SBTRKT - SBTRKT
SBTRKT Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut album for the British dubstep producer whose real name is unknown.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jul 6, 2011
    90
    Representing UK production at its best, SBTRKT's self-titled album is playful yet gritty.
  2. 80
    And while logically such vast variation should produce a choppy outcome, the album proves to be quite fluid on the whole.
  3. Dec 7, 2011
    80
    SBTRKT's downtempo, mellow nature means it's a dance album that's unlikely to ever be played in a club, but showing James Blake that sparse, minimal dubstep and well-crafted pop melodies aren't mutually exclusive, it's a daring debut which lives up to the masked man's "next big thing" label.
  4. Jul 6, 2011
    75
    Sure, he can hide his identity, but there's no denying his sudden emergence as one of dance music's notable producers, very well steeped in his own layered aesthetic, yet open enough to welcome other musical influences into the fold.
  5. Aug 1, 2011
    70
    SBTRKT isn't going to break down any barriers in the obsessively experimental world that it was birthed, but it's a thoroughly solid listen all the way through. Which is a lot more than his supposed peers could say about their debut albums.
  6. Jul 5, 2011
    70
    This is an album that's clearly designed with immediacy in mind, from the ever-grinding bass to the generous supply of playful pop flourishes, and its best songs will get bodies moving by night even if they don't quite stick in the head the next morning.
  7. Jun 29, 2011
    60
    His debut LP marks his most coherent effort yet, moving from glitchy opener Heatwave into downbeat garage on Hold On and choppy synths on the euphoric Sanctuary.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jul 13, 2011
    8
    First time I heard this album the tracks sounded wierd, but everytime I listen to the album, it gets more and more addicting. Its nothing likeFirst time I heard this album the tracks sounded wierd, but everytime I listen to the album, it gets more and more addicting. Its nothing like I've ever heard before. Lyrics are simple but the beats are different but awesome. Starts of slow but the tracks starting in the middle onwards is where its at. Collapse
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    7
    Could have been a bit more consistent for my taste but man does it feel good to here creative, catchy, and unique electronic music like this.Could have been a bit more consistent for my taste but man does it feel good to here creative, catchy, and unique electronic music like this. I'm anticipating a lot more great music to come from SBTRKT Expand