Scab Dates

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 33
  2. Negative: 6 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. kylel.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    if you don't like this album its because its over your head. the closest our generation will ever get to led zepplin
  2. HildurM
    Feb 6, 2006
    7
    I love Mars Volta... but I get sooo tired of listening to this cd! Instead of really enjoying Scab dates it always makes me want to listen to Frances the mute or de-loused... instead!
  3. christopherl
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    the mars volta IS a live band, their LPs are only standalone albums, that are completely detatched from their live sets... this album is a culmination of their live performances through the deLoused album tour... i love it, and i dont give a rats butt if anyone else doesnt.
  4. stoner2k
    Nov 18, 2005
    10
    i was blown away by a solo 2hr set they played in Toronto and have been a huge fan since. this is by far their best live realease and is an awesome musical experience for any volta fan.
  5. mistermister
    Dec 24, 2005
    8
    scabdates is the craziest thing i ve ever heard. cicatriz pt.4 is the most confusing track and you can hear parts of eunuch provocateur and cassandra gemini in it and a guy who is talking about terrorism in spanish. best live album i ve ever listened to!
  6. Mike
    Dec 6, 2005
    9
    Anyone who gave this a rating of 1 or 0 is clearly an idiot. "Why Do It" can't even use the right form of "their". Mars Volta is an awesome live band, they're amazing, ask anyone else who's seen them. This CD is great and this band is so musically talented even outside the studio. Don't listen to the ignorant users that don't know what they're talking about, Anyone who gave this a rating of 1 or 0 is clearly an idiot. "Why Do It" can't even use the right form of "their". Mars Volta is an awesome live band, they're amazing, ask anyone else who's seen them. This CD is great and this band is so musically talented even outside the studio. Don't listen to the ignorant users that don't know what they're talking about, go buy it. Collapse
  7. TristanL
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    Fantastic. Takes a long time to get into, but once you do its well worth it. Lovely stuff. Bit ear bleeding at times, but lovely.
  8. MattC
    Jul 9, 2006
    9
    Amazing CD. These guys continually blow me away with everything they've ever released and this album, more so than the others, really shows how genuinely passionate they are about the music they play.
  9. LewisT
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    The Mars Volta are not only studio's, Miss Machine. They've said in interviews, that they od sound flat, out of key etc. when live, but this isn't any old live album. This is like a new album, they've captured the atmosphere from the previous 3 releases, and basically portrayed it live. I think this is brilliant, not as spectacualr as Frances, or De-loused obviously, The Mars Volta are not only studio's, Miss Machine. They've said in interviews, that they od sound flat, out of key etc. when live, but this isn't any old live album. This is like a new album, they've captured the atmosphere from the previous 3 releases, and basically portrayed it live. I think this is brilliant, not as spectacualr as Frances, or De-loused obviously, however I am 100% glad I have it. Expand
  10. BenjaminR
    Nov 28, 2005
    8
    Only for fans of the group. Some of the arrangements are truly mesmerizing, but some seem relatively self-important. If, however, you can't get enough of the Mars Volta and have literally played the tracks off of their first two albums (my "Frances the Mute" is in pretty bad shape), this is a good supplement. It just lacks the cohesiveness that comes with a studio album.
  11. JB
    Dec 4, 2005
    9
    I'm sorry to say this, but Miss Machine, you are an idiot. Obviously you have never seen a Mars Volta show. It's one of the most energetic and entertaining concerts both musically and visually. This record is a great introduction to The Volta's live performences. I admit it does get a little lost at times, but thats the only way to listen to them. You have to be able to I'm sorry to say this, but Miss Machine, you are an idiot. Obviously you have never seen a Mars Volta show. It's one of the most energetic and entertaining concerts both musically and visually. This record is a great introduction to The Volta's live performences. I admit it does get a little lost at times, but thats the only way to listen to them. You have to be able to lose yourself in the music. Expand
  12. TrentC
    Dec 6, 2005
    9
    Another great example of the progressive and awesome nature of the Mars Volta. To have the confidence in your music to pull something like this off in a live event. No other band could come close without the crowd tearing them apart.
  13. PhantomXIII
    Jan 17, 2006
    9
    An exquisite display of musical craftsmanship, combining the explosiveness of their highs with enough tension to make you genuinely excited for the next piece...
  14. MaxG
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    These reviewers are idiots. The raw energy and talent contained in this album is unmatched, and definitely is a step forward. Comparing it to studio albums is a step backwards in reason. If you like TMV in any regard, you will love this album.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Scab Dates is yet another intriguing window into the Mars Volta's world, instead of just a live album holdover.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    Exhausting, self-indulgent, and also kind of awesome. [18 Nov 2005, p.134]
  3. Given which songs are chosen and when this is being released, Scab Dates is a neither a concession nor a step forward, revealing inclinations that feel half as indulgent as they should when following a record like Frances the Mute, and about half as interesting to listen to.