Savane

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Savane Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 'Savane' is the final album from the acclaimed guitarist from Mali, who died in March 2006 after a three-decade recording career which found him injecting American blues into traditional African music.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. All we need to know is, he was a master and this is his masterwork.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    100
    An elegant summation of his work. [11 Aug 2006, p.69]
  3. "Savane" is without question one of the finest efforts in his legendary discography.
  4. One of his most accomplished recordings.
  5. It is beautiful, emotive music, literally and figuratively entrancing.
  6. Under The Radar
    80
    A work that deserves every bit of praise that it receives. [#15]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. ShoisiaD
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    Unbelievable! The music is so beautiful and moving. I can't stop listening to it
  2. LizeH
    Dec 16, 2006
    10
    Concerning Savane, I've nothing to add to the description given by Horri M. I am very grateful to Ali Farka Toure for the superb and Concerning Savane, I've nothing to add to the description given by Horri M. I am very grateful to Ali Farka Toure for the superb and soul-healing creations, wisdom, humility and humanity that no amount of money can buy. If this is the work of a farmer for whom music was just a hobby, I wonder what we could have missed! A shining example for the overwhelming majority of today's stars. Up there with the best of the best. Thank you louds & loudly and RIP ! Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2016
    10
    This is the best album i've ever heard. Wow is the only logical reactions to the talent that is on display throughout the record.

    The only
    This is the best album i've ever heard. Wow is the only logical reactions to the talent that is on display throughout the record.

    The only rejection one may have is the inability to understand what he is saying but in some ways i think that particular aspect liberates the listener. These song can say whatever it is you want them to say as it relates to your own current states. He plays and sings with enough skill, soul, and diversity to authentically convey any mood or emotion.
    Expand
  4. SamH
    Sep 24, 2006
    9
    I am still working my way through this album. Each listening reveals a little more.
  5. RichardK
    Jan 8, 2007
    8
    I'm only mildly interested in blues, but I took a chance on this album based on the Metacritic rating and the user comments. And I'm only mildly interested in blues, but I took a chance on this album based on the Metacritic rating and the user comments. And suprisingly I really liked this album. I'm often disapointed when I try a highly rated album outside my comfort zone, but this one really works for me. Expand
  6. ChrisD
    Dec 22, 2006
    7
    I was excited to see that something has been rated so high, but i was left dissapointed after a listen. I can appreciate the album, its just I was excited to see that something has been rated so high, but i was left dissapointed after a listen. I can appreciate the album, its just not my cup of tea. Expand
  7. ToddW
    Nov 1, 2006
    0
    This vote is not so much a rejection of this album, but the whole Dead Music Artist Releases Swan Song and Critics Swoon idea. See Johnny This vote is not so much a rejection of this album, but the whole Dead Music Artist Releases Swan Song and Critics Swoon idea. See Johnny Cash and Warren Zevon, et al. I know they're probably just trying to be kind, which is fine if you happen to be at the wake, but call it as you hear it, not as your heart wants it in some Alice in Wonderland musical utopia. Perhaps I'm missing something, but are you telling me this album is in league with "Astral Weeks," "Forever Changes," "Highway 61," "Pet Sounds," "Closer," "O.K. Computer," "In the Aeroplane Over the Sea," "Pink Moon," or "Spiderland?" I'm sorry, my condolences, but no. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.