• Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: Oct 29, 2002
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 105

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TanyaR
    Jan 10, 2003
    10
    I think this is Tori's most prolific album yet. She certainly knows how to say all the things so many of us are thinking and feeling but unable to utter. I have given this CD to all the women I know. IT IS JUST FANTASTIC
  2. SteveF
    Nov 2, 2002
    9
    While not as angry or feisty as previous albums, which earned her a lot of fans, this is still an intelligent and thought provoking piece. It is calm and placid in many places , but not so much that it becomes boring. While some songs tend to blend together, notably Strange, Carbon and Crazy, they still stand on their own merit, and this blend is a positive thing, as it makes the disc While not as angry or feisty as previous albums, which earned her a lot of fans, this is still an intelligent and thought provoking piece. It is calm and placid in many places , but not so much that it becomes boring. While some songs tend to blend together, notably Strange, Carbon and Crazy, they still stand on their own merit, and this blend is a positive thing, as it makes the disc feel like one story, which was exactly what Tori was trying to acheive. Other songs have greater diversity such as the more upbeat Pancake, and I Cant See New York. The latter could have ended up cheesy and annoying as many topical news songs do, but it is pulled off with heart wrenching intensity and amazing lyrics. The lyrics and range are still way above the new clan of singer songwriters who have emerged this year, Tori has most certainly not lost her place in the heart of the majority of her fans. While many reviewers are negative about this album, it is often because they have always expected Tori to produce another Little Earthquakes. But if she did that then others would criticise her for being repetitive. Each album has something different to offer and this is why Tori has lasted so long in her field. Had she produced identical style albums, like many artists do, she would have declined into complete banalness. and treaded water. Instead I eagerly look forward to hearing each new effort from Tori. Expand
  3. Dave
    Nov 2, 2002
    10
    Eeesh. This album is fricking amazing, certainly a hell of alot better than LE, which is probably her most mediocre, self indulgent album, thank you very much. ;)
  4. Karen
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    I have read in several arenas the question regarding Tori's lyrics making sense. I have also seen them labeled as ramblings or another genius offering that she is simply trying to to keep the melody of the song in tact. I could not disagree more. What no one seems to offer is this; Tori is a person, a living human being with stories of her own. Do you NEED to know what Dahli was I have read in several arenas the question regarding Tori's lyrics making sense. I have also seen them labeled as ramblings or another genius offering that she is simply trying to to keep the melody of the song in tact. I could not disagree more. What no one seems to offer is this; Tori is a person, a living human being with stories of her own. Do you NEED to know what Dahli was thinking when he painted? Or can you just appreciate it for what it is - Art and nothing more. Beautiful, moving and powerful. I am inclined to believe these songs would make perfect sense to all if we were part of her everyday life. Consider this, if I were to tell you a short story relating to a relationship in my life using catch phases, cute names or local street talk would you know what I am talking about? Exactly! So why do you expect a few paragraphs offered in 10-12 songs every one or two years to be wrapped up in a pretty ribbon and laid at your feet in clear and concise terms? The underlying theme to all of her music is the passion behind it - you KNOW what she is trying to say or relate to us. Sorrow, happiness, silliness all easily read through in her lyrics. Even if I don't know who "Crazy" is, I understand completely. Catch the gist, the theme the message and forget everything else. I don't NEED to know why she was scared by paper tigers to understand what this song is about because I get it! Point taken. I relate. Perhaps she is writing for herself and is kind enough to share it with us. Has anyone consider this? She is first and foremost a human being the Star part came later. Expand
  5. AdriJ
    Jul 26, 2006
    10
    Despite not being a Tori fan prior to this album, and discovering it a whole 4 years after its release, I have heard no other album so completely enchanting and captivating as Scarlet's Walk. The wistfulness of "A Sorta Fairytale", the addictive sound of "Taxi Ride", the beauty of "Your Cloud" and the musical masterpiece "Gold Dust" would all move a heart of stone....
  6. Mark
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    Several years after it's release I keep returning to this album. For those of you out there listening only to MP3's, do yourself a favor and get the CD and a good stereo. You'll be amazed at what you've been missing and how good the production is. On "I Can't See New York," the first crash of the piano after "Is there a signal there" lyric will take your breath Several years after it's release I keep returning to this album. For those of you out there listening only to MP3's, do yourself a favor and get the CD and a good stereo. You'll be amazed at what you've been missing and how good the production is. On "I Can't See New York," the first crash of the piano after "Is there a signal there" lyric will take your breath away. I rate this album as tied with Little Earthquakes as my favorite Tori album, but having a slight edge due to the quality of the sound engineering. Expand
  7. Bratt
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    Contains some of her best material yet. The last track, "Gold Dust" is just that. Stunningly powerful. This album feels like a best friend. I don't feel her work has got the credit it deserves. There's so much here of value.
  8. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Not only is she pulling off a great album with no filler tracks, she's pulling of a great 19-SONG album with no filler tracks. The album unravels like some classic road movie, and it certainly doesn't feel one second too long. I firmly agree with the user review by Karen - one of the things that makes Tori Amos so special is that she is simply sharing her personal and private world withNot only is she pulling off a great album with no filler tracks, she's pulling of a great 19-SONG album with no filler tracks. The album unravels like some classic road movie, and it certainly doesn't feel one second too long. I firmly agree with the user review by Karen - one of the things that makes Tori Amos so special is that she is simply sharing her personal and private world with us, unedited. The lyrics are definitely not mumbo jumbo, I'd rather say they're like a stream of consciousness in a similar literary vein to James Joyce, but where with Joyce the reader has to rely on intellectual effort, with Tori Amos this kind of literal understanding is not necessary because the music and the voice give so many emotional and spiritual clues to what the meaning behind the words is. I disagree with JoeSixpack's view that this album is overcompressed, let alone the most overcompressed of our times. I wonder if JoeSixpack has heard any chart pop over the past 10 years. No, this is a beautifully engineered album, as well as produced, written and performed. Expand
  9. Apr 14, 2013
    8
    Beautiful voice, lyrics and arrangements. Other than being a piece of art, it is also a great road trip album! Personal favourites: A Sorta Fairytale, Mrs Jesus, Taxi Ride, I Can't See New York
  10. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    There are songs that fail to attract my attention, such as "Do not make me come to Vegas" or "Sweet Sangria". The truth is that I care much about the rhythm of the tracks (even more so than the lyrics itself). From the time you hear "Taxi ride" or "Virginia" I consider them as treasures of the master tori-pieces.
  11. [Anonymous]
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    Her best since Under the Pink
  12. annan
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    An amazing album and the best one shes done.
  13. AMiller
    Nov 1, 2002
    9
    It's a brilliant album. Tori did it again. =)
  14. TimS
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    This is maybe the greatest, most original work Tori has produced since Boys For Pele. Every song leaves an impression as the journey across America progresses. Its a complete album, and a complete story. Tori's originality and varied sounds and styles only make her more exceptional, who would like her if after 10 years, she was still churning out Little Earthquakes? If after a decade This is maybe the greatest, most original work Tori has produced since Boys For Pele. Every song leaves an impression as the journey across America progresses. Its a complete album, and a complete story. Tori's originality and varied sounds and styles only make her more exceptional, who would like her if after 10 years, she was still churning out Little Earthquakes? If after a decade she sounded the same, she would not have the strong fanbase that she does. The day that Tori sounds like her previous album, I will stop listening. Expand
  15. ArtW
    Jan 13, 2003
    10
    I never thought anything would top Boys for Pele but she's done it. Amazing album. With the loads of crap coming out these days, I thank you Tori.
  16. DanTeaParty
    Jan 17, 2003
    7
    While a pleasant enough effort on Amos' part, the overall effect is bland rather than experimental. Fans of Amos' earliest work may see this album as a return to form, however, Scarlet's Walk lacks the delightful eccentricity of such previous releases as 1996's Boys For Pele. For those who prefer Amos at her more gentle, however, this is the ideal album. Overall a While a pleasant enough effort on Amos' part, the overall effect is bland rather than experimental. Fans of Amos' earliest work may see this album as a return to form, however, Scarlet's Walk lacks the delightful eccentricity of such previous releases as 1996's Boys For Pele. For those who prefer Amos at her more gentle, however, this is the ideal album. Overall a easily listenable but hardly exciting album. Expand
  17. AddieW
    Jan 2, 2004
    9
    Some of her better work since Under the Pink... it's nice to see her get back to the roots that I fell in love listening to (wasn't a big fan of Strange Little Girls). It's just nice to find an artist who does her own thing and has a fan base who deeply understands her. I've been a fan forever and will listen to her no matter what... but this able was a refreshing step Some of her better work since Under the Pink... it's nice to see her get back to the roots that I fell in love listening to (wasn't a big fan of Strange Little Girls). It's just nice to find an artist who does her own thing and has a fan base who deeply understands her. I've been a fan forever and will listen to her no matter what... but this able was a refreshing step back to all that is Tori Amos Collapse
  18. RandyB
    Jun 20, 2005
    9
    This concept album about a girl named Scarlet (an alter ego for Tori I suspect) going on a cross-country road-trip is in so many ways pretty. Sometimes it
  19. TrixieL
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    I love this album, nuff said
  20. DamienB
    May 20, 2006
    10
    an amazing album and is deff. one of my fav. tori albums expecially virginia and gold dust!!!! if i may say A may zing@!!
  21. amberwaves
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    best tori album since choirgirl. i can't see new york is one of the best songs she's ever written. not to miss.
  22. N.Scully
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    Tori Amos is one "Strange Little Girl". You either love her to death or hate her with a passion. I love this album, and I like the fact that she isn't what you call main stream. She's an undiscovered discovery her fans have been aquainted with for years. I'm thankful for her music and her frankness albiet metaphoric in nature. Scarlet's Walk, as indulgent as it is, is Tori Amos is one "Strange Little Girl". You either love her to death or hate her with a passion. I love this album, and I like the fact that she isn't what you call main stream. She's an undiscovered discovery her fans have been aquainted with for years. I'm thankful for her music and her frankness albiet metaphoric in nature. Scarlet's Walk, as indulgent as it is, is brilliant. Expand
  23. Natasha
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    Phenomenal! There isn't a bad track on this album! If you want a musician whose albums are all DIFFERENT from each other AND GOOD--here's your artist! If she had repeated what she did on Little Earthquakes--an album that is well over ten years old--over and over again--I'm pretty sure I would have lost interest in her. If you have been looking for Little Earthquakes Part Phenomenal! There isn't a bad track on this album! If you want a musician whose albums are all DIFFERENT from each other AND GOOD--here's your artist! If she had repeated what she did on Little Earthquakes--an album that is well over ten years old--over and over again--I'm pretty sure I would have lost interest in her. If you have been looking for Little Earthquakes Part II...or Part II of just about any album she's made--don't hold it against Scarlet--and don't hold it against Tori--you should have stopped purchasing her albums at some point in 1998 for your own good! Expand
  24. MrZebra
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    Amazing. Solid production,vocals, and songwriting throughout.
  25. MissyK
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    an absolutely and utterly stunning album
  26. Amy
    Nov 1, 2002
    8
    Great!! Very polished and relaxed sound. Virginia, Wednesday and Carbon are my top 3.
  27. Jonas
    Nov 23, 2002
    10
    I agree with the reviewer below: this is her best work since Under the Pink, her best album to date. It's too bad SW has a disappointing metascore, but I remember reading a Spin review that gave it a 9. Why isn't it on here?
  28. DanielG
    Nov 4, 2002
    8
    An excellent album. I didn't know what to expect from this CD. I thoroughly enjoyed the first single, "A Sorta Fairytale", but had mixed feelings about the other tunes released with the sampler. When I got home and put the release version of the album into my CD player, I was pleasantly surprised to find myself still sitting listening to the album one full hour later. The last An excellent album. I didn't know what to expect from this CD. I thoroughly enjoyed the first single, "A Sorta Fairytale", but had mixed feelings about the other tunes released with the sampler. When I got home and put the release version of the album into my CD player, I was pleasantly surprised to find myself still sitting listening to the album one full hour later. The last quarter of the CD (there are 18 songs) does tend to drag a bit, but each song deserves its place on the track listing. The Scarlet's Web feature is a great idea, but ends up feeling more like a gimmick rather than an enhancement to an already great piece of artistic work. (This might change once Tori's tour kicks into high gear later this month) Do yourself a favor and check out this album for yourself. Ignore the absurdly low rating giving to the album by Eweekly. Tori continues to grow as an artist, and it's great to be able to witness that growth. Expand
  29. Coconut
    Nov 6, 2002
    9
    It's a great album from start to finish... but, uhm, Metacritic, you're forgetting a couple reviews here that might bring up the metascore (Alt Press, Spin, etc.)
  30. Eleanor
    Oct 29, 2002
    9
    Exceptional and riveting.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Walk isn't groundbreaking as much as typical Tori Amos--a dramatic menagerie of atmospheric tracks filled with manic piano, morose characters and so many literary allusions you'll need CliffsNotes to figure 'em out.
  2. 60
    Her message, so powerful when unadorned, tends to get diluted by the awkward arrangements that accompany it.
  3. The new album's themes show that Amos is energized with stories to tell once again - making Scarlet's Walk at once ambitious and also one of her most moving collections yet. [Nov 2002]