Save Rock and Roll - Fall Out Boy
Save Rock and Roll Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 123 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by Butch Walker, the fifth full-length studio release from the pop punk band is its first album since the quartet announced an indefinite hiatus in 2009.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Apr 17, 2013
    83
    Save Rock And Roll is the band’s most personal album yet, a tribute to being passionate and young when time makes the former difficult and the latter impossible.
  2. 80
    Admittedly, it takes a few listens for Save Rock And Roll to click, and some songs (“Alone Together,” “Miss Missing You”) are notably weaker than others. But overall, Save Rock And Roll is a blast of an album.
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    80
    It's business as usual, with slightly appeal-broadening knobs on. Quiet bits, then loud bits, and words about alienation wrapped up in catchy choruses to unite thousands.
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    70
    They're ambitious, admirable, and sometimes thrilling, particularly because the group never fears to tread into treacherous waters, happy to blur the distinctions between pop and rock, mainstream and underground.
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    70
    With the emphasis--ironically--more on “Pop” than “Rocky” it’s not as dynamic with contrast as the more accomplished Folie à Deux yet it’s a charming, convincing and much welcome comeback.
  6. Apr 15, 2013
    60
    The star power of the record's guests overshadows the album's best moments.
  7. 30
    I can only assume the title Save Rock and Roll is intentionally ironic on their part because even they should know it's quite a stretch to call this rock and roll.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 5 out of 41
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    They did a very honorable, risky thing and streamed their album days before the release date via soundcloud. I listened to it at least 10 times and am going to get the physical copy ASAP. I recommend this album to anyone. The genre and moods range song to song and has something for everybody Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Amazing and long overdue... FOB brings a lot of new-ness to the scene that shows they can be relevant in 2013 while maintaining #1 on the charts.

    An amazing album.
    Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    Their best album. Strong tracks ("The Phoenix", MSKWYDITD, "The Mighty Fall" and "Death Valley"), deep tracks ("Alone Together", "Just One Yesterday" and "Miss Missing You"), one strong AND deep track ("Save Rock and Roll") and some groovy tunes ("Where Did the Party Go" and "Young Volcanoes"). Oh! And of course: One little mess in the middle to ruing what would be something perfect: Rat a Tat. The collaborations are all great (except for Courtney Love) and Fall Out Boy should definitely keep walking these roads. Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    Full of solid arena rock tracks, Save Rock and Roll is far from a traditional rock album, and save rock it will not. But as an album of good individual tracks, it works. Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    After a four year hiatus Fall Out Boy come out swinging. The record has a perfect blend of up beat tempos contrasted by slower melodies that pull at the heart strings. The record especially shines on tracks such as "Miss Missing You" and "Just One Yesterday." Save Rock and Roll is also void of filler, giving fans a satisfying CD after a lengthy absence. Long time fans shouldn't hesitate to invest their $12.99 on the bands latest effort, and I believe new comers will find a lot to like here as well. Save Rock and Roll is a fun album from top to bottom, enough said. Collapse
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    6
    I'd never paid much attention to Fall Out Boy, but when I heard their amazing new lead single, My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark, I thought they could really be on to making some magic And I was even more impressed at how well a rock track with screamo in it did in the UK charts. Wasn't as impressed with their next track, The Phoenix, though, but I told myself it was a minor blip. Unfortunately, there are a few misses on this album, like overly poppy Where Did The Party Go and Miss Missing You and the overly acoustic Young Volcanoes. But when the album works, it works. Aside from the amazing lead single, we get other gems like Just One Yesterday, The Mighty Fall, Death Valley, Rat a Tat and the amazing end, Save Rock And Roll: an emotional piece that will bring a tear to your eye and make you want to stand up for what you believe in. The album may not be perfect and it may not save rock and roll, but it's certainly a welcome relief from the avalanche of club bangers and dreary ballads recently. Expand
  7. Nov 3, 2013
    0
    There is no difference between this album and any other mainstream rock album that has been released in the past 5 years. It is typical, uninspired and unoriginal. Have they changed? Yes. Is the change good? By no means. This album is an abysmal attempt music, if you want to listen to Fall Out Boy, stick with the old stuff. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews