Save Rock and Roll

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Apr 16, 2013
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 143

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 23, 2013
    6
    I'd never paid much attention to Fall Out Boy, but when I heard their amazing new lead single, My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark, I thought they could really be on to making some magic And I was even more impressed at how well a rock track with screamo in it did in the UK charts. Wasn't as impressed with their next track, The Phoenix, though, but I told myself it was a minor blip.I'd never paid much attention to Fall Out Boy, but when I heard their amazing new lead single, My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark, I thought they could really be on to making some magic And I was even more impressed at how well a rock track with screamo in it did in the UK charts. Wasn't as impressed with their next track, The Phoenix, though, but I told myself it was a minor blip. Unfortunately, there are a few misses on this album, like overly poppy Where Did The Party Go and Miss Missing You and the overly acoustic Young Volcanoes. But when the album works, it works. Aside from the amazing lead single, we get other gems like Just One Yesterday, The Mighty Fall, Death Valley, Rat a Tat and the amazing end, Save Rock And Roll: an emotional piece that will bring a tear to your eye and make you want to stand up for what you believe in. The album may not be perfect and it may not save rock and roll, but it's certainly a welcome relief from the avalanche of club bangers and dreary ballads recently. Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    4
    I really wanted to like this album as I loved Fall Out Boy's past albums besides Infinity on High which was meh. There are a few problems I have with this record. The first problem I have is the sheer number of musical guests. To name a few Courtney Love, Elton John, and Big Sean. Each of these are on a separate track. With only 11 songs it feels more like a various artists record. EvenI really wanted to like this album as I loved Fall Out Boy's past albums besides Infinity on High which was meh. There are a few problems I have with this record. The first problem I have is the sheer number of musical guests. To name a few Courtney Love, Elton John, and Big Sean. Each of these are on a separate track. With only 11 songs it feels more like a various artists record. Even though it clearly isn't. That's "Save Rock and Roll"s biggest problem: the musical guests often overshadow the performance by the actual band. That is absolutely unforgivable. When I buy a record by a band I expect to hear a lot of that band not Courtney Love saying "It's Courtney, Which, I might add is retarded and makes me hate her that much more. One thing I cannot argue is that this album continues to show bands diversity. There are some large hip-hop influences on this record and it definitely shows. I would like to take a second to recognize that it is possible to make hip-hop sound good, but it doesn't at all this time around. "The Mighty Fall" is a perfect example of this and as a result is one of worst tracks on the album. I admire that they are experimenting and they have come a long way from their pop-punk roots, but experimenting with sound doesn't have to be bad. It just is in this case. The lyrics are another weak point of the album. It feels like they weren't even written by Fall Out Boy. Their lyrics are usually clever and inspired. This isn't true here. Now there a few good songs off of the album, but the singles feel like they don't even belong here. The song "Young Volcanoes" is probably the strongest track and deals with the albums overarching theme:youth or clinging to youth even when barely any of it remains. There are 4 songs that I like. Just 4. Out of 11. The rest feel incredibly weak and I expected more to come from them. Hopefully, there next album will be better. Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    5
    It feels rather "poppy" overall and lacking the true soul of Fall Out Boy found in earlier albums. There are some signs of life in it, but it's missing those hooks and angst of early Fall Out Boy.
  4. Apr 29, 2013
    5
    Fall Out Boy is one of the biggest pop punk bands of our time, next to outfits like Blink-182, and Green Day. The thing is, I've never liked Fall Out Boy, and I never payed attention to any of the bands earlier albums. So, being 16 and hearing of an upcoming new LP, I decided to give it a listen. After listening to a stream a few times, I'll admit that the songs have a catchy, pop vibe toFall Out Boy is one of the biggest pop punk bands of our time, next to outfits like Blink-182, and Green Day. The thing is, I've never liked Fall Out Boy, and I never payed attention to any of the bands earlier albums. So, being 16 and hearing of an upcoming new LP, I decided to give it a listen. After listening to a stream a few times, I'll admit that the songs have a catchy, pop vibe to them all, but it all sounds relatively stale. It didn't make much sense to me that die-hard fans of the collective considered Save Rock and Roll to be an experimental album in the bands discography. To be honest, I've felt like I've heard it somewhere before, from some other generic pop punk band. Expand
  5. May 15, 2013
    6
    With a title like Save Rock and Roll, there is a certain expectation level, and while I feel like Fall Out Boy has some tracks that really strove to hit the mark there is an overwhelming amount of tracks that I would never call rock and roll. They probably could have gotten away with calling it Save Alternative, Sort of Rock-ish, Fun Music (This will now be the name of my first album,With a title like Save Rock and Roll, there is a certain expectation level, and while I feel like Fall Out Boy has some tracks that really strove to hit the mark there is an overwhelming amount of tracks that I would never call rock and roll. They probably could have gotten away with calling it Save Alternative, Sort of Rock-ish, Fun Music (This will now be the name of my first album, their loss).
    Read the rest at http://www.mcmaymie.com
    Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2013
    5
    The single "My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark" was great, however, that can't save the rest of the album from being their weakest. It's an okay return, but not on the level of other albums from them like "Take This To Your Grave."
  7. Aug 7, 2015
    5
    I don't know about you guys, but I see a drop in quality, & I blame it on the loss of Patrick Stump's sideburns. Could just be me tho.................yeah...
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. 30
    I can only assume the title Save Rock and Roll is intentionally ironic on their part because even they should know it's quite a stretch to call this rock and roll.
  2. 70
    Singer Nate Ruess’ sincerity and youth anthems fuel Save Rock And Roll.
  3. May 9, 2013
    50
    Save Rock and Roll pools an assortment of trademark hooks to lure you in, but its commercially formulaic spine will leave you feeling like you should have known better.