• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Save Rock and Roll Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 182 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by Butch Walker, the fifth full-length studio release from the pop punk band is its first album since the quartet announced an indefinite hiatus in 2009.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Apr 17, 2013
    83
    Save Rock And Roll is the band’s most personal album yet, a tribute to being passionate and young when time makes the former difficult and the latter impossible.
  2. 80
    Admittedly, it takes a few listens for Save Rock And Roll to click, and some songs (“Alone Together,” “Miss Missing You”) are notably weaker than others. But overall, Save Rock And Roll is a blast of an album.
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    80
    It's business as usual, with slightly appeal-broadening knobs on. Quiet bits, then loud bits, and words about alienation wrapped up in catchy choruses to unite thousands.
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    70
    Save Rock and Roll isn't life or game changing but it's probably the album FOB needed to make--if only for themselves--and as an honest portrait of the roller-coaster ride that is FOB's career, it finds them on a high.
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    70
    With the emphasis--ironically--more on “Pop” than “Rocky” it’s not as dynamic with contrast as the more accomplished Folie à Deux yet it’s a charming, convincing and much welcome comeback.
  6. Apr 15, 2013
    60
    The star power of the record's guests overshadows the album's best moments.
  7. 30
    I can only assume the title Save Rock and Roll is intentionally ironic on their part because even they should know it's quite a stretch to call this rock and roll.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 52
  2. Negative: 5 out of 52
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    They did a very honorable, risky thing and streamed their album days before the release date via soundcloud. I listened to it at least 10They did a very honorable, risky thing and streamed their album days before the release date via soundcloud. I listened to it at least 10 times and am going to get the physical copy ASAP. I recommend this album to anyone. The genre and moods range song to song and has something for everybody Expand
  2. FTM
    May 21, 2018
    10
    Their first revival album, is by far their best, and its my personal favorite FOB album. I guess i will rank my favorite songs.

    11) The
    Their first revival album, is by far their best, and its my personal favorite FOB album. I guess i will rank my favorite songs.

    11) The Mighty Fall 8/10
    10) Where Did The Party Go 8.5/10
    9) My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark 9/10
    8) Rat-a-Tat 10/10
    7) Miss Missing You 10/10
    6) Death Valley 10/10
    5) Alone Together 10/10
    4) Just One Yesterday 10/10
    3) Young Volcanoes 10/10
    2) The Phoenix 10/10
    1) Save Rock And Roll 10/10
    Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    Their best album. Strong tracks ("The Phoenix", MSKWYDITD, "The Mighty Fall" and "Death Valley"), deep tracks ("Alone Together", "Just OneTheir best album. Strong tracks ("The Phoenix", MSKWYDITD, "The Mighty Fall" and "Death Valley"), deep tracks ("Alone Together", "Just One Yesterday" and "Miss Missing You"), one strong AND deep track ("Save Rock and Roll") and some groovy tunes ("Where Did the Party Go" and "Young Volcanoes"). Oh! And of course: One little mess in the middle to ruing what would be something perfect: Rat a Tat. The collaborations are all great (except for Courtney Love) and Fall Out Boy should definitely keep walking these roads. Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    After a four year hiatus Fall Out Boy come out swinging. The record has a perfect blend of up beat tempos contrasted by slower melodies thatAfter a four year hiatus Fall Out Boy come out swinging. The record has a perfect blend of up beat tempos contrasted by slower melodies that pull at the heart strings. The record especially shines on tracks such as "Miss Missing You" and "Just One Yesterday." Save Rock and Roll is also void of filler, giving fans a satisfying CD after a lengthy absence. Long time fans shouldn't hesitate to invest their $12.99 on the bands latest effort, and I believe new comers will find a lot to like here as well. Save Rock and Roll is a fun album from top to bottom, enough said. Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2016
    7
    While some of the extremely poppy and quirky experimentation works, there are still some moments on Fall Out Boy's "comeback" LP that simplyWhile some of the extremely poppy and quirky experimentation works, there are still some moments on Fall Out Boy's "comeback" LP that simply fall flat. Most of the features and unique risks in musical direction work, but not enough to overshadow the album's more cringe-worthy moments.

    Favorite Tracks: The Phoenix, My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark (Light Em Up), Where Did the Party Go, Just One Yesterday, Miss Missing You, Rat-A-Tat, and Save Rock and Roll.
    Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2018
    6
    Some filler tracks, some good tracks. But as a whole, it's pretty boring and uninteresting. It certainly isn't going to save rock and roll asSome filler tracks, some good tracks. But as a whole, it's pretty boring and uninteresting. It certainly isn't going to save rock and roll as its title suggests. Expand
  7. Nov 3, 2013
    0
    There is no difference between this album and any other mainstream rock album that has been released in the past 5 years. It is typical,There is no difference between this album and any other mainstream rock album that has been released in the past 5 years. It is typical, uninspired and unoriginal. Have they changed? Yes. Is the change good? By no means. This album is an abysmal attempt music, if you want to listen to Fall Out Boy, stick with the old stuff. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews