Save Rock and Roll - Fall Out Boy
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 122

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    After a four year hiatus Fall Out Boy come out swinging. The record has a perfect blend of up beat tempos contrasted by slower melodies that pull at the heart strings. The record especially shines on tracks such as "Miss Missing You" and "Just One Yesterday." Save Rock and Roll is also void of filler, giving fans a satisfying CD after a lengthy absence. Long time fans shouldn't hesitate to invest their $12.99 on the bands latest effort, and I believe new comers will find a lot to like here as well. Save Rock and Roll is a fun album from top to bottom, enough said. Collapse
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    4
    I really wanted to like this album as I loved Fall Out Boy's past albums besides Infinity on High which was meh. There are a few problems I have with this record. The first problem I have is the sheer number of musical guests. To name a few Courtney Love, Elton John, and Big Sean. Each of these are on a separate track. With only 11 songs it feels more like a various artists record. Even though it clearly isn't. That's "Save Rock and Roll"s biggest problem: the musical guests often overshadow the performance by the actual band. That is absolutely unforgivable. When I buy a record by a band I expect to hear a lot of that band not Courtney Love saying "It's Courtney, Which, I might add is retarded and makes me hate her that much more. One thing I cannot argue is that this album continues to show bands diversity. There are some large hip-hop influences on this record and it definitely shows. I would like to take a second to recognize that it is possible to make hip-hop sound good, but it doesn't at all this time around. "The Mighty Fall" is a perfect example of this and as a result is one of worst tracks on the album. I admire that they are experimenting and they have come a long way from their pop-punk roots, but experimenting with sound doesn't have to be bad. It just is in this case. The lyrics are another weak point of the album. It feels like they weren't even written by Fall Out Boy. Their lyrics are usually clever and inspired. This isn't true here. Now there a few good songs off of the album, but the singles feel like they don't even belong here. The song "Young Volcanoes" is probably the strongest track and deals with the albums overarching theme:youth or clinging to youth even when barely any of it remains. There are 4 songs that I like. Just 4. Out of 11. The rest feel incredibly weak and I expected more to come from them. Hopefully, there next album will be better. Expand
  3. May 28, 2013
    9
    Was never the biggest Fall out Boy fan before. I liked a good amount of their songs, but I didn't follow them closely enough to call myself a true fan. Never listened to entire albums as I found some of there songs tedious and pretentious (and I still do). But this song was a pleasant surprise for me as a mostly neutral fan of theirs. If you listen to it not expecting it to be a true blue rock album, and listen to it with an open mind toward all music styles you'll enjoy it. The only songs I don't really enjoy are Rat a Tat Tat and Save Rock and Roll. There's some real value in all the other ones. Albums you can listen to front to back are rare these days, and I consider My Songs up to Young Volcanoes to be some really good songs and a great summer listen. Expand
  4. May 6, 2013
    9
    This isn't the old Fall Out Boy, but that doesn't mean I don't like it. Bands grow and evolve and this just shows that I still enjoy the music that they produce.
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    7
    I give this a 7 only because to me it just doesnt seem like a Fall Out Boy album. I guess im old school when it comes to FOB I love Take this to your grave and From Under the Cork Tree. They are a few song on this album that I do like alot but The whole album in general doesnt give me that full excitement.
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    Their best album. Strong tracks ("The Phoenix", MSKWYDITD, "The Mighty Fall" and "Death Valley"), deep tracks ("Alone Together", "Just One Yesterday" and "Miss Missing You"), one strong AND deep track ("Save Rock and Roll") and some groovy tunes ("Where Did the Party Go" and "Young Volcanoes"). Oh! And of course: One little mess in the middle to ruing what would be something perfect: Rat a Tat. The collaborations are all great (except for Courtney Love) and Fall Out Boy should definitely keep walking these roads. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2013
    9
    Most people would never believe that this was fall out boy if they hear songs from this album, but the fact is this is in my opinion a much more improved fall out boy. they have taken all the things that they have learned from previous experiences and tightened them up. i believe this is the fall out boy fans will need, not want.
  8. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    As a big Fall Out Boy fan i can safely say that this is my favorite album as of yet, you can definitely notice the amount of dedication that went in to this album and it pays off!
  9. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    Full of solid arena rock tracks, Save Rock and Roll is far from a traditional rock album, and save rock it will not. But as an album of good individual tracks, it works.
  10. Aug 13, 2013
    7
    This has easily been one of the most controversial & polarizing of 2013's many comeback albums. For the record the only other FOB album I've heard in full so far is 2008's Folie a Deux, but that's quickly become one of my favorite albums of the last few years. The main controversy surrounding this album is basically that it's even more experimental & straying from the “emo” roots they established in the mid 00's. In other words, it's Folie a Deux, but to a much higher degree. But at the same time, what people complaining don't seem to be realizing is that it's very much a logical progression from what they've done before, especially if you take the various solo & side projects into account, which included pop/soul, electronic music & heavy metal This group of musicians clearly have very versatile creative minds, and to try to restrict them to one sound to satisfy your petty nostalgia is nothing short of insulting to the band.

    The album itself, for the most part, is pretty impressive. They've said in interviews that they pushed themselves to just go crazy musically here, and it definitely shows. Across the album there's synth lines, huge multi-layered group vocals, and even a string section to open the album on the gloriously over-the-top 2nd single “The Phoenix”. This mix of ambition & Fall Out Boy's general songwriting style almost creates a style all their own that's unique to this album. Another noticeable change is that Patrick now has a much more aggressive tone to his voice that can really compliment the songs at times by bringing an added sense of intensity, also notable in the 80's-like rock star wails in the infectious lead single “My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark (Light Em Up)”. To round up some other highlights, “Where Did the Party Go” is a very cleverly-written tale of faulty relationship dynamics that's so packed full of great symbolism & metaphors it took a few listens & even a trip to RapGenius's rock section to get it. Not saying beating around the bush is necessarily a positive trait but you have to admire how much thought was put into every word. It's got a great bassline too. And the most acoustically-based track “Young Volcanoes” is a very charming & fun ode to youth & the fun times in it that I could easily on the first listen picture being played around a campfire.

    There's also a few guest musicians scattered throughout the album, and they work to very varying degrees. On the positive side of things there's the power ballad “Just One Yesterday” with up & coming singer-songwriter Foxes, who I'm not familiar with but might have to check out soon, since her great vocals add a lot to the track. Easily the biggest feature here is pop/rock music icon Elton John on piano & vocals on the epic closing title track. Things start to take a turn for the questionable though on “Rat A Tat” with the washed up mess we know from music tabloid headlines & many a Cobain conspiracy theory as Courtney Love. It's otherwise a really good track, a very driving rock song with some subtle social commentary in the chorus. Unfortunately it's thoroughly decreased in quality by Love, between the incoherent rantings before each verse & the cringeworthy “It's Courtney, in the intro. Still though her “contributions” are pretty easy to forgive compared to the force of pure hip hop mediocrity that is Big Sean on “The Mighty Fall”, which is again an otherwise fantastic track with the best guitar riff on the album. Here he spews a bunch of random somewhat sex-related words in our faces that at no point even tries to have a flow.

    And unfortunately the problems don't end with the outside artists, though the worst is certainly behind us. The main one is that a few songs are just empty lyrically & overproduced beyond what's necessary. The 2 tracks that come to mind are “Death Valley” & “Alone Together”, which are good melodically but lyrically just generic party-pop songs. Am I saying that these are blatant sellouts? Absolutely not, at least considering the great instrumentation in “Death Valley”, leaving "Alone Together" to be the only track on the album I dislike as a whole. Though it may not be entirely intentional, this is no different from some of the most forgettable club fluff on pop radio from the last few years. They can pull off good pure pop music here though, like on “Miss Missing You”, which follows that style to a T but has enough personality to make it interesting. And overproduction seems to be sprinkled a tiny bit throughout multiple songs here, though I can't say exactly where & how, and the production in general has grown on me with each listen Overall, with Fall Out Boy's comeback album Save Rock and Roll, while I was slightly disappointed with a few decisions here & there, I can't say I wasn't impressed overall. It's a welcome return in spite of its flaws, and I hope this reunion isn't just a one-off thing. 72/100
    Expand
  11. Apr 25, 2013
    3
    Being a major fan of classic Fall Out Boy, I was excited to hear they were off the hiatus to make more music. I had listened to Evening Out With Your Girlfriend, From Under The Cork Tree, Take This To Your Grave, and Infinity On High religiously during previous years. I was soon disappointed to find that this is not the Fall Out Boy that I grew up with. Most people are going to defend this album by saying it's them growing when, truthfully, it just feels like a Patrick Stump solo project. Most songs have tedious, annoying riffs that are in no way catchy. If you didn't really grow up with Fall Out Boy and tend to like the stylings of bands like fun., you will defend this album until your dying day. If you have experiences of blasting "Carpel Tunnel Of Love" after a break up or watching the "Sugar, We're Going Down" music video premiere on Fuse when it still played punk, take this album with a grain of salt. This isn't a terrible album, it's just not Fall Out Boy. Expand
  12. Apr 23, 2013
    6
    I'd never paid much attention to Fall Out Boy, but when I heard their amazing new lead single, My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark, I thought they could really be on to making some magic And I was even more impressed at how well a rock track with screamo in it did in the UK charts. Wasn't as impressed with their next track, The Phoenix, though, but I told myself it was a minor blip. Unfortunately, there are a few misses on this album, like overly poppy Where Did The Party Go and Miss Missing You and the overly acoustic Young Volcanoes. But when the album works, it works. Aside from the amazing lead single, we get other gems like Just One Yesterday, The Mighty Fall, Death Valley, Rat a Tat and the amazing end, Save Rock And Roll: an emotional piece that will bring a tear to your eye and make you want to stand up for what you believe in. The album may not be perfect and it may not save rock and roll, but it's certainly a welcome relief from the avalanche of club bangers and dreary ballads recently. Expand
  13. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    it is one of the most enjoyable albums i ever heard long time ago honestly i did not like their music befor but this album really is the best till now in 2013
  14. Apr 17, 2013
    1
    Very poppy, mediocre and really shows no new side of music.
    It's a disappointing return for this group and shows that they are now back only for the money and not for the fans.
    I would call this "We Just Killed Rock N Roll" if they want to call this RocK n Roll.
  15. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    This album is a little bit different than their other albums, but I still love it! The title of their album is quite funny too... Anyways, this album sounds wonderful, even if they changed up their style.
  16. May 5, 2013
    7
    Save Rock and Roll isn´t great listening track by track in a sequence as Folie. It's certainly a good album and a good job. It manages to not disapoint the fans who were waiting for years to a new FOB's effort. That said, the album has more weak points than Folie Deux, the major one is lacking coherence.
  17. Jan 15, 2014
    8
    First things first; this is NOT a ROCK album, its NOT a pop-punk album, and its certainly NOT an emo album. Save Rock & Roll is an experimental record that doesn't really fit into any genre, its got hip-hop influence (My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark and The Mighty Fall), dubstep (in Death Valley), Mumford & Sons folk (Young Volcanoes), 90s style punk (Rat a Tat) and Elton John. Despite the abundance of influences (none of which are really Rock and/or Roll) its still an enjoyable listen, one that will alienate the hardcore fans but in doing so gain more mainstream ones. Its a grower of an album, it works well but it takes a while to realise. Make up your own mind, I like the album and find it to be better than Infinity On High and just as good as Folie a Deux (which is arguably their best effort, even though the fans don't realise it). Expand
  18. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Great album there are very few problems with this album. People will argue that it doesn't sound Fall out boy enough. But after taking a break and watching what the band did while not doing fall out boy the direction they took with the comeback makes sense. Every track either captures what makes fall out boy great or shows growth of the band. All the guests are great the only down is Courtney Loves bits seem to be unnecessary for the song. The weakest song on the album is Miss Missing You the stronger tracks are Save rock and roll, where did the party go?, and The Phoenix Expand
  19. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Very good album. This album is a very good change of pace for fall out boy yet it still manages to please old fans. this album is a complete mixed bag featuring a rap melody from big Sean on "the mighty fall" an inspiring anthem with sir Elton John and his piano, an 80s hair metal inspired track my songs know what you did in the dark and an amazing opener The Phoenix reflecting FOB's changes since there hiatus with a sense of urgency not found on old FOB tracks and amazing guitar work. the guitar and bass work on tracks such as the phoenix and "the mighty fall" are great but seem lacking on tracks such as "miss missing you" and "where did the party go. The drum work on almost all the album seems to poppy and dose not reflect Andy's drumming skills. Pete's song writing skills shine on "young volcanoes" "save rock and roll" and "the phoenix" but seem relay corny or outright bland and badly written on tracks such as "where did the party go" and "Miss missing you" overall the album is great and my favorite fall out boy album since "under the cork tree", but at times the album falls flat. best tracks are "save rock n roll" "the phoenix" and "young volcanoes" worst are "where did the party go" and "miss missing you" 8.5/10 Expand
  20. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    They did a very honorable, risky thing and streamed their album days before the release date via soundcloud. I listened to it at least 10 times and am going to get the physical copy ASAP. I recommend this album to anyone. The genre and moods range song to song and has something for everybody
  21. Apr 16, 2013
    5
    It feels rather "poppy" overall and lacking the true soul of Fall Out Boy found in earlier albums. There are some signs of life in it, but it's missing those hooks and angst of early Fall Out Boy.
  22. Apr 16, 2013
    8
    A mixed bag that grows on you, this album is nothing if not a triumphant return to what these four were in the beginning: four guys making music they would jam out to themselves and could be proud of. The album has definite high points like the up-beat, instant radio jam "Young Volcanoes" and the classic fall out boy lines such as "The Phoenix's" Wearing our vintage misery/No, i think i looked a little better on me. There are also a few stumbles like the clunky and unsure "Death Valley" which washes out Stump's vocals and the unimpressive "The Mighty Fall" which proudly boasts unimaginative hooks and an ill-advised guest appearance from Big Sean which will probably not win over a lot of fall out boy's pop-punk fan base. Overall the album is both a bold experiment and a return to form for Fall Out Boy, that's sure to have Fall Out Boy fans hitting repeat and those looking for a unique sound checking them out. Expand
  23. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    This is not the pop punk band from 2003. This is Fall Out Boy in 2013, continuing to make slick progression from their last albums and making it seem as if they never left the building. Save Rock and Roll captures the band's bombastic hooks and charm, all while implementing modern trends with ease. While the album features some high points (the lush duets with Foxes and Elton John, the dynamic energy of "The Phoenix" and "Rat a Tat"), it also has its downs( Big Sean's groan-inducing spot in "The Mighty Fall" and the heavy dose of compression in various places). Save Rock and Roll is a pop album, but it is also a risk-taking experience that is not unusual for a band like Fall Out Boy given their history. And that is what makes it as rock and roll as any guitar thrashing collection. Expand
  24. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    There are some good songs in this album (ex: My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark), and those good ones excel. However there are some mediocre ones and one or two bad ones. Altogether a great album. 9/10.
  25. Apr 29, 2013
    5
    Fall Out Boy is one of the biggest pop punk bands of our time, next to outfits like Blink-182, and Green Day. The thing is, I've never liked Fall Out Boy, and I never payed attention to any of the bands earlier albums. So, being 16 and hearing of an upcoming new LP, I decided to give it a listen. After listening to a stream a few times, I'll admit that the songs have a catchy, pop vibe to them all, but it all sounds relatively stale. It didn't make much sense to me that die-hard fans of the collective considered Save Rock and Roll to be an experimental album in the bands discography. To be honest, I've felt like I've heard it somewhere before, from some other generic pop punk band. Expand
  26. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Amazing and long overdue... FOB brings a lot of new-ness to the scene that shows they can be relevant in 2013 while maintaining #1 on the charts.

    An amazing album.
  27. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    The album opens with "The Phoenix", which to me, is as "punk rock" a Fall Out Boy song as I've heard. The lyrics from the chorus, "Hey Young Blood/Doesn't it feel/Like our time is running out?" coming from the soulful, yet almost angry sounding, Patrick Stump feels as urgent as they've ever been. It has the angst of "Take This To Your Grave", with furious string arrangements and an almost bouncy chorus.

    My Songs.... (Light Em Up) is the first single released when they announced their return. Won't waste time on it since it's been out since February tho. Good song, good single considering the other sounds on the album, and if they had come out with any other (Like "Alone Together), it might have been a bit aggressive and really put off some fans, but "My songs" serves as a good first single and introduction to their "new" sound.

    "Alone Together" is a song that didn't make sense to me at first, however, it's home to a few of my favorite moments on the album, "I'm outside the door/Invite me in/So we can go back and play pretend/I'm on deck and I'm up next/Tonight I'm high as a private jet." Lyrics like that, which sound perfect for pop radio, but don't sound cheap and cliche like most pop lyrics, accompanied with the guitar in the background, perfectly complements each other.

    "Where Did The Party Go"- Fun, "Top-Dropped" type of song, really bouncy chorus. Although, the part about "Boys smoking menthols/Girls are getting back rubs" might be the weakest lyrics of the record, the music makes you gloss over that and gets you in the dancing mood. Good song, but probably one of my least favorites.

    "Just One Yesterday"- Musically, this is my least favorite song on the album, however, the lyrics absolutely make up for this. "I don't have the right name/Or the right looks/But I have twice the heart." If you're a fan of Adele, this song might sound familiar to you, and could be a good song to get you into the album. Plus, the combination of guest artist Foxes & Patrick's vocals is absolutely superb, she really adds another dimension to the song, that otherwise would be lacking.

    "The Mighty Fall"- Really cool, classic hip-hop kind of beat and feel. Also, home to one of the few really definitive guitar riffs on the record. The vocals for the chorus absolutely soars and is the high point of the song. Big Sean makes an appearance, and his verse is ok (at best) but doesn't really enhance the song, more or less keeps up with the theme.. Good song, one of my favorites, but not the most memorable on the record.

    "Miss Missing You"- The intro reminds me of "(Coffee's For Closers) on "Folie a Deux", otherwise, it's one of the "pop" sounding songs, which a lot of synth, a very electronic song. Once again, the chorus has the most memorable lyrics, "Baby, you were my picket fence/I miss missing you now and then/Chlorine kiss/Summer skin/I miss missing you now and then". The outro, is a very delicate, very personal acoustic end that makes you not want to skip this song just to hear that part.

    "Death Valley"- My personal favorite on the album, also seems like where they pulled out all the stops. The opening lyrics are my favorite on the record (also the way Patrick sings them gives me chills), "I wanna see your animal side/Let it all out." The drumming is very CFC's-ish, straightforward drumline beat. Chorus is pure falsetto from Patrick, it just asks to be danced to. There's a nice acoustic part, right before some very surprising 15 seconds of dubstep. Had no idea I'd hear dubstep in an FOB song, but it doesn't out of place, I actually thought it was kind of cool.

    "Young Volcanoes"- Very almost a Train or Fun like song. Really fun to sing along to, a song that even your mom would like. And, hearing Patrick sing "We will teach you how to boys next door out of is worth hearing alone. Also, Hurley's drums really beat it up on this song.

    "Rat-A-Tat"- Courtney Love, it's all I really need to say when you hear her into, it's very a-typical her. Aside from The Phoenix, the most aggressive, frenetic song, with a chilled out chorus, "We're all fighting growing old/In the hopes/Of a few minutes more/To get on St. Peter's list/But you need to lower your standards/Cause it's never getting any better than this. Cool song, but one of the weakest.

    "Save Rock and Roll"- An Epic end to the album, the combo of Elton John & Patrick, combined with some really personal lyrics, this song sounds like an ode to the fans who've been there from the very start. Think, "What a Catch, Donnie" sound without all the unnecessary cameos. "You are what you love/Not who loves you/" This song, could make or break the album for you, but is the logical end to a very diverse album.

    Overall, as a person who has been a fan for many years, I was very pleased with the album. In the end, change is inevitable, however, change can be a good thing, in this case, I'd say it was.

    Favorites: The Phoenix, Alone Together, Death Valley, The Mighty Fall
    Expand
  28. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    This album is fantastic! Fall Out Boy returns and fills the void that they have left behind. This album contains many hit songs including The Phoenix, Just One Yesterday, Death Valley, Miss Missing You, among many others. The songs do not feel like fillers terrible songs surrounding one or two hits to make an album and as a result, you can feel the amazing effort put into this compilation. The one song that feels out of place is "The Might Fall" featuring rapper Big Sean. The rapping style of Big Sean clashes not only with the song but also with the album as a whole. Despite this one feature, other features such as Courtney Love, Foxes, and Elton John fell right into place in this concoction of pop rock. Furthermore, Patrick Stump's vocals exceed the requirements of the rock genre and adds quick pitch changes that provide pleasant elements to each song.

    I give this album a 10 even though it's not perfect, but by today's standard of the average album, as I said, which usually includes only a few great songs and a handful of mediocre ones, Fall Out Boy's Save Rock & Roll takes the prize.
    Expand
  29. May 1, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Save Rock and Roll is the first Fall Out Boy album that I've ever listened to from front to back. So I have a completely unbiased opinion on it. It was an album with songs that I like to call anthem or celebration songs. But after 4 years of being on hiatus the band has produced an extraordinary album. There are a few co-writes on the album including the album track, Save Rock and Roll which features Elton John and Rat a Tat featuring Courtney Love. In my opinion Fall Out Boy is the pure definition of the "party rock" sub-genre. They know how to get listeners on their feet and dancing. Expand
  30. May 15, 2013
    6
    With a title like Save Rock and Roll, there is a certain expectation level, and while I feel like Fall Out Boy has some tracks that really strove to hit the mark there is an overwhelming amount of tracks that I would never call rock and roll. They probably could have gotten away with calling it Save Alternative, Sort of Rock-ish, Fun Music (This will now be the name of my first album, their loss).
    Read the rest at http://www.mcmaymie.com
    Expand
  31. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    This is possibly FOB's greatest album to date. They're back to save Rock & Roll? That's a pretty ballsy statement, but damn are they right. With great songs for new listeners and old ones too. Plus, what's better than a cameo by Elton John? Save Rock & Roll is an outstanding album, and the title track is the best track on the album.
  32. Jun 11, 2013
    8
    A great pop/rock feel. I love the irony of the album title. The collaborations are all unique and each song has a different "feel" to it: none feel churned out to lengthen the track listing. My personal favorite tracks are: "Young Volcanoes", "The Phoenix", "Death Valley", and of course "My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark." The only song I don't care for is "Just One Yesterday."
  33. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Excellent album!
    This album is in my opinion, their best yet. Great lyrics and extremely catchy melodies and such a high quality sounding album has made this one of the best of 2013 for me.
    Naturally The Phoenix is a pounding track to start with, followed by the amazing My songs know what you did in the dark but there are other tracks that stand as tall such as Just one yesterday
    with such a charm, making this a must buy. Expand
  34. Jun 13, 2013
    2
    Let me start by saying that I love FOB and I think Patrick Stump has an amazing voice. Unfortunately, this album is abysmal mostly due to the gimmicky inclusion of all of the "guests." The song "Rat a Tat" starts out terribly with the supremely talentless, drug-addled (and now like 60-years-old) Courtney Love trying to sound all gangsta while uttering, "It's Courtney, and only gets worse from there; it's a perfect example of what's wrong with this album. Best to avoid it all together and just listen to any of the old FOB albums. Expand
  35. Jun 21, 2013
    2
    Maybe it's just the fact that the words 'rock and roll' are printed on the cover to this horrendous record but there is something unsatisfactory about the way this album sounds. I was never a fan of Fall Out Boy but I thought they were still decent musicians. That is, until hearing this. Fall Out Boy are famed for their emo-pop/pop-rock sound and image but this album is straight up mediocre chart music. More for fans of whatever's on mainstream radio. Anyone wanting 'rock and roll' should avoid this at all costs. Expand
  36. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    This album really showed if their fans are still willing to become loyal to them for changing their sound style so drastically. It has been a trend for them since Infinity On High, don't get me wrong, I am a huuuuge fan of Fall Out Boy ever since I first heard "Sugar We're Goin Down", and after loving and cherishing the whole album since it's release a few months back, I'm still in to them after all of their time being at hiatus. Almost all of the tracks included here, I fell in love with instantly especially "Alone Together" and "Miss Missing You" even though they don't quite represent the good old Fall Out Boy days, it's still a good tune to sing or dance with. Although right now I'm still longing for some new punk rock-ish tunes from them, which is why didn't get a perfect ten for me. I really expected a lot of Rock and Roll or just punk rock on this one since... hence the title, and I really thought that they were really going back to their roots after changing their tempo a little bit in Folie a Deux, but then again, I was wrong. But hey, atleast songs on this album are still singable and dancable because it's made by Fall Out Boy! I'm really happy for these guys! I just want them to keep on rocking. Really can't wait for their next album. Expand
  37. Nov 3, 2013
    0
    There is no difference between this album and any other mainstream rock album that has been released in the past 5 years. It is typical, uninspired and unoriginal. Have they changed? Yes. Is the change good? By no means. This album is an abysmal attempt music, if you want to listen to Fall Out Boy, stick with the old stuff.
  38. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Just joined Metactritic and this is on of my favorite cd's of the year so high energy, tough, and intense and brave I love most of the tracks. Ten out of ten.
  39. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Great album.This may not be pure Rock and Roll but its way much better than the new bands and their albums.Save Rock and Roll may bring Rock and Roll back to life.It maybe be different than their other albums but Fall out boy are back from their hiatus and they're ready to make new songs
  40. Dec 22, 2013
    5
    The single "My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark" was great, however, that can't save the rest of the album from being their weakest. It's an okay return, but not on the level of other albums from them like "Take This To Your Grave."
  41. Jun 26, 2014
    8
    Okay first off, very good style I like the fact that they are trying to prove that they're back and is coming back good. I really like the tracks Miss Missing You, Just One Yesterday, and Young Volcanoes They are very deep and has a good meaning. Save Rock and Roll, The Phoenix, and Death Valley Rat a Tat Tat were good to get your blood pumping for some badassery. The Mighty Fall, MYSKWYDITD, I didnt really like those but they are okay, and goes well with the album. I gave this album an 8 out of 10 because it is a good returning of the band and is good for the modern "Rock" so yeah the reason it didnt get higher is because MYSKWYDITD was to repetitive in my opinion. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. 30
    I can only assume the title Save Rock and Roll is intentionally ironic on their part because even they should know it's quite a stretch to call this rock and roll.
  2. 70
    Singer Nate Ruess’ sincerity and youth anthems fuel Save Rock And Roll.
  3. May 9, 2013
    50
    Save Rock and Roll pools an assortment of trademark hooks to lure you in, but its commercially formulaic spine will leave you feeling like you should have known better.