Scarlet's Walk

  • Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: Oct 29, 2002
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 79
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 79
  3. Negative: 5 out of 79

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    Her best since Under the Pink
  2. annan
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    An amazing album and the best one shes done.
  3. AMiller
    Nov 1, 2002
    9
    It's a brilliant album. Tori did it again. =)
  4. jamesb
    Nov 6, 2002
    1
    don't trust any reviewer that thinks they're on a first-name basis with tori amos. here's the truth about this thing. it's about 10 songs too long. it's completely irrelevant. it will only appeal to her core fanbase and select members of the VH1 crowd who live for this kind of sentimental fluff. nobody needs to hear this. completely irrelevant.
  5. ArtW
    Jan 13, 2003
    10
    I never thought anything would top Boys for Pele but she's done it. Amazing album. With the loads of crap coming out these days, I thank you Tori.
  6. AddieW
    Jan 2, 2004
    9
    Some of her better work since Under the Pink... it's nice to see her get back to the roots that I fell in love listening to (wasn't a big fan of Strange Little Girls). It's just nice to find an artist who does her own thing and has a fan base who deeply understands her. I've been a fan forever and will listen to her no matter what... but this able was a refreshing step Some of her better work since Under the Pink... it's nice to see her get back to the roots that I fell in love listening to (wasn't a big fan of Strange Little Girls). It's just nice to find an artist who does her own thing and has a fan base who deeply understands her. I've been a fan forever and will listen to her no matter what... but this able was a refreshing step back to all that is Tori Amos Expand
  7. RandyB
    Jun 20, 2005
    9
    This concept album about a girl named Scarlet (an alter ego for Tori I suspect) going on a cross-country road-trip is in so many ways pretty. Sometimes it
  8. TrixieL
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    I love this album, nuff said
  9. DamienB
    May 20, 2006
    10
    an amazing album and is deff. one of my fav. tori albums expecially virginia and gold dust!!!! if i may say A may zing@!!
  10. Karen
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    I have read in several arenas the question regarding Tori's lyrics making sense. I have also seen them labeled as ramblings or another genius offering that she is simply trying to to keep the melody of the song in tact. I could not disagree more. What no one seems to offer is this; Tori is a person, a living human being with stories of her own. Do you NEED to know what Dahli was I have read in several arenas the question regarding Tori's lyrics making sense. I have also seen them labeled as ramblings or another genius offering that she is simply trying to to keep the melody of the song in tact. I could not disagree more. What no one seems to offer is this; Tori is a person, a living human being with stories of her own. Do you NEED to know what Dahli was thinking when he painted? Or can you just appreciate it for what it is - Art and nothing more. Beautiful, moving and powerful. I am inclined to believe these songs would make perfect sense to all if we were part of her everyday life. Consider this, if I were to tell you a short story relating to a relationship in my life using catch phases, cute names or local street talk would you know what I am talking about? Exactly! So why do you expect a few paragraphs offered in 10-12 songs every one or two years to be wrapped up in a pretty ribbon and laid at your feet in clear and concise terms? The underlying theme to all of her music is the passion behind it - you KNOW what she is trying to say or relate to us. Sorrow, happiness, silliness all easily read through in her lyrics. Even if I don't know who "Crazy" is, I understand completely. Catch the gist, the theme the message and forget everything else. I don't NEED to know why she was scared by paper tigers to understand what this song is about because I get it! Point taken. I relate. Perhaps she is writing for herself and is kind enough to share it with us. Has anyone consider this? She is first and foremost a human being the Star part came later. Expand
  11. Natasha
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    Phenomenal! There isn't a bad track on this album! If you want a musician whose albums are all DIFFERENT from each other AND GOOD--here's your artist! If she had repeated what she did on Little Earthquakes--an album that is well over ten years old--over and over again--I'm pretty sure I would have lost interest in her. If you have been looking for Little Earthquakes Part Phenomenal! There isn't a bad track on this album! If you want a musician whose albums are all DIFFERENT from each other AND GOOD--here's your artist! If she had repeated what she did on Little Earthquakes--an album that is well over ten years old--over and over again--I'm pretty sure I would have lost interest in her. If you have been looking for Little Earthquakes Part II...or Part II of just about any album she's made--don't hold it against Scarlet--and don't hold it against Tori--you should have stopped purchasing her albums at some point in 1998 for your own good! Expand
  12. Coconut
    Nov 6, 2002
    9
    It's a great album from start to finish... but, uhm, Metacritic, you're forgetting a couple reviews here that might bring up the metascore (Alt Press, Spin, etc.)
  13. JS
    Oct 30, 2002
    2
    Tori's album "Little Earthquakes" is an album that had a profound personal impact on me, and I suspect many others like me. So powerful an impact that I have loyally purchased every subsequent Tori album, even as each new collection has testified to the steady and continuing decline in the quality of her songwriting. The lucid "LE" introduced us to Tori as a vulnerable survivor with Tori's album "Little Earthquakes" is an album that had a profound personal impact on me, and I suspect many others like me. So powerful an impact that I have loyally purchased every subsequent Tori album, even as each new collection has testified to the steady and continuing decline in the quality of her songwriting. The lucid "LE" introduced us to Tori as a vulnerable survivor with incredible pipes, piano playing chops and melodic sensibilities. "Under the Pink" was a more abstract, expressionistic work purportedly on themes of female vulnerability and security, and while it was inferior as a whole to "LE", it remained a serious work. Yet here we are, a decade later, and the person many believed was poised to make a significant contribution to music for years to come has descended into producing homogenized mediocrity. Since "Boys for Pele", and I have increasingly grown to dread the release of each new album, for fear that one day, she would release an album without a single song of merit on it. That day is here. I have just completed "Scarlett's Walk", and found, that despite having 18(!) songs on it, not a single track approaches the quality of even the lesser works of Tori's first two albums. The only good thing I can say about this album is that is has broken the spell for me- I will no longer be compelled to purchase her future albums. "Scarlet's Walk" is noteworthy only in its length, its self-indulgence (songs inspired by my tour of america after 9/11! yay me!) and ultimately, its pointlessness. Expand
  14. Christian
    Jan 28, 2004
    10
    Personally the best Tori album. Quiet, unhurried and intimately tied to places - very geographic indeed. And there are quite a few records dealing with places. A remarkable collection of wonderful songs that unearths greater depth as one listens more.
  15. JoeSixpack
    Jun 4, 2004
    3
    This album could be runner up to Rush's Vapor Trails as the most overcompressed CD released in the last few years. Large levels of dynamic compression sound fine, and even enhance the music, when applied to AC/DC. Squashing Amos' music utterly ruins it. All the instruments are squashed into a murky stew, and the drums sound utterly pathetic. The music is very dense and This album could be runner up to Rush's Vapor Trails as the most overcompressed CD released in the last few years. Large levels of dynamic compression sound fine, and even enhance the music, when applied to AC/DC. Squashing Amos' music utterly ruins it. All the instruments are squashed into a murky stew, and the drums sound utterly pathetic. The music is very dense and 'busy,' your ears never have time to rest. Compare to Pele's open, airy acoustics. The album has some fantastic songs, and complex, well written arrangements. OTOH, it seems overly long and borderline 'boring' when played in full. Part of this effect is the tiring compression. Music: A- Audio: D Overall: Sorry, not worth 20 freaking dollars. -Greg Expand
  16. Nicky
    May 14, 2005
    10
    This album is quality. My most treasured album is under the pink but excluding the older stuff this is one of my faves. It exudes colour and makes you think about your own personal and emotional journey through life.
  17. ChrisA
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    Its the best album ever.
  18. AndreaN.
    Sep 25, 2005
    9
    Musically, this is unquestionably Tori Amos' best album since Under the Pink. Songs like "A Sorta Fairytale", "Taxi Ride", and "Virginia" are among the best she's every written. Personally, I love the fact that Amos's lyrics are often cryptic-- I don't consider her overly precious, and I suspect that she isn't really trying to make sense so much as contribute to a Musically, this is unquestionably Tori Amos' best album since Under the Pink. Songs like "A Sorta Fairytale", "Taxi Ride", and "Virginia" are among the best she's every written. Personally, I love the fact that Amos's lyrics are often cryptic-- I don't consider her overly precious, and I suspect that she isn't really trying to make sense so much as contribute to a certain sonic vibe. This is one of my favourite albums, period. Expand
  19. Stephen
    Jun 30, 2006
    9
    Tori's best album. I agree that there are problems with it: production, and at times, the lyrics. Wah wah, 9/11 = sad. But most of the time, she does pretty well, makes me feel like I'm traveling through America, both historically and physically.
  20. AdriJ
    Jul 26, 2006
    10
    Despite not being a Tori fan prior to this album, and discovering it a whole 4 years after its release, I have heard no other album so completely enchanting and captivating as Scarlet's Walk. The wistfulness of "A Sorta Fairytale", the addictive sound of "Taxi Ride", the beauty of "Your Cloud" and the musical masterpiece "Gold Dust" would all move a heart of stone....
  21. Mark
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    Several years after it's release I keep returning to this album. For those of you out there listening only to MP3's, do yourself a favor and get the CD and a good stereo. You'll be amazed at what you've been missing and how good the production is. On "I Can't See New York," the first crash of the piano after "Is there a signal there" lyric will take your breath Several years after it's release I keep returning to this album. For those of you out there listening only to MP3's, do yourself a favor and get the CD and a good stereo. You'll be amazed at what you've been missing and how good the production is. On "I Can't See New York," the first crash of the piano after "Is there a signal there" lyric will take your breath away. I rate this album as tied with Little Earthquakes as my favorite Tori album, but having a slight edge due to the quality of the sound engineering. Expand
  22. johns.
    Jun 28, 2007
    7
    not brilliant but not bad either her 2 nd worst after the flop the beekeeper. a bit boring but still better than most overrated artists album. if you are new 2 her music give this a pass and buy the brilliant american doll posse. thats more like it! thanx heavens.
  23. DanaL
    Nov 12, 2002
    10
    Simply wonderful! I can't turn it off.
  24. JamesS
    Nov 13, 2002
    10
    Without sacrificing her style, Tori Amos has evolved her music to one which allows for a wider listening audience. My parents even love it!
  25. CharlesV
    Nov 4, 2002
    10
    I find it refreshing to have an artist such as Tori willing to break new ground with every album. Now as others have said in the past LE had a profound impact on me, but looking beyond what affect that had on me brings me through the shear rainbow of variety that comes from this redheaded goddess. Each album Tori has produced brought new light and new discoveries into her very soul. I find it refreshing to have an artist such as Tori willing to break new ground with every album. Now as others have said in the past LE had a profound impact on me, but looking beyond what affect that had on me brings me through the shear rainbow of variety that comes from this redheaded goddess. Each album Tori has produced brought new light and new discoveries into her very soul. Scarlet's Walk is no different. Although fundamentally very different than all of her past albums it bodes well for the vast variety of talents within Tori's songwriting ability. She is not afraid to try something different and true listeners are well rewarded for her efforts. To often these days we end up with band after band rehashing the same beats and rhythms. So try the new Tori on for size. Maybe she's for you, but maybe she not... Expand
  26. Katie
    Dec 11, 2002
    10
    The more I listen to this CD, the more I love it! In Tori's new version of old music, she states her messages in ways normal, unplagued people can understand. Tori is so awesome!
  27. CarrieP
    Mar 14, 2003
    10
    I love this cd. Every time I listen to it I hear something new. Some critics said that it was too personal to Tori to be considered a 'concept album,' but it was intended to be an acount of her person interaction with this country and her relationships in it. I think it's important to point out that this album would have happened whether 9/11 had happened or not. Her road I love this cd. Every time I listen to it I hear something new. Some critics said that it was too personal to Tori to be considered a 'concept album,' but it was intended to be an acount of her person interaction with this country and her relationships in it. I think it's important to point out that this album would have happened whether 9/11 had happened or not. Her road trip was not because of 9/11. I lose patience with the argument that the album was too long; if you don't want to listen to the whole thing in one sitting, then don't! The number of songs she decided to put on this cd does not add to or take away from each individual song's merit. I'd also like to add that I think it's good and healthy for an artist to experiment, which is what Tori has done in the past and continues to do. I don't think I'll ever get enough of Scarlet's Walk. It's simply beautiful. I can't wait to hear what she comes out with next. Expand
  28. MarceloM
    Mar 27, 2003
    10
    This conceptual album, reminds me the goods of "Little Earthquakes" and "Boys for Pele" albums. This trilogy is maybe the best way to understand the art - ist. Of course, I can added the live cd of the double "To Venus and Back". One thing: Tori, please make better videos.
  29. NgSzeWoei
    Apr 28, 2003
    9
    Once you've heard it, the tunes just get stuck in your head. It's a great album! Just perfect.
  30. IrinaA.
    Jan 17, 2004
    10
    This was my first tori album and I just love it! I think it's so beautiful and freeing because, for me, the album is about the fact the journeys you take; the people you meet, the places you go to and the things you see, can be more important than where you came from, or where you're going to.
  31. Bratt
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    Contains some of her best material yet. The last track, "Gold Dust" is just that. Stunningly powerful. This album feels like a best friend. I don't feel her work has got the credit it deserves. There's so much here of value.
  32. RobbieC
    Nov 17, 2006
    9
    A near perfect album. Powerful, beautiful tale-telling. I would give it a 9.5 if I could, but it isn't quite a 10.
  33. MarkS
    Aug 12, 2006
    10
    Tori lost me for a while. After Boys for Pele, I sorta gave up and it was time to move on from my "high school favorites" on the Little Earthquakes and Under the Pink albums. Just stumbled upon Scarlett's Walk on iTunes and decided to give it a go. I haven't stopped listening for two weeks--at work, at home and in the car. This CD brings me back to the initial infatuation I had Tori lost me for a while. After Boys for Pele, I sorta gave up and it was time to move on from my "high school favorites" on the Little Earthquakes and Under the Pink albums. Just stumbled upon Scarlett's Walk on iTunes and decided to give it a go. I haven't stopped listening for two weeks--at work, at home and in the car. This CD brings me back to the initial infatuation I had with Tori's musical prowess that I discovered in High School. Many of the tracks are simply dramatic. LOVE "Gold Dust"--it's incredible. "Strange" brings me back to Little Earthquakes. Every song in between is equally amazing. Good good stuff. Expand
  34. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Not only is she pulling off a great album with no filler tracks, she's pulling of a great 19-SONG album with no filler tracks. The album unravels like some classic road movie, and it certainly doesn't feel one second too long. I firmly agree with the user review by Karen - one of the things that makes Tori Amos so special is that she is simply sharing her personal and private world withNot only is she pulling off a great album with no filler tracks, she's pulling of a great 19-SONG album with no filler tracks. The album unravels like some classic road movie, and it certainly doesn't feel one second too long. I firmly agree with the user review by Karen - one of the things that makes Tori Amos so special is that she is simply sharing her personal and private world with us, unedited. The lyrics are definitely not mumbo jumbo, I'd rather say they're like a stream of consciousness in a similar literary vein to James Joyce, but where with Joyce the reader has to rely on intellectual effort, with Tori Amos this kind of literal understanding is not necessary because the music and the voice give so many emotional and spiritual clues to what the meaning behind the words is. I disagree with JoeSixpack's view that this album is overcompressed, let alone the most overcompressed of our times. I wonder if JoeSixpack has heard any chart pop over the past 10 years. No, this is a beautifully engineered album, as well as produced, written and performed. Expand
  35. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    There are songs that fail to attract my attention, such as "Do not make me come to Vegas" or "Sweet Sangria". The truth is that I care much about the rhythm of the tracks (even more so than the lyrics itself). From the time you hear "Taxi ride" or "Virginia" I consider them as treasures of the master tori-pieces.
  36. Apr 14, 2013
    8
    Beautiful voice, lyrics and arrangements. Other than being a piece of art, it is also a great road trip album! Personal favourites: A Sorta Fairytale, Mrs Jesus, Taxi Ride, I Can't See New York
  37. Jun 22, 2016
    7
    Tori Amos's tribute to America is probably the last great album that she put out for the better part of a decade. Very strong and beautiful lyrics, influenced by Native American, Gay and Southern cultures. Download: A Sorta Fairytale, Gold Dust, Taxi Ride
  38. Apr 21, 2016
    10
    I truly have no words, this album is a truly masterpiece, I Don't what words -more than beautiful- use to describe it. Probably the best by Tori, along with 'Boys For Pele' and 'From The Choirgirl Hotel'
  39. Mar 15, 2016
    10
    Road trip with Tori! Her best album before or since 2016! Dig it! New to her sound and frankly a devotee now. Seductive and relaxing.....really a relief from singers like Selena Gomez!
  40. Sep 19, 2017
    10
    "Scarlet's Walk" is a milestone in Tori Amos's career. After a first decade of music marked by alternative rock and electronica (1992-2002), the American artist stepped into the realms of AOR and folk to deliver an album that works as a "sonic novel", telling the story of Scarlet, an archetypal female character that travels through the United States in search of her own identity: during"Scarlet's Walk" is a milestone in Tori Amos's career. After a first decade of music marked by alternative rock and electronica (1992-2002), the American artist stepped into the realms of AOR and folk to deliver an album that works as a "sonic novel", telling the story of Scarlet, an archetypal female character that travels through the United States in search of her own identity: during her trip, Scarlet meets people in very different circumstances, from pornstars to cowboys, and delves into the history of the Native Americans, also dealing with topics such as politics, mental illness, homophobia and death. The music is lush and sensual, but never feels overproduced or baroque; on the contrary, the songs benefit from a quite sparse production based on piano/keyboard, acoustic guitars and organic percussion, with the occasional accompaniment of strings ("Strange", "Mrs. Jesus", "Gold Dust"). The songs in "Scarlet's Walk" can be counted among Amos's best vocal performances ever. The single "A Sorta Fairytale" is a perfect example of the album's relaxed spirit, with most of the tracks being slow or midtempo numbers. Best songs: "A Sorta Fairytale", "Strange", "Carbon", "I Can't See New York", "Virginia", "Gold Dust". Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Walk isn't groundbreaking as much as typical Tori Amos--a dramatic menagerie of atmospheric tracks filled with manic piano, morose characters and so many literary allusions you'll need CliffsNotes to figure 'em out.
  2. 60
    Her message, so powerful when unadorned, tends to get diluted by the awkward arrangements that accompany it.
  3. Alternative Press
    80
    The new album's themes show that Amos is energized with stories to tell once again - making Scarlet's Walk at once ambitious and also one of her most moving collections yet. [Nov 2002]