the reviews. There is no nostalgia here, there is no artistry here, just a bunch of cliché, over sentimental lyrics that attempt at emotional blackmail so that one may warm up and not be so harsh towards this. There are musicians that have not been sign to the same scale as this band has that deserve far more attention. This albums as though Stacy Q, or Kylie Minogue or Madonna attempted to make a Shoegaze record in 1985. I want my money back. Or at least go into the record store and exchange it for something better. However, I Expand
  2. SammyF.
    Apr 21, 2008
    3
    A major step backwards for the group. A turn to pure pop cheese.
  3. Nov 6, 2010
    1
    This album is pretty terrible unfortunately. I freaking love M83, but for me this album is just a let down. There is a fine line between amazing retro inspired, lo-fi music...and pure cheese. This album steps waaaay over the mark. There are a couple of fantastic tracks though. 'Dark Moves of Love' is poppy, loud and sentimental. 'Midnight Souls Still Remain' is a beautiful ambient track,This album is pretty terrible unfortunately. I freaking love M83, but for me this album is just a let down. There is a fine line between amazing retro inspired, lo-fi music...and pure cheese. This album steps waaaay over the mark. There are a couple of fantastic tracks though. 'Dark Moves of Love' is poppy, loud and sentimental. 'Midnight Souls Still Remain' is a beautiful ambient track, which reminds of 'In the Cold I'm standing', without the melancholy feel. It's just pure bliss. 'We Own the Sky' is a nostalgic sensuous track. Lots of swirling electronics. Fantastic. Uplifting. Expand
  4. HugoT
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    Oh my gosh....smells like 80ts, tell me who doesn't like it this way?Only senseless maniacs, they don't understand what is it to feel happy about music!Very easy listening, which I was beginning for! Comfortable music, totally repeatable.....Gonzaless new face warms my heart!
  5. AlexL
    Apr 17, 2008
    9
    M83 simply puts all the good back into the 80z sound and I am grateful.
  6. JoeT.
    Apr 19, 2008
    9
    Wow. After the increasingly epic quality through the last two proper albums, he/they moves M83 forward and in another direction. I'm surprised by the music press' cumulative score. Their criticism (that it's derivative, 'embarrassingly earnest, etc.) could be said of the previous albums too. I guess M83's not their flavor-of-the-month anymore, and the backlash is Wow. After the increasingly epic quality through the last two proper albums, he/they moves M83 forward and in another direction. I'm surprised by the music press' cumulative score. Their criticism (that it's derivative, 'embarrassingly earnest, etc.) could be said of the previous albums too. I guess M83's not their flavor-of-the-month anymore, and the backlash is underway. Figures. If you like the previous stuff or just curious, have a listen. Expand
  7. Joenh.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    Outstanding album. Takes a few listens to properly sink in.
  8. AndreC.
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    Stellar album - a fantastic and beautiful journey.
  9. Mark
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    I like it more than dead cities, but maybe thats just because this is the direction i wanted the band to go.
  10. DamianM.
    Apr 16, 2008
    9
    This move was always going to divide critics. Anthony's last two releases sounded like epic soundtracks, you would be forgiven for thinking that each album was one long incredible track. This album is a collection of songs, inspired by Anthony's love of all things 80's. This move was always going to divide critics but who cares? The songs are stunning.
  11. NicholasT
    Apr 17, 2008
    9
    I have to admit that my love for this album may stem from the nostalgia and memories I have with 80's new-wave/pop but "Saturdays=Youth" really is a very beautiful collection of songs. What Gonzalez has done with his most recent work is take the moody, crunchy aura of his two previous works and combine it with an amazing pop sensibility. I'm really surprised at the current, low I have to admit that my love for this album may stem from the nostalgia and memories I have with 80's new-wave/pop but "Saturdays=Youth" really is a very beautiful collection of songs. What Gonzalez has done with his most recent work is take the moody, crunchy aura of his two previous works and combine it with an amazing pop sensibility. I'm really surprised at the current, low rating and urge any M83 fans or new-wave/pop fans to definitely check this out. Nearly every song is amazing; "Kim & Jessie" is already one of my favorite tracks of 2008. Expand
  12. AristotleX
    Apr 24, 2008
    9
    I am in total agreement with Damian. After Before the Dawn Heals Us, what new avenue could M83 possibly explore? It would be nearly impossible to produce an album with more emotional intensity than BTDHU. This new album certainly will divide, not only critics, but many fans as well. It contains some tracks that are instantly appealing and others that are gradually absorbed until you find I am in total agreement with Damian. After Before the Dawn Heals Us, what new avenue could M83 possibly explore? It would be nearly impossible to produce an album with more emotional intensity than BTDHU. This new album certainly will divide, not only critics, but many fans as well. It contains some tracks that are instantly appealing and others that are gradually absorbed until you find yourself humming them throughout your workday (i.e. the last 2 minutes of "We Own the Sky"). Although Gonzalez uses many of the best elements of 80s music, the influences never feel forced or awkward. One reviewer aptly referred to the new M83, as the best 80s album never made. Fans who need M83 to sound like a Nascar PS3 soundtrack will probably be disappointed. But those who can appreciate the finesse required to cut a fantastic pop record will find much to appreciate. Expand
  13. EricC.
    May 5, 2008
    9
    I know a ton of people who look back on the 80s in shame and declare that there was no art or beauty to be found there. They hear the over-the-top emotion and massive sounds and shake their heads. And when they hear this album, they might gag at the sound of heavy synths and the bleak and youthful lyrics. When I listened to Saturdays=Youth, I heard some moments of heart-racing beauty that I know a ton of people who look back on the 80s in shame and declare that there was no art or beauty to be found there. They hear the over-the-top emotion and massive sounds and shake their heads. And when they hear this album, they might gag at the sound of heavy synths and the bleak and youthful lyrics. When I listened to Saturdays=Youth, I heard some moments of heart-racing beauty that I haven't heard since the Arcade Fire's Funeral (I should probably stop comparing everything to the Arcade Fire). Maybe Gonzalez set out to make an album built on 80s nostalgia. But what he ended up making was a heart wrenching album of youth that should be relevant to not only those who grew up in the 80s, but those who grew up in the 90s and who are growing up now. I'm 18 and grew up in the new century, and this is one of the most emotionally relevant albums I've heard in a while. Shrug it off as cheesy nonsense that deserves to lie in the mass grave of 80s culture. Personally, I think everyone should atleast hear it once, so we can celebrate who we were, who we became, and who we are still becoming. And I don't care if that sounds cheesy. Expand
  14. MinhN
    Jun 18, 2009
    9
    This album as a whole is fucking great. I think it's either you love this band or hate them. You Appearing, Kim & Jessie, Skin Of The Night, Graveyard Girl, Couleurs, We Own The Sky... all awesome tracks.
  15. AlanS.
    Apr 15, 2008
    9
    It seems as though a lot of the low scores are generated almost entirely by the fact that this record contains strong elements of 80s synthpop, which the reviewers never liked to begin with. If that's not your cup of tea then you really shouldn't bother with this. Musically, the album has lush arrangements, absolutely beautiful production and some of the catchiest tracks M83 has It seems as though a lot of the low scores are generated almost entirely by the fact that this record contains strong elements of 80s synthpop, which the reviewers never liked to begin with. If that's not your cup of tea then you really shouldn't bother with this. Musically, the album has lush arrangements, absolutely beautiful production and some of the catchiest tracks M83 has offered up since...well...ever. One of the strongest albums released so far this year, without a doubt, and not at all deserving of the low metascore it has. Expand
  16. Nick
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    A truely trancendant album. Beautiful songs that inspire both wistfulness for the past and anticipation for the future of M83's music.
  17. ErokJ
    May 17, 2008
    7
    I'd have to say I like maybe 4 or 5 songs on the album. I liked alot of where before the dawn heals us, but this is getting a little too vocal and "regular". Not enough substance to be that big of an album.
  18. AdamP.
    Feb 11, 2009
    8
    I dig the mixing and the sonic textures, but it seems like my fellow indie-music-philes overrate this album just a tad. Off the top of my head I can think of more than 30 albums released in 2008 that were better than this one.
  19. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    Love this album, much more different to the previous M83 albums dumping their trademark shoegaze/dream pop sound in favour of a more 80's new wave/ synth pop sound.
  20. Aug 11, 2011
    9
    S=Y taps into nostalgia and that is what makes this record so amazing. Though being pretty much different from their previous albums, it's definitely their best. I thought "Don't save us from the flames" would be their best song but once I've listened to this record, I changed my mind. "You, appearing" made me believe there's still real magic in music.
  21. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    best album everrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
  22. Jul 2, 2014
    8
    Saturdays=Youth feels like a constant good dream that you never want to leave. This album feels like an alternate universe and is excellently produced and Gonzalez really pulled out all the stops to make this an excellent and very memorable experience. I thoroughly enjoyed the entire album and M83 is still one of my favorite bands. Thank You Anthony!
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 70
    Filled with ambitious production and winsome nostalgia, Saturdays is an otherworldly chronicle of adolescence only a starry-eyed 20-something could make.
  2. For all the awe kindled by the effectively perfect sound in a transcendent highlight like 'Kim & Jessie,' the real triumph is that M83 uses such a setting for more simple melody and emotion than ever before.
  3. Saturdays=Youth meaningfully diversifies M83's catalog while retaining Gonzalez's indelible fingerprint.